Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What You See Is What You Got
Okay - so this DVD package is basically what it says. 6 discs including all six series of French Saunders. No special features except subititles.
But some of this stuff is quite rare and never before released. And it is nice to have it as a complete set and not a compliation
So here is a quick over look of the quality of each series:
Series 1
The...
Published on 9 April 2008 by Mr. D. J. O'brien

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars But loved the sketches where they remade certain movies
Very hit and miss. Comedy is a little dated now. But loved the sketches where they remade certain movies, like Misery, Whatever happened to baby Jane.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What You See Is What You Got, 9 April 2008
By 
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
Okay - so this DVD package is basically what it says. 6 discs including all six series of French Saunders. No special features except subititles.
But some of this stuff is quite rare and never before released. And it is nice to have it as a complete set and not a compliation
So here is a quick over look of the quality of each series:
Series 1
The concept was that that girls performed in a studio with a dance troupe and Raw Sex. You also see backstage goings ons - including make up artists and costume designers. It's still a fresh looking series and it has never been released before - so it is well worth having a look at it. I think it's one of their best.

Series 2
A completely different concept. The characters in the living room first appear - and the funny dance routines. Each episode has a similar intro and theres loads of sketches in it. I think this is series is more family entertainment then the last - and this is where they started to get their wider appeal. All good stuff though.

Series 3
This is the benchmark series really. They started doing film parodies - and yes it has got The Sound Of Music completely! This series also had 7 episodes (and not the usual 6). It also has them taking the mick out of TV stars - they continue ideas from the last series, introduce new characters and it has Star Test in it. It is just a brilliant series and is the one that really made them popular. Also features the wonderful Kirsty MacColl in all the episodes.

Series 4
You can't stop them now. It's a step up from the last series - with more film parodies but they got bigger budgets. The classic Silence Of The Lambs and Misery are here. And their version of The Seventh Seal and Whatever Happened To Baby Jane? is just brilliant. As strong as Series 3.

Series 5
There was abit of a gap between this one and the last one. This also has 7 episodes in it and there loads of celebrities including Dusty SPringfield. By now Raw Sex have left the girls and they try out new ideas. It is a bit hit and miss but when it does hit - it is brilliant - Baywatch in particular.

Series 6
This series happened much later and actually purposely breaks away from the previous ones. There's still loads of sketches in it and reaccurring characters - but the girls really play on being a paraody of themselves as the whole thing is set in an office type environment at the BBC and is about the girls trying to write the sixth series. I think this is more of aquired taste and it makes more sense seeing all the episodes together more then passive watching. Still - it was a brave move and also very original.

And that's it. It is worth getting - and the great thing about them is you can dip back in and watch them again. They really do make me laugh and brighten my day. Lets hope a box set of the TV specials lands with us soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true fans must have!, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Honey Twam Ham (Neath, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant brilliant boxset showing exactly what the clever ladies can do and true proof of how they've managed to achieve both comedy goddess and national treasure status. The only downside to this boxset is that there is a distinct lack of Christmas, Easter and Comic Relief specials and extras or out takes. I myself having gone to a fair few of their recordings know only too well that things go wrong or Jennifer (mainly!) forgets her lines or gets distracted by the audience because we've made her laugh! As well as this there are sketches that are still extremely funny that never make the final edit, surely a few deleted sketches wouldn't hurt?

Still a very well used and very much treasured boxset in our house, it's such a shame that the ladies are putting down their sketch writing stationary forevermore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not quite complete, but i still love this, 7 April 2011
By 
creamyPB (bangor, me USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
here in the united states we have only gotten to have compilations of the french and saunders shows. so i am thrilled to be able to watch all of them in their entirety. you should note that this is the complete SERIES. the specials are not included. i have most of the specials already so it's not as if i'm missing anything, but i'm baffled that they wouldn't just do an 'everything' box set of F&S. also take into account that on the back of the box in tiny little letters it says - due to contratual reasons certain edits have been made. (yes i know i mispelled contractual - that's how it is on the box!)

so this is not a 'complete' collection of F&S because:
1. some of it is edited
2. there are none of the specials (titanic, lotr, phantom millenium)

i'm still happy to have this and there are 19.5 hours to watch! i will OD on jen and dawn with that much to see.
just be aware of the things missing from a 'complete' box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, laugh out loud stuff, 24 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this box set from start to finish! I'd never seen the first series which is hilarious, quite slapstick and quite different to the rest of the series! They are masters of film parody, of course, but also the white room sketches and impressions are brilliant too. There are loads of famous guest stars throughout. I really liked the last series because it's very different in style to the rest but works! As if F&S would have to beg for air-time on BBC! Ha ha! I don't think these two can help but be funny. I will treasure this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Laughs! (Almost everything you' d like to have from F & S)., 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Collection of almost everything French and Saunders have done on their show for BBC. "Almost" cause some of the material you'd hope to find is not there: mainly the sketches from their Christmas Specials and film spoofs like The Piano, Harry Potter, Titanic etc. Nevertheless, if you are a fan of F & S humor this is a great collection to own - especially if you want to have an almost (here it is again) complete idea of what the Golden Ladies of British Comedy are up to all those years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love French & Saunders, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
These two comedy legends are so hilarious together. This set was a great price and you get all the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Specials!!, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
Please be aware that this is not the COMPLETE series as it lacks all the specials that were made. This series has given me so much pleasure over the years, I almost laughed myself to death. A superb DVD collection and featuring the fabulous 'Em and Jean' from series one - only proper F&S fans will know who I am talking about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars But loved the sketches where they remade certain movies, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
Very hit and miss. Comedy is a little dated now. But loved the sketches where they remade certain movies, like Misery, Whatever happened to baby Jane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Comedy Duo, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this again, just as funny and it brought back many happy memories. Definitely one for the 40+ who may have seen it first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Pair!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD] (DVD)
French and Saunders - bup a doowee doo! How daft are these two when they get together? Not only do these DVDs bring back terrific memories of being in my twenties, they remind me how Jennifer and Dawn made it possible for so called 'adults' to be just that little bit childish and showed us all how to have a good laugh at ourselves and enjoy life. They do, of course, still have that sense of childish humour today - and thank goodness for that!

The first DVD starts out slowly but with the assistance of the brilliant Raw Sex, Betty Marsden and various special guests - "Mrs. Moyet" is hilarious! - soon picks up speed and reaches a level of constant humour and silliness. I challenge anybody who saw these original programmes to watch 'Whatever Happened to Baby Jane' or 'Silence of the Lambs' without laughing out loud to the memory of French and Saunders' depictions. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French & Saunders Series 1-6 Box Set (6 discs) [DVD]
£15.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews