Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye To All That
It's not an easy (or for that matter profitable)practice to release an album firstly after 25 years and secondly with no tour or related promotion.And to complicate matters further they've nailed the lid down for good this time!!
For me "Go Away White" seems like a distant cousin to "Burning From The Inside". As one earlier reviewer pointed out there is a slightly...
Published on 18 Mar 2008 by N. Taylor-Barbieri

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good sound
Delivers pretty much what you want from a Bauhaus album, but barely a handful of songs really make the grade.
Published on 24 Dec 2008 by Christopher Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Away White, Come back Bauhaus, 7 Mar 2008
By 
M. Bhangal "S" (Somewhere in Northern England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You know how it is.

A band that you loved years ago reforms and creates an album of technically brilliant music, but music that kinda misses the whole point of why you loved them all those years ago. There's no passion to their music anymore; the three chord boys of yesterday with fire in their souls have become soulless but brilliant adult-rock musicians.

It's for this reason I don't listen to anything by Sting, and it's the same reason I was a bit apprehensive about listening to the new album by Bauhaus.

I needn't have worried. This album is full of the old magic.
Maybe it's because the album was created very quickly (in less than 20 days), or maybe it's because of the tensions caused by the reunion (the band split up soon after recording Go away white because of some incident that nobody in the band is prepared to discuss - but it was probably a great big argument). Either way, we get an album full of the original, Bauhaus, and with no `we're old blokes now' introspection, and no `we did this so the reunion tour would make us rich' sellout.

The only issue is that the hardcore goths won't like Go away white - theres none of the 80's style Bela Lugosi dirges. Sure, some people paint this as the afore-mentioned sellout, but c'mon people, times have changed!

Recommended for the fans, Bowie lovers, and new kids who want some old school cool. Oh, and also for anyone who loved the Maxell cassette advert (youtube is your friend).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIP once more, 20 Mar 2008
By 
S. S. Hayre "sanj" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
They reformed, toured, promised a new cd, delivered & split up again. We may never get the chance to hear these songs live & it is a shame because this swansong may just be one of their finest albums to date. There is not a single bad track & standout track the nostalgic "Endless summer of the damned" shows they were recording mindful of the infuences that put them together in the first place. Peter Murphys vocals are as powerful as ever, Daniel Ash is as driving with his Wah Wah guitar. Their is genuine humour in some tracks "Mirror Remains" & sorrowful deliverance in others "Saved". No horror, this isnt "mask" or "in the flat fields" this is a goodbye, but with a tear in the eye. Excellent & we miss you again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bauhaus return with a good album., 24 Feb 2008
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Bauhaus return to the music scene with "Go Away White", their first album for nearly 25 years. Credited with the invention of goth rock during their first incarnation, the band return in similar style. The trademark sound is still there - jagged guitar riffing, wailing lead guitar, thumping bass and spooky synth - although to these ears the tempo of the music has dropped slightly.

The slow tempo works best on the atmospheric, almost spooky, synthesiser driven songs such as "The Dog's A Vapour", one of the album's highlights, but for me there is a loss of energy, and effectiveness, when it applies to the guitar driven songs. So, I find the opener "Too Much 21st Century" to be less appealing than the song that follows, "Adrenalin" which, with its faster tempo and infectious mantric riffing, is another highlight on the album. Another favourite of mine is another guitar driven, energetic song, "Black Stone Heart".

It's a weak criticism only, the mix of the styles works well and it's a good return album - and I suspect the new songs will work well live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last album, but true to the first, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Shade (Bedfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Melancholic, haunting, resonant emptiness and true to the majestic legacy of one of the greatest bands of the alternative scene. I am glad that the band were able to stay so close to their unique sound and lyrical attitude. My only regret is that this is the last...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Cover......not white, but black!, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
It's a dark,gothic of a album. Bauhaus manage to write a good album especially since their hitting theire 50s. A young album for a legendary old punk band. Gave it 4 stars probably only derserves 3, but gave it the benefit of the doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bauhaus are back?, 29 Aug 2009
By 
Man in uniform - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ok, so this is not vintage Bauhaus. But would you want them to sound exactly the same - or worse, attempt to sound exactly the same? There are trademark Bauhaus moments that totally do it for the enthusiast in me, and then there are less-expected moments of equal merit. Perhaps lesser merit. I enjoyed this album, but I find myself continuing to listen to the original Bauhaus material rather than this, its successor. An effort of some merit, though not sufficient to displace the original in my affections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back darkness, 20 Mar 2008
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Way back when "Goth" described a distinct subculture and a musical genre - rather than just anyone who likes metal bands and carries a skateboard - this band epitomised the genre more than any other; indeed it could be argued that Bauhaus invented the genre. Pete Murphy's deep, dark vocals and that trademark scratchy guitar sound are still very reminiscent of their early stuff, as is the homage to Bowie in the likes of "Too Much 21st Century". Judging by the standard of the plethora 80s reunions recently I wasn't expecting too much, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The stand-out tracks for me are: "Too much 21st century", "The dog's a vapour", "Adrenalin", "Black stone heart", "Mirror remains" and "Undone"; now that's not bad for a ten track album, but the remaining tracks are nearly as good - with the possible exception of "Saved" and "Zikir". Plenty for aged ex-goths like me to enjoy; not sure what the sk8r dudes will make of it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Go Away Bauhaus, 13 Mar 2008
By 
D. Wilkinson (Mexborough, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Many 80s and 90s bands reformed in the Noughties, with widely varied outcomes. After a quarter of a century, what would Bauhaus do as they joined in?

"Go Away White" opens with "Too Much 21st Century", something of a nod to their 70s Bowie/Eno influences, before settling into a set of intriguing performances that are at once new and yet somehow familiar. The band's musical ideas have evolved but not completely changed. The sense of brooding theatre and unsettling drama remains strong and the old fans will feel at home with the new songs. The band's humour even extends to having the sleeve notes in white on a white background! (It does work...)

The standout track for this listener is "Saved" - an atmospheric, haunting piece coming from the headspace that created "Bela Lugosi's Dead".

After 25 years, this is an album to savour, particularly as we may not see any more. It was worth the wait and if Bauhaus are permanently "going away", this is a fine souvenir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow,this is fantastic., 11 Mar 2008
By 
Philip Huddleston (manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
I first saw Bauhaus with The Birthday Party supporting Magazine way back in the stone age. Released on the same day as Dig Lazarus Dig this has recieved very little attention.Anyway it is fantastic.I must admit I bought it out of loyalty after seeing them twice a couple of years ago and remembering the impact they had on me then. Adrenalin has been played very often and very loudly.The reviewer who compared the slower tracks to Scott Walker was right but at least they don't sound like Bowie any more.
Bauhaus always seemed to be sneered at by the press(along with the wonderful Alien Sex Fiend) whilst Nick Cave was lauded.Having bought both albums,although the Nick Cave one is very good,I would rate this one higher.I didn't see Bauhaus doing double page interviews in The Sun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More 'Mask' than 'Burning...', 9 Mar 2008
This review is from: Go Away White (Audio CD)
Many years have passed since their 'demise' but for an old (as in from first release 'Bela...') fan like me this is a great return to form. More 'In The Flat Field'/'Mask' than 'Burning From The Inside'. Times and production methods may have changed but I cannot see how another review could say this was too "metal"; ok in places there is a little resemblance to the shift in sound the 'Sisters of Mercy' took for the 'Vision Thing' era but this makes a great modern album, from a greatly missed band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go Away White
Go Away White by Bauhaus (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews