Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars52
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 December 2007
When you are shrouded in as much publicity as Amy Winehouse is, you, the consumer, tend to think one of two things. 1) That how she's portrayed by the media is really what the artist is like and 2) that your opinion will never change of the artist thus. Well, that will be the case until you buy this DVD.

Recorded at Shepherd's Bush Empire in London earlier this year, "I Told You I Was Trouble" is living proof, if any was ever needed, why Winehouse's stellar second album "Back To Black" has been one of the biggest selling albums of the last 12 months.

Through all the haze of redtop press puppetery and constant references to how she may "have a problem" with alcohol and drugs, people fail to remember what it is that makes Amy so unique and so different - because the truth is, she can belt out a decent pop song or two.

It's evident on the stellar performances given of her Mark Ronson produced 60's girl pop stompers like Rehab, Love Is A Losing Game and classics from her 2004 debut Frank like Stronger Than Me and In My Bed. Forget the caterwauling of Leona Lewis and the like, this is where pure, raw British talent ultimately lies.

Also on this DVD is another case in point, should you need it, that Amy is at the top of her game. The fly on the wall documentary, compiled from TV footage, gig footage and personal interviews with Winehouse herself and the people around her strive to illustrate just how much of an effect she's had on us Brits as a whole since she broke onto the scene 5 years ago.

My advice to anyone still sitting on the fence about Amy would be to get this DVD, and watch with an open mind. You may just broaden your views of her that little bit more.
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
Amy hit the headlines in the media for her problems in her personal life, drugs, booze and the very public attention she got for her relationship with Blake.
OK so she was no angel, but she was a talented singer/songwriter, who had one hell of a voice!
This DVD captures her performance at the Shepherds Bush Empire and it includes a very good selection of her songs off both her albums, Rehab, Tears dry on their own, I told you I was trouble,Back to Black to name just a few.
The fly on the wall documentary that is also on the DVD is well worth viewing, it includes interviews with family, friends and fans as well as Amy herself.
She really took the US by storm when she went there to crack the US music scene, this is Amy before she hit the self destruct button and got into the downward spiral of drugs and booze.
A talent that will be sadly missed on the music scene.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
The problems in her life are evident in this performance. Amy Winehouse is an outstanding talent as can be witnessed in the documentary segment on the DVD. In the main concert she is either high or pi$$ed or both and although musically it is fine, she is clearly struggling with her voice and relating to the audience. The quality of the songs really carry the performance.
The person in the documentary is a different performer completely. That Any Winehouse is vibrant, energetic and in great voice. Sadly she appears to have since deteriorated more and unless she takes a different road is heading for tragedy.
33 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2007
Having watched the concert twice now I still cannot understand some of her mutterings between songs but who cares as it all adds to her character and in a funny sort of way her charm. But getting down to the main point the music and her performance,along with very energetic backing singers, make this one of the best concerts of a female artiste currently available on DVD.A must for all fans and even none fans if they are bold enough.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
I was a late hitcher on the Amy train, but Rehab caught me by the nuts in early 2007. Since then I've been following her, and fearing for her life. Being the victim of yet another cancelled show I'm more than thrilled to see her pulling it off at Shepherd's Bush, with her husband and family explicitly present. Awesome show by one of the best singers at the moment. This video captures it all. The drink, the casualness, the warmth. And, of course, all of the the songs. She might not be the best of role models but I'm getting this for my daughter for christmas. The voice - in the end - is everything.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
Being much older than Amy's usual fan base I was aware of her more by her outrageous behaviour rather than what she sang. However I viewed this dvd on tv and was captivated.
I decided to purchase the dvd and was not disappointed. I also own her two cds which are great but you can't improve on the live performance. Infectious and the dancers movements to her singing complement and are ideal.
Buy it and enjoy a rare artist. We can only hope that she rediscovers her talent and puts the drugs and drink issues behind her.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
This is the best live performance video that I've seen since the Tina Turner one from a small theatre with Robert Cray that I bought on VHS over 20 years ago. Although she looks like a "coyote" ( you know, you'd rather chew off your arm than waken her up), she does have a great bluesy, jazzy, soulful voice, and, if anything, an even better backing band, all of whom have been recorded to sound great and better than the records. I just hope that Amy survives to get even better.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 April 2013
I bought this DVD having bought Back to Black Delux edition CD and was disappointed with the poor mastering on that giving excessive levels and distortion (it appears some editions of the CD don't have that issue). I'm pleased to say there are no such issues on this DVD, sound quality and performance are excellent.

There are 2 versions of the DVD available, the original 2007 release and the currently cheaper 2011 re-release. As far as I can tell both are identical despite the erroneous reported running time (164 or 150 mins) which is actually 112 mins ignoring the option to play 3 tracks in black & white. There is also a Blu-Ray Version available containing a additional 15 track concert filmed in Porchester Hall, London.

If your puzzled by the black & white option given in the menu, if you enable that when you play tracks 6, 7/8 and 10 of the live concert you will briefly see a on-screen prompt to switch to the black & white version of the track, unfortunately some PC DVD players do not show the prompt making selection with them difficult.

A great alternative to the Back to Black CD, though missing a few tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
A nice uncut concert and excellent documentary of the best artist around right now, a must buy for anyone.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
i saw her on this tour in newcastle, didnt know what to expect given all the press at the time but was blown away by how good she was, the best voice ive ever heard live, great show and band! I remember she came on about half an hour late and appeared quite nervous, she looked like no one else, a true natural !!

her banter between songs is often mumbled and slurred but as soon as she starts singing she is more at ease, like a little girl lost, very unsure of herself and unaware of her own talent! she wonders off stage randomly, half introduces songs, all very unpredicable. In many ways it is her vulnerability that is so attractive and as soon as she starts singing this is all forgotten. quite unlike anyone else i have seen live
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£4.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)