Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 15 March 2008
I'd almost given up on Alex's work, but then almost out of the blue he's started working with Youth and Steve Hillage again, and the result is quite simply marvellous!
I wasn't sure about it at first, but The Dream has really, really grown on me (unlike the last 10+ years worth of material - OK, must admit that I'm more of 89-92 period Orb Fan). In fact I'm addicted, and I have no intention of quitting! The Dream is warm, groovy, wacky and mellow in all the right proportions. Encore!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2008
This is almost the antithesis of Okie Dokie, what was sparse minimal and ambient but an empty feel to the music is now a rich beautiful landscape of electronica, ambient, dub, raggae, world and ethnic influences sometimes all at once blended into a track - samples, guitar lines and vocals come in and out of view - one or two tracks are just jaw-dropping especially; The Dream, Codes, Katskills and Orbisonia. The track Vuja De is the closest thing they've done to a single since the days of Once More.

Yet again they've discovered a new area, a new sound - the closest I can approximate this album to in sound is parts of Bicycles and Tricycles but it feels more complete an ambition fulfilled. I have one or two gripes, on occassion the female 'soul' vocals seem out of place such as the track 'Mother Nature' and 'A Beautiful Day' and the raggae vocals get annoying sometimes. i like the cheesy pads on 'A Beautiful Day' very porn-film esque. I like the dripping textures. The beats are not dub but there is a feel of dub about some of the tracks. Codes reminded me of 'A mile long lump of lard' updated.

A magnificent effort Alex, you have veered away from The Orb's slightly dated past few works. This has brought everything up to date. I still feel they could have done with Thomas Fehlmann's efforts on co-production but I hope they keep this form up into the next album and use Thomas as well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2008
I have sort of lost touch with the Orb in recent years, having big a huge fan in my student days (required listening if you were a student in the early to mid 90's) and the last album I really liked and listened to repeatedly was Orblivion. I did buy Cydonia, Bicycles and Tricycles and the various compilations (, Auntie Aubrey's Excursions... 1 & 2), but barely listened to them and I haven't bothered with the last couple of albums, Okie Dokie and the Orbsessions CD's.
However, I downloaded this due to it's glowing reviews, loved what I heard and promptly went out and bought a copy. An interesting point for those who says downloading is evil - it was only through downloading this first that I bought it! Ironic?
Getting to the point, this is a remarkably consistent album, harking back to early-era Orb indeed, but with enough new stuff to be fresh. Eerie, quirky and well-used samples, gorgeous basslines and great vocals, there is a good balance between outright ambient and more upbeat, commercial-sounding songs, much more so than the last few albums, as mentioned above.
I can't believe no-one has mentioned the input of Tim Bran in the other reviews, there is 360 degrees-era Dreadzone all over this CD, from the dub basslines to the samples of film dialogue throughout. Before obtaining the CD itself and reading the credits, I was quite perturbed that Alex Patterson had so blatantly copied the style and feel of that awesome album on some of the tracks here! Then it all made sense... A great partnership, though knowing the Orb, the next album will be with some other, completely different collaborators.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 8 July 2008
I love this album and have been playing it to death. I usually re-burn my purchases to cut out the "filler tracks" but this album is all good. Start to finish. Everyone who comes to the house asks what's playing. This album has all that's good about ambient, dub with heavy reggae and world influences. This sounds more like Dreadzone re-mixed by The Orb than the more sci-fi style "Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld" and I assume that's why some people have marked it down as it may not have been what they expected.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2007
So, The Orb are back with their 8th album proper (not including the mass of remix, live, hits and mini-albums out there), and the Dream sees Dr LX and pals returning back to the samples and monster bass lines of yesteryear. The title track starts off with a snug slice of Frippish ambience which will have elderly Orbettes in raptures (a theme which is present throughout the album). My favoutite track is Katskills; a huge dub-animal which will take the roof off venues when played live, something that their more contemporary material has struggled to do. I suspect that The Orb will, if given the opportunity, be a huge success on the festival circuit in 2008, they can be awesome when showcasing the right material and I think a whole new generation might be about to discover that. Not necessarily a return to form then (the brilliant Okie Dokie album did that for me) but certainly a return to the scene of one of their biggest victories; UFORB.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2012
Having decided to re-visit a few of the Orb's "middle" albums (i.e. after Orblivion and before Baghdad Batteries), I am suddenly reminded why this particular offering was returned henceforth at the time of purchase.

This really is poor. More vocal tracks than Cydonia, though seemingly worse this time around - Beautiful Day is tolerable, but Vuja De really is not. There is reggae, dub ambient and a fair smattering of Eastern influence, but few of the tracks on here have any real substance. Cheesy at times. Housey at others - could this be the Orb's most commercial album?

Sorry fellow Orb fans - there are just too few decent tracks on here to recommend this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 August 2008
Having listened to Adventures beyond the Ultraworld until I knew every note - I wondered if any future album would live up to this benchmark.
There have been some really memorable pieces of work since then which I won't repeat where others have. Until now.....
This album sums up how far The Orb have travelled and for me that is full circle. This album contains rich textures and a warm foot tapping feeling rather than being creative and isolated as with earlier albums. Plenty of rhythmic beats and bass.
Tracks such as High Noon, A beautiful day and The truth is are exceptional. Yes there are plenty of vocals which also work really well.
With the trademark 'less than 30 second' tracks thrown in as well these prepare you nicely for continuity. There are also some excellent samples particulary on The Truth is. Basically this is The Orb at the top of their tree and it don't get much better than this.
Dedicated Orb fans should love it - including those who have only dabbled in their music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2009
I bought this as a present for my son who is 'into' The Orb but I play it all the time. Perhaps a slight change of genre on The Dream but some great tracks, particularly tracks 4 and 9. I guess I would recommend this to anyone who appreciates The Orb, should be part of their collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2008
What can i say about this album, it easily the best album since UFORB. The Orb are a cool band once more. This is why i originally liked them in the first place.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
Quite simply, this is The Orb's best album for many years and a stunning return to form...

More sober, beats inspired and infectious than AP's music has been over the last few albums and I absolutely love it. Essential.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Okie Dokie
Okie Dokie by The Orb (Audio CD - 2008)

Moonbuilding 2703 AD
Moonbuilding 2703 AD by The Orb (Audio CD - 2015)

Cydonia by The Orb (Audio CD - 2001)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.