Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Gold
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars35
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 March 2008
This is a bit of a cheat because of course I don't have this collection. But I have all the tracks and more. This is an excellent compilation. One of the best I would say. Dusty's catalogue is excellent and so there will always be gaps even on a 2 cd set like this (and because tracks are spread across different record labels) but the compilers have done a good job here. Every compilation should include Carole King's and Gerry Goffin's 'Some of your Lovin' and 'Going Back'; they are included here.

The inclusion of `Live it Up' is inspired ( I would say this - just after she passed away, this is the track that made me say `Wow, she's got it' and go on to buy all her albums). You have here Dusty's greatest chart hits and a smaller selection of her great album tracks. You don't have a decent collection of her post Memphis USA tracks and pre-Pet Shop Boys `come back' albums - these are available on high price deleted CDs.

This collection is a great place to hear Dusty's different voices and the high quality of her productions (some done by herself). If you're really interested buy yourself 'Ev'rything's Coming Up Dusty' and 'Dusty in Memphis' both available here at bargain prices. Dusty really is the best singer artist this country has ever produced. She's a soul singer through and through - soul meaning emotional soul to soul contact. She can break your heart and then make you dance and then even make you love folk music. As Aretha Franklin once said to this Irish girl from Kentish Town... 'Go Girl!'
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
Many of us have too many 'best of' albums of cherished artists, bought over time to catch the odd elusive track or to upgrade to yet another remastered version. This particular compilation really is the only one you need For Dusty. Full spread of career output properly remastered with informative booklet - and all at mid price! A gem.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2008
In my opinion this is the first time a collection has been released on Dusty that truly covers her career properly. I may be biased! All of the US and UK hits from the sixties in their original Mono mixes as well as a healthy dose of her Atlantic soul period with all the comeback hits at the end. This is the one to get whether your new to Dusty or even if you think you have everything. No fan should be without this one.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2008
The Gold series is generally very good value, usually compiling an artist's singles, best album tracks and b-sides in excellent remastered sound quality, and with complete production details. Although I haven't yet heard this compilation, the selection of tracks is very good and includes more than half of Dusty's most-acclaimed album, Dusty in Memphis. Dusty Gold is the perfect primer for the casual fan, but if you want more I suggest The Complete A's & B's (every single A and B-side 1963-70), Dusty in Memphis (her immortal album), and maybe even Reputation (her late 80s comeback album). Much of Dusty's material - particularly her late career - was not the finest, but she made just about everything listenable.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
This cd is well titled. It is pure Gold! Also great value. It contains all her great hits plus more. She is a great loss to music.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Complete collection of Dusty.

Makes you realise how many great songs she sang and the voice as always is fabulous.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Good value for money with lots of her well known songs. Brought back a lot of memories for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
My Dad is well happy to have his old fav's music again, good delivery time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Perfect as described.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
This arrived promptly, was well packed and is a brilliant and comprehensive selection of Dusty Springfield recordings for a great price. Buy this rather than any other Dusty collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.97

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)