Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic of British Gay cinema
It was made twenty years ago and a lot has changed but it tackles issues that really are still around - racism and homophobia and sexism. In fact I can't believe it was 20 years ago this was made - it really was groundbreaking - portraying positively a deep gay relationship at a time in the UK which was generally very homophobic in nearly all spheres - even the theatre...
Published on 30 Jun. 2008 by Andrew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Give it a miss
Saw this film when it first came out and really enjoyed it. However on viewing it today, I realise it is very dated with poor acting from the main character.
Published on 20 Mar. 2013 by Heather, Scotland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories., 11 Jan. 2011
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film. It reminded me of the eighties and air of innocence and cheeky charm. I feel if this were to be made as a film for 2011 it would be much darker. Slightly unrealistic with some dubious acting, at one stage I thought it was going to turn into a musical.
For all that I would describe this as a dated but charming film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
classic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good British drama, 2 April 2000
By A Customer
This film is set, strangely, around a Laundrette in London and deals with the issue of sexuality in London. The relation ship between the two young men is a strong one which will leave you stunned. This post punk film is moving and funny at the same time. Worth watching just to see how the laundrette is transfered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blank tape, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
once again i have been sold a blank dvd i am very upset by this i pay my hard earned money for a dvd only to be ripped off and receive a blank dvd....NEVER AGAIN....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gread DVD to replace Video, 23 Jun. 2010
By 
Martin (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] (DVD)
Great service and a really nice present. Delilvery was as discibed and recieved in top comdition with no damage. I would recommend purchasing DVD's from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A film which hasn't worn well, 16 Jun. 2008
By 
Bill (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Allegedly 'groundbreaking' when released, what's surprising today is how theatrical and shamelessly unrealistic this film is. Frears creates a surreal London night landscape which is mostly lit with coloured gels, peopled by bootshod racist yobs who would be more at home in A Clockwork Orange, and besuited Asian mafiosi who try (and fail) to look mean. All this could be quite entertaining, except the visuals are let down by a Kureishi's awful, clunking script and some very wooden acting - even Day-Lewis looks awkward and embarrassed. The synth-driven original soundtrack is wince-inducing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD]
My Beautiful Laundrette [DVD] by Stephen Frears (DVD - 2008)
£3.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews