Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and Brilliant.
A true example of British film-making at it's best.
This film has some of the sharpest writing, mesmerising acting, stylish editing and unconventional cinematography I have ever seen.
Paul Bettany is actually frightening as young Gangster: in this film he seems to hold a rage within him that always remains just below the surface of his completely calm but fuming...
Published on 10 April 2005 by A. E. Marples

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A potentially wonderful film, ruined
It is to state the obvious to say that film making is ultimately about suspension of disbelief.

After all, an actor is basically a con man, his or her business being to convince the viewer that he or she is actually the character being portrayed on screen and not an actor pretending to be that character.

Paul Bettany, as the young Gangster No 1,...
Published 6 months ago by S. A. Bennett


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, 16 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gangster No. 1 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
the most pointless film i have had the misfortune to watch, the acting was truly abysmal and i have to say i am still trying to work out whether there was meant to be a plot or not. Watching this film was a total waste of time,energy and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More like a big number two!, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No.1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I first watched this film in the cinema as a teenager and left feeling numb, empty and ripped off! Surely it wasn't that bad was it? More than 10 years later I thought I'd give it another go! And guess what.....? It's still awful!
The problem with Gangster No 1 isn't glaringly obvious, it's more a mix of awful directing, poor overacting and a godawful script which doesn't have the balls to move away from dire East End and mob cliches! However, if I had to pick one thing as the stand out let down it would be Malcolm McLaren and his over use of the c word, revelling in it like a 10 year old who's being babysat by an uncle who doesn't discipline bad language!
Would I watch this film again? I'd rather make my own adult movie with Dawn French and Jo Brand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film about gansters, 4 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this film as it was about the way that the London gansters led their life in the 60's. It is a dated film and most of the characters are just nutters. They are definately not the type of person to cross. Sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hoods, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
American gangsters south la the Bronx compared to a brit bad un no contest start to finish watch again and again a absolute joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gangster No 1, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No.1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Well enjoyed by us both will be watched many times again and again there is not much els I can say other than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLOODY BRILLIANT, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No.1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
REALLY GOOD FILM THE BEST GANGSTER FILM IVE EVER SEEN NASTY GOOD ACTING WITH A GOOD STORY AND ENDED RELLY WELL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gangster No.1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh no .... It's terrible!, 6 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Gangster No. 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I wouldn't bother. I went on the review in Amazon and like British Movies normally, but this was terrible. Over violent, and little story. If I was you I would stick to 'Rise of the Footsoldier'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great British Gangster Film, 29 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Gangster No.1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have recently been reading a lot of the reviews on Amazon about this film and while some of them I can agree with there is a lot that I cannot. Quite simply this is a very disturbing Gangster film about people that you would certainly not like to meet up a dark alley - this is the point of the film really. One commentator pointed out that in this film there is not one likeable character - yes! Precisely, these people are not likeable in the least, and why should they be to the average person? Here is the truth for you, Gangsters and their Camp-followers are scum! plain and simple, the kind of people that make the lives of the average person a misery, they are not heroes in any shape or form and I think that this film puts this across admirably. I enjoyed the juxtaposition of the young Gangster, played by Paul Bettany who had a certain level of manicness and energy about him while going about his awful trail of destruction of rival Gangsters and deposing his leader Freddy Mays played by David Thewlis, one of those Gangsters who had a more persuasive quality about him and managed to get other people on the whole to do the really nasty stuff; unlike Paul Bettany's character who relished doing all the really nasty business in person. Of course the other juxtaposition in the movie is between the young Gangster and the old Gangster shown in more recent times played by Malcolm MacDowell. The old Gangster is only a shadow of his former self, now a spent force talked about unflatteringly behind his back by his supposed old comrades and even told by a former member of his old gang that he would kill him given half a chance, when they were younger this would just not have happened as the young Gangster instlled such fear in his associates. The Final sequences in the Gangsters flat when Thewlis' character turns up to meet the Gangster in his flat is very memorable, Freddy Mays turns up fresh from jail but is not intent on revenge against the younger Gangster upstart, Freddy has learned his lesson and is tired of the futility of his former life, unlike Bettany's character who has learnt nothing in all the time his former boss was in jail. Get this movie when you can as it is getting harder to get hold of a copy now, there are a lot of serious issues confronted in this film, and while it is hard to watch at times it is certainly worth your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gangster No. 1 [DVD]
Gangster No. 1 [DVD] by Paul McGuigan (DVD - 2008)
£3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews