Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic
Before I start this review, I will warn you that it WILL be biased... I first watched this film as a young teenager, with a group of mates, probably high, and I loved it! Since then I must have watched the film 20 times or more, it's one of my favourites but I'll try to write an honest review all the same.

Like many British films, this is rather querky. There's...
Published on 10 Oct. 2009 by T. D. Morris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blue Juice(DVD)(1995) Jones/Pertwee/McGregor
Thank goodness for Catherine Zeta Jones. Is there any role she cannot play convincingly? in this feature film, early in her career, she plays Chloe, a very 'Hip Chick' running a small Cafe in 1970's Cornwall with her Surfing Ace boyfriend JC,-Shawn Pertwee. As the producer says, she fills the screen, and it is lucky she does, for without her the film would be less...
Published on 2 Jan. 2011 by Derek Vernon-morris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
T. D. Morris (Stuttgart, Deutschland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Before I start this review, I will warn you that it WILL be biased... I first watched this film as a young teenager, with a group of mates, probably high, and I loved it! Since then I must have watched the film 20 times or more, it's one of my favourites but I'll try to write an honest review all the same.

Like many British films, this is rather querky. There's a lot crammed into quite a short film, and as a result the film doesn't always flow very fluidly, but it's a fun ride if you don't take it too seriously.
Some big faces (Catherine Zeta Jones, Sean Pertwee, Ewan McGregor) give some really solid performances in this movie, but on the flip-side some lesser known actors (if they even are actors) give some performances that wouldn't seem out of place in a school play.
There is a varied and excellent soundtrack to the movie, good enough to stand the hairs up on the back of my neck at times.

I rated this film with 5-stars because that correlates to "I love this movie", but if I was giving a critical rating it would be 3.5 to 4 stars. The music is great. Some acting is very poor, but some is very good (Peter Gunn on ecstasy, great!). Some of the plot is weak, but the underlying plot is very strong. The film doesn't take itself too seriously, so the viewer shouldn't either. Watch with friends, alone, or with a partner, and this film should leave you feeling pretty happy with life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, it's a classic!, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Sean Pertwee?! Catherine Zeta Jones before she became mega rich and mega famous?! Ewan Mcgregor before everyone loved him?! What's not to like?!

JC is a surfer based in rural cornwall (it actually used to be like that), Catherine Zeta Jones doesn't want to go around the world but JC does, she wants to stay in rural cornwall and purchase the cafe they run. (To be honest, looking at how property values have rocketed in Cornwall since then, it would have been a great idea, and JC is clearly an idiot). Anyway, some of JC's old mates from when he was a London ragtag badass decide to visit Cornwall for Terry's stag do (Terry is boring and fat and sports double denim, not cool), so Ewan Mcgregor (a dugged up loser with long hair and clearly sponsored by Stussy) and Josh Tambini (a big time record producer with slick hair, slick hats and a slick wardrobe - he looks like he is in a boy band and is instantly dislikable in the way that we always hate the guy with money) jump in a black Range Rover, throw a surfboard on the roof, drug and kidknap the fat guy and burn it down to Cornwall in time for English Breakfast Tea with JC and CZJ.

Anyway, it's pretty bad timing as the lads haven't told JC that they're heading down, he is in the middle of an argument with CZJ (something about her flirting with an older man, much much older... Oh hang on that might have been real life with Michelle Douglas), so they all descend on Cornwall and decide to stay in the worlds smallest caravan in a field. Our man Josh Tambini is bank rolling the whole affair without realising it whilst Ewan is being a right nonce and trying to sell dodgy drugs to the locals whilst stealing Josh's credit cards and pretending to be a badass.

Lots of other awesome stuff happens, including a very 1990s rave in which Terry falls in love with Guinneverre after being given Ecstasy (apparently the good stuff) by Ewan. What a knob. That's a bit of a long story but you'll like it.

I won't spoil the ending but there's some great scenery and it'll make you want to move to Cornwall, but don't, because Cornwall isn't like that anymore because people with Range Rovers from London have bought up all the property, so in winter there's no one in Cornwall other than artists and heroin addicts and in summer it's full of very nice cars driving very slowly round very small lanes.

Enjoy it, I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blue Juice(DVD)(1995) Jones/Pertwee/McGregor, 2 Jan. 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Thank goodness for Catherine Zeta Jones. Is there any role she cannot play convincingly? in this feature film, early in her career, she plays Chloe, a very 'Hip Chick' running a small Cafe in 1970's Cornwall with her Surfing Ace boyfriend JC,-Shawn Pertwee. As the producer says, she fills the screen, and it is lucky she does, for without her the film would be less exciting than plain still water. Even the presence of Ewan McGregor, as a loud mouthed, insecure, buddy down from London, with a bunch of other surfing guys, does not raise the humour or credibility of the action.
One of the best, sexy and most comic moments is the 'Trifle Sandwich' as bikini clad Chloe spreads all the ingredients of a trifle on JC(suffering from strained back muscles)and tells him to beg.
The story is about 30 year old guys still hankering after their 20's, and at the same time growing up and looking for respect and fulfillment. Chloe wants JC to make a commitment to herself rather than the 'Blue Juice' of the ocean, and he is trying to face his own fears about riding the waves once more on a dangerous rocky area called the Bone Yard which reaches its maximum potential during the winter season. She wants to buy the cafe and settle, He wants to go on a world tour of surfing beaches. Added to this is a middle aged surfboard craftsman, trying to levitate in his circle of candles, and chanting Hawian style at the flat ocean. Presenting these things as a feel good comedy falls flatter than the beaches at Marazion, Newquay, and Saunton put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant little gem!, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
JC is an aging hippy surfer rapidly approaching 30 and rides on the reputation he made 10 years earlier. He wants to go around the world, but his girlfriend Chloe {Catherine Zeta Jones] wants him to settle down and continue to run their beachside surfer shack cafe which is being sold. Catherine Zeta Jones plays the natural fresh faced girlfriend [before she turned all Hollywood] to perfection and appears to actually enjoy it all with a very naughty and impish glee in parts. Definately her best acting in my opinion.
Into this comes three of JC's old mates on a stag do from London, each of whom has their own hangups and problems.Ewan McGregor is barely recognisable as the grungy chronic screw-up, Peter Gunn is hilarious as Terry the soon to be groom.
What follows is a humerous adventure set in rural cornwall. Don't be fooled into thinking this is an american or australian style surfer movie it isn't, it's uniquely British, and although it forms the background, the beach actually features surprisingly little throughout.
I watched this out of curiosity rather than for any other reason so my expectations were low, and I think that's why I enjoyed it so much. This is not a fast paced film, but it is enjoyable, just don't take it too seriously and just soak up the character interactions and the inner torment of JC (Sean Pertwee). It's amusing rather than hilarious, but I never found it dul or slowl,
Well worth a try if you get it cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun and entertaining comedy!, 15 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
'Blue Juice' notably features an early lead performance from a young Catherine Zeta-Jones before she found fame in Hollywood, and there's also Sean Pertwee and Ewan McGregor, fresh from Danny Boyles' 'Shallow Grave', so talk about a cast.

This surfer comedy has become something of a cult, and rightly so. Set in the beautiful surroundings of Cornwall, it centres around JC (Pertwee) who runs a serf school, finding it difficult to resist the temptations given to him by his mischievous London based friends, including drug-dealer Dean (McGregor), who is trying to suck him back into bad habits. Whilst JC is all to eager to revive his old lifestyle, his stunning girlfriend Chloe (Jones) hopes that those days are now long behind him. So, his dilemma is whether he should return to the unpredictable mixture of waves and drugs, or whether he should stick with his comfortable new life and relationship.

The humour is quite off the wall, the characters are eccentric, and the whole thing is great fun, particularly good to watch with a group of friends. Whilst it isn't particularly realistic, it is after all a comedy. Although 'Blue Juice' will never be considered one of the greatest films that either Jones or McGregor have appeared in, it's nice to see them together when they were still young and just about to make it big.

A quirky, feel good British comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Zeta-Jones pre Hollywood, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Okay, first of all, I bought this for my Catherine Zeta collection and not for its content or potential. She does show signs of star quality in this but I feel this is mainly due to a lack of quality roles playing along side her. Yes, the subject material didn't grip my attention. Apart from the natural beauty of locations used and the intermittent witty dialect used on its radio programme inserts, little else held my attention. Some might say that this is a cult classic, others might say it is just a poor premise and weak production. Whatever your view is, in my opinion this can never be anything more than average entertainment. Almost 'thiry-somethings' trying to be 'twenty-somethings' is not my ideal comic scenario. C Z-J is pretty, really pretty here, but the story has little else going for it. For me, this film was a huge disappointment and, but for its place in my collection, wouldn't be a film that lives long in the memory. Was that Jenny Agutter (who lives in Cornwall sometimes), who appears in a cameo role a couple of times, or did I just dream it? Sadly therefore, Frankly the whole film was a bit of a disappointment, so I can give this only 5 out of 10 for entertainment value. I've seen worse, but from the cast chosen, I expected so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no surf, great movie, 28 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone looking for a great bit of British surfing i would suggest looking else where (performing monkeys would be a good start)
But anyone looking for a great British movie full of ridiculous surf cliché and a typical outside look at westcountry life then read on.
This film is ace it does not take itself seriously it is not even slightly believable but the actors chosen bring it together perfectly. Ewan McGregor as the London E dealer who rips off punters but sorts out his mates is classic with great lines like "piece of p*ss this surfing" after he cuts up everyone in the water and their fat mate Terry is hilarious when he get pilled up and goes on a mission to find Guinevere.
Catherine zeta Jones is looking great (pre old American husband) and the attempts of Sean pertwee to be the eternally young surfer dude fit just right
All in all it's a bit of fun and listen out for the yokel radio presenters on smuggler FM "my mother swore by nettle dew" nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great nostalgia trip to the '90's!, 11 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
gerat little surf drama flick, about romance, life, friends, surfing and choices set in the '90's, when i lived out my teenage years! i loved the clothes/fashion, having hung around with a bunch of local surfer lads when i was a teen, recognizing surfers against sewage, and body glove! and the boards, wetsuits etc. a feel good film, with ok acting (not the best) but terry the silver surfer shines through brilliantly. the scenery is to die for, (i am a cornwall nut) and recognize some places in the film before tourism hit it hard! great little gem for watching when it's dark, or when it's flat and there are no waves. also look out for sean pertwee's stunt double surfing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life play list, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
L. White "would be chef" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film and when I first saw it - fell in love with surfing and Sean Pertwee. It made me visit Mousehole - where it was filmed - but was disappointed only to find a car park where the Surf Shack was! Nevertheless - This film is what I put on when the longing gets too great for my beloved Cornwall. Peter Gunn is a treasure, too, and the scenery is great.I also think Catherine Z J is stunningly beautiful in this - before she got "Hollywoodised" and plastic.An unconciously funny moment is Steve Mackintosh "dad dancing" in the church hall! A classiic and a must for surf culture and Cornwall lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Off-beat and Cult Classic, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
G. Ward "Sotto Voce" (You are here ->) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blue Juice [DVD] (DVD)
I should mention that I recently bought a copy of this on DVD having lost my ol' video many years ago. I loved it then and it's still as enjoyable now as it ever was. A brilliant lil' slice of British cinema.

AS has been mentioned by others, this one nearly slipped under the radar when it came out, and didn't make any bigger a splash (sorry about that!) when it was re-released on DVD. Like many British films, this is rather quirky. Okay, it perhaps doesn't have the expensive panning vistas and multi-angled, slow-motion, shots of sun-soak So-Cal surfing, but what it does miss out on (I don't think it misses anything really) is more than made up for with a solid yet simple, well delivered story; fun, believable characters; a fair splash of humour and a few lil' twists just for good measure.

I look at this now, and yes, it has dated somewhat, but less than I might've expected. It perhaps just underlines that the essence or the story, the spirit and the 'message' of the film still (and perhaps always should) resonates after this time.

It's a great lil' film that shouldn't be looked upon too serious, with too critical and eye. It's a pleasure to watch and something that captures a sense of mood, people, moments very well.

NB. It's also easily a bit fo a bargain these days as well, so get a copy. Pronto!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Juice [DVD]
Blue Juice [DVD] by Carl Prechezer (DVD - 2008)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews