Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People of Wisconsin might be offended
I'm Catholic, and I loved this film. should anyone be offended, it is people of Wisconsin, not us Catholics. The film is full of clever lines referring to Christian mythology and theology, and despite the disclaimer which says that it is merely a comedy, there are some referrence to issues that dog modern catholics. While it is not 'religious film' per se, it certainly...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by A H Kobayashi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dogma
I'm not a big fan of this film. I found it a bit boring and i thought it was saved by Jay and Silent Bob and also Alan Rickman as Metatron who is the highlight of the whole film.
Published 3 months ago by dozza


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People of Wisconsin might be offended, 27 Oct 2003
By 
A H Kobayashi "smelly_cat" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I'm Catholic, and I loved this film. should anyone be offended, it is people of Wisconsin, not us Catholics. The film is full of clever lines referring to Christian mythology and theology, and despite the disclaimer which says that it is merely a comedy, there are some referrence to issues that dog modern catholics. While it is not 'religious film' per se, it certainly reflects practical problems the Catholics face today. That said, the film is actually funnier for us for we understand them better, and throughly enjoyable. Well acted (yes, Alan Richman is in his funniest) and fast paced, I can recommend it to anyone. After several viewing however I began to notice some inconsistencies in the plot, but this is a very minor flaw. I still don't get God's sense of humour in the end though ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Even God has a sense of humor", 11 Jun 2004
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a smart comedy about religion and the Church. We find a great cast of different stars playing God, angels, demons, muses, prophets and apostles. I can understand that for some people religion is a very serious issue and that these individuals may take offense in this movie. However, if you do no belong in this group, I highly recommend you to watch this film, since I am sure you will have a great time.
The Church is in a renewal process and seeking to attract people to enlarge its flock. Some of the changes involve revamping the depressing image in the crucifix for a smiling, winking and thumbs-up Christ. Also, a Church in New Jersey decreed a day in which everyone that passes through its gates will be cleansed of all sins and forgiven by God. Loki (Matt Damon) and Bartleby (Ben Affleck) are two angles that have incurred in God's wrath and therefore were expelled from heaven and condemned to live in Wisconsin from the rest of their eternal lives. They see this as an opportunity to be forgiven and allowed to return to heaven.
The path to their destination is not an easy one though, since by achieving their forgiveness they would prove God wrong, and existence will cease because it is based on the fact that God is always right. Therefore, Loki's and Bartleby's journey affects a large number of people and other mystic figures. There are two sides to the conflict, those that want to prevent them from getting to their destination, and those that want to help them and create chaos. Among muses, demons, the thirteenth apostle and a Golgothan, which by the way is super gross, we find a woman named Bethany (Linda Fiorentino). She is at a tough stage in her life and has almost lost her faith, but is requested by Metathron, the voice of God, to stop the two angels in their quest.
The way in which the film questions some of the beliefs of religion is smart and funny, and the talented cast help make this a very pleasant experience. For example, Chris Rock in his role of the thirteenth apostle is hilarious, showing his usual sense of humor with quick and witty jokes. I also found interesting the questioning of God's sex and Jesus race, which I think spices up several scenes throughout the movie and allows for some very funny moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a little anti-Catholic, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
There maybe religious people out there who will criticize this film as being anti-religion, anti-Catholicism, when it is anything but (well, a little anti-Catholic maybe). The central theme to the film is that there is a God, but not the God that most people know (or think they know) or believe in. She Canadian! The characters in the film are trying to get the message across that people have changed the original God, man has made God into the image they want him/her to be, made their own religious rules, rules that God never intended. From a strictly biblical standpoint, Smith is right on, which not something that can be said about many films is dealing with religion. And isn't that the entire point to Christianity, that it's based on the bible.

But when the opening text: including the Disclaimer: 1) a renunciation of any claim to or connection with; 2) disavowal; 3) a statement made to save one's own ass.

You know on are on to a winner!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best religious comedy since Life of Brian, 9 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Watched this DVD whilst visiting family in USA. Very, very, funny. I was initially not too surprised to hear that it upset a lot of Christians with tunnel vision. I was surprised that it did once I had watched it all the way through, for despite the nature of the whole flick the character of "God" comes out favourably in the end.
You will see that it does not abuse Christianity per-se, but all organised religions that use belief as an excuse to feel superior and cause violence against others who don't follow their particular brand of belief.
Bottom line though, it's a very funny, clever comedy but those easily offended by language or the subject matter should avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS FILM ROCKS!, 2 Feb 2008
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] (DVD)
This film is absolutely sensational! I loved it...a thought provoking, extremely witty and laugh out loud film where Alan Rickman's natural sarcasm fits perfectly! So glad it's available on DVD. Highly recommended if you're sitting on the fence with regards religion - in that it'll either send you one way or t'other! Thanks Kevin Smith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and original, 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film has a pretty complex plot, but the basic premise is that two angels (played by Matt Damon and Ben Affleck) have been cast out of heaven and condemned to spend the rest of eternity in Wisconsin. They believe that they have discovered a loophole which will allow them to get back into heaven, but if they succeed in carrying out their plan, it would actually result in the destruction of the universe. The movie draws heavily on Catholic mythology and contains some interesting twists on it (such as the fact that the 13th disciple, was written out of the Bible because he was black) - which prompted some mindless controversy on the film's release. This isn't an outstanding film, but it's entertaining, very original and quite thought-provoking. Also, it features Alanis Morissette as God, which is probably one of the most brilliant and inspired pieces of casting in the history of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, intelligent, light hearted humour, 19 Mar 2002
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Kevin Smith returns with his 4th View Askew film, and by far the most intelligent yet. Many people praise the script writing of Smith, but often criticise his filming style. But Smith's way of presenting scenes as a series of funny sketches (many can be watched as stand alone scenes and still be hilariously funny) and sometimes pointless banter between his characters helps to breakdown the overall seriousness that people might take offense to, and reinforces that the film is just a work of comic fiction.
The film is packed with top supporting stars(Alan Rickman, Chris Rock, Salma Hayek, Jason Lee) that Smith continuously seems to be able to attract; and not forgetting the return of Jay and Silent Bob (played by the hilariously big mouthed fast talking Jason Mewes and Smith himself). This is a watch again and again film that is a superbly well written and suitably filmed installment of the View Askew films, that every Kevin Smith fan should own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know what the dead do with most of their time? They watch the living. Especially in the shower., 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a quick note about the disc. It is fact region free not region A as listed. Hard to get hold of the U.S version as it's now out of print.

Oh, and a nice disc with a decent pic and pretty good DTS HD MA track. Great movie, very funny.

End Of Line....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good thought provoking film., 24 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Masters "Marcia Masters" (Tunbridge Wells. Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is entertaining, thought provoking and exciting !! It is also quirky and unusual. I enjoyed it immensely - especially Alan Rickman's angel !! The title doesn't really help the film as it gives no indication of how amusing it is. However, it's a really clever film with something in it for everybody! Ben Affleck and Matt Damon are well cast and Alannis Morissette is a lovely surprise. Well worth watching !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT intended to be a religious debate - it's just a comedy..., 8 Aug 2009
This review is from: Dogma [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an attempt, in my view a successful one, to entertain using a well known series of Roman Catholic IDEAS (not beliefs). There are plenty of films exploring religion and Christianity in particular but this isn't one of them so don't expect any moment of conversion to result from viewing it.

Severus Snape is great in this film (who knew!)and I have to say I liked all the characters and wouldn't miss out any of them in a sequel. Having said that I hope there isn't a sequel because the premise is really only good the once.

I enjoyed this film from the moment it began with the outcast angels through all the stuff in the middle (there's a nice bit when one of the prophets laughs knowingly, we think, only to discover it's just that he's finally worked out the joke about the the holy bartender)to the great ending when we find out if God is a man or a woman and get to witness what happens to humans who hear God's voice (hence why the "Voice of God" has a leading part to play in Heaven).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dogma [DVD]
Dogma [DVD] by Kevin Smith (DVD - 2008)
3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews