Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Best
This is a brilliant British gangster film. Up there with Get Carter,The Long Good Friday et al. It works superbly on all levels. The cast including occasional ham Sir Ben Kingsley are outstanding. Even ex Lovejoy lothario Ian Macshane is pretty good as the metrosexual crime boss Teddy Bass.
Its the best use of a bank job themed film since the original Italian...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by G. R. Donaldson

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, average video quality
To begin with, in 1,78:1 you see more of the picture, since the movie was filmed in 16:9 and then cropped to 2,35:1 for the cinematic and DVD releases. I do not know which aspect ratio was intended for being the "true" one, but on this Blu-ray, you see everything you saw on DVD - and more. You'll find a comparison of screenshots on the DVDBeaver-Website, so you can decide...
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by Dion


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Best, 6 Dec 2008
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a brilliant British gangster film. Up there with Get Carter,The Long Good Friday et al. It works superbly on all levels. The cast including occasional ham Sir Ben Kingsley are outstanding. Even ex Lovejoy lothario Ian Macshane is pretty good as the metrosexual crime boss Teddy Bass.
Its the best use of a bank job themed film since the original Italian Job.Sexy Beast got a bit lost in the plethora of Brit Gangster flics but it is head and shoulders above them all.The disc has lots of interesting extras. The plot twists and turns,"like a twisty turny thing" and the denoument is sheer class. Buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is like a beautiful poem, it is just amazing., 19 July 2001
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Don't be fooled into thinking that this is another gangster film because it isn't, in fact it doesn't really fit into a genre at all. The main theme of the film is more of a love story between Gal (Ray Winstone) and Didi (Amanda Redman), which also has a very dark theme to it.
Ray Winstone is excellent as usual, but Ben Kingsley really steals the show as the Psychotic Don, a character from Gal's murky past which he is trying to escape from. Gal has retired to Spain and is living this idyllic life until Don appears like a bolt out of the blue with a job for Gal, and he will not take no for an answer.
Jonathan Glazer's directing is excellent and his use of the camera is impressive. He also get exceptional performances from the whole cast.
This is an excellent film which is simply a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jonny Magic, 24 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sexy Beast [VHS] [2001] (VHS Tape)
Sexy Beast it is quite simply fantastic.
I would rate this movie as being in the top three British gangster films of all time, along with Get Carter and The Long Good Friday, way ahead of other recent splurges of cinematic mockney psychopaths running amok.
Ex-criminal Gary 'Gal' Dove (Ray Winstone) has built a happy life by the pool for himself and wife his Dee-Dee (Amanda Redman) somewhere in Spain. The idyllic bubble is burst one day by the arrival of 'old friend' Don Logan (Ben Kingsley), who is intent on persuading Gal to return to London to perform one last big heist. Drawn by the psychotic Logan into a battle of wills, Gal risks everything to protect his carefully constructed world and the woman he loves. Returning to London to take part in a sensational safe deposit robbery.
Beautifully directed by Jonathan Glazer (him of lone surfer Guinness advert fame). The genius stroke is the casting of Ben Kingsley, Shakespearian actor, winner of an Oscar playing the world's greatest pacifist as Gal's nemesis, Don. He is brilliant as, quiet frankly, an absolute nutter. There are also excellent, but warped cameos by James Fox and Ian McShane.
It is stylish, sexy and compelling.
It is a beauty.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more of the same and a little bit more, 8 Nov 2003
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A British crime film starring Ray Winstone, you might expect, may offer few surprises. You'd be wrong though. Winstone sacrifices his usual top dog role to play an usually timid ex criminal who seeks a decedent retirement in the scorching heat of the Ballearics. What he doesn't bank on though is the appearance of an unhinged gangster played by Ben Kingsley, demanding that he return to London for one final job. We are used to seeing Kingsley prosper in worthy roles from Oscar winners, so it's almost a jaw dropping moment to hear him utter his first words as a dense sounding cockney hoodlum. It's a role that he clearly relishes as it displays a genuinely impressive range of acting skills. How believable the fear he generates from Winstone and his cohorts is perhaps debatable, but fantasy elements protect the film from over analysis and give it a refreshingly artistic edge.
Whislt Sexy Beast at times seems a little similar to the now familiar style of Guy Ritchie's films, it certainly offers enough to be able to stand up in its right. Not least for allowing two fine actors to explore and successfully conquer new territory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 27 Dec 2001
This review is from: Sexy Beast [VHS] [2001] (VHS Tape)
Few British gangster films (up to, and including The Long Good Friday and anything by Guy Ritchie) have plumbed the depths of the British crime genre as thoroughly and plausibly as this one.
A no-frills outing, it finds Ray Winstone and his missus down on the Costa, enjoying the fruits of his life of crime and generally lying low in the sun. Enter Ben Kingsley as Don Logan, a messenger from the London underworld who insists that Winstone get himself back to London for 'one, last job'.
This would be worth watching alone for Kingsley's truly terrifying performance as the crazed Don, but every member of the small-ish cast is superb; from Winstone's terrified Gal, to Ian McShane as Teddy Bass, the London-based mastermind of the robbery in question - a difficult and work-intensive hit on a safe deposit vault, to every last one of the molls and scumbags who bring up the rear. Kingsley should have got an Oscar for this, but didn't. He deserves something. Don Logan is unlikely to be forgotten by anyone who sees this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an All-Time Classic British Movie, 22 Oct 2007
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The other reviewers I have read are just so right, once seen this is never forgotten, one of those films you would never really tire of seeing, at the moment I am trying to acquire copies to give to all my friends who have yet to see it; it really is that good. Ben Kingsley plays Don, quite simply one of the scariest guys you could ever see on film, a very unlikeable, foul-mouthed, merciless fellow played to perfection by Kingsley who dominates the screen with his prescence, Ghandi never spoke to people like this I can assure you. Bascially the story is about Kingsley's character Don Logan who goes to Spain where,Gal, played by Ray Winstone is enjoying retirement from the World of the London Gangster. The extremely aggressive Don tries to Press-Gang Gal into doing another tricky heist back in London, much to the consternation of Gal and his wife Didi who are determined that he should not become involved in this lifestyle ever again. I won't give any more of the plot away in this review but this film definately gets my 5 Stars anyday and comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, average video quality, 22 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Sexy Beast [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
To begin with, in 1,78:1 you see more of the picture, since the movie was filmed in 16:9 and then cropped to 2,35:1 for the cinematic and DVD releases. I do not know which aspect ratio was intended for being the "true" one, but on this Blu-ray, you see everything you saw on DVD - and more. You'll find a comparison of screenshots on the DVDBeaver-Website, so you can decide which one you like better.
On the other hand, this release has some serious technical drawbacks - a 1080i-picture on a BD-25 is not what I expect from a release of a movie that was shot only about ten years ago. Although the image quality is clearly superior to the DVD, there's much room for further visual improvement. The audio is also not lossless, which may be due to the fact that the movie takes about 18 GB of space on the single-layered disc.
There's nothing to say about the movie itself - in my opinion, it's one of the best crime-comedys of all times. So if you do not own this movie on DVD, you can buy this Blu-ray and enjoy it - or just wait for a re-release with a 1080p-picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Do the job", 7 Mar 2007
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
An extremely well made british gangster movie with some excellent performances. Ben Kingsley is a million miles away from Ghandi thats for sure, also Ian Mcshane exhibits a chilling menace. I particularly liked the way he kept questioning Ray Winstone on Don Logans whereabouts, you got the feeling he knew he was lying. What can you say about Ben Kingsley in this film, he knew everyone hated him yet he didnt care. Talking to himself in the mirror inspired scene. Ray Winstone looks far more at home here than he did in the Departed a man looking to escape his gangster past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 24 Jan 2003
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Probably the best gangster movie I've seen this year, although this is less about what gangster's do than what they are like... well, I wouldn't really know what they're like but if they're anything like Don Logan or Teddy Bess I hope I never meet one.
I really went into this film without reading any reviews and not knowing what it was about so it probably hit me doubly hard. The film starts off with a mild easy-watching pace until Don Logan (Ben Kingsley in probably his most un-Gandhi-like role) enters the scene and switches on the tension for the remainder of the movie. Of course, the movie throughout has and undercurrent of humour to it and altough there won't be really that many opportunities to laugh you may find yourself smiling on a few inappropriate occasions at the cruel extremeness of it all.
Must be watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is British Film at its best, 22 Jan 2007
By 
Mark B (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sexy Beast [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Ben kingsley and Ray Winstone play the opposite to their usual casting 'type' to great effect in this wonderfully shot and imaginatively written and directed gangster film with a twist.

I was recently asked to classify this film for a friend. Everyone who'd seen it said it was a gangster film. Everyone. But to me it was, quite clearly, primarily a love story. The gangster element injects a great deal of charisma, and familiar faces into the storyline, and gave it an extra depth, but the real basis of the story here is the relationship between DeeDee and her retired bank-robbing husband (Winstone).

A faultless supporting cast and a truly electrifying performance by Kingsley (Don Logan), make the best of what is a superb script and sound track. The cinematography is excellent and whilst quite artistic in parts it doesn't distract from the hard-line gangster story or the feel of the film. It just adds to the richness of the experience.

The director did a really great job. From the opening scene you know your watching quality film making.

If you have n't seen it, then your decision to watch it is a no brainer. Watch it now, preferably on a big screen. But better still buy it. Its a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sexy Beast [HD DVD]
Sexy Beast [HD DVD] by Jonathan Glazer (HD DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews