Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars faithfully hardy
This is a truly splendid production. Ted Whitehead's screenplay manages to capture the spirit of the book and yet deliver a fluent and stimulating dramatization. The production design and art design are extraordinarily beautiful and convincing in their detail. All the cast carry off their roles well. Ciaran Hinds as the Mayor is just about perfect - his impetuosity and...
Published on 6 Oct. 2009 by W. Hamilton

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Images
Having not read the book I was not sure what to expect.

There are some shocking images and situations to deal with in the movie. Starting with the opening scene and taking it all the way to the closing scene. Riveting entertainment with Ciaran Hinds both vexing and delighting me.

Something that will stay with me for a long time is the closing scene...
Published on 5 Sept. 2011 by AC


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mayor of Casterbridge, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
Mark Grasnick "DVD addicted" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I am always sceptical of customer reviews, as we all like and admire different actors and authors. Before reading reviews, I usually read the cast list first if I don't already know the production. This production has a first class cast, so didn't read too many reviews and purchased it on that strength alone. I was not disappointed. Great story, with some twists in the tale that make for good viewing. The ending was rather abrupt and a bit soft, but overall worth the outlay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 12 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic well acted movie if you have not seen it get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
not the best story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent adaptation. Almost shakesperian tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
GREAT STORY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adaptation., 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I read this book years ago and loved it. I also watched a previous adaptation with Alan Bates and loved that too. So I was expecting great things from this - and wasn't disappointed. Would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The biggest drawback of Amazon is the fact that they do not always mention if the dvd has no subtitles.
It leaves us non English speakers in difficult straits trying to decipher english and american dialects and slang.
I guess I'll return the DVD (again).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mayor of casterbridge dvd, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd was delivered quickly and in time to be a gift at an affordable price, it is an excellent period drama film that would appeal to most. would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dvd, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
enjoyed this series when it was shown on tv so had to have it to own when I saw it on amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD]
The Mayor of Casterbridge [2003] [DVD] by David Thacker (DVD - 2008)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews