Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beryl Reid's finest hour
This is a film which is very much a product of its time (1968)and yet also seems more innovative and contemporary than most of today's movies. Beryl Reid's portrayal of an alcoholic soap star whose career and personal life are falling apart is flawless and she is more than ably supported by her co-stars Susannah York and Coral Browne.

This film is memorable on...
Published on 16 May 2006 by The Man from the Ministry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Relatively tame story line
Classic film but compared to modern day this is very tame. Interesting to see the 1960's fashion and behaviour. The acting was a bit wooden but in it's day, this was a tale of taboo.
Published 4 months ago by Deborah Aung


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some things don't fade, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Anthony Ryan (Grove, Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I had happy memories of this movie from my youth so I risked disappointment and bought the DVD. It stands up beautifully. I admit in those days I seriously had the hots for Susannah York so the lesbian sex scenes may have distracted me from noticing what a tough, ruthless, uncompromising portrayal this is of the contemporary British television industry.

Beryl Reid is, I think, quite wonderful as Sister George - a much loved character in a children's daytime soap. Her acting is, as you'd expect, a touch over the top but what else would you expect from a veteran character actor having trouble separating fiction from real life. Purists might question her portrayal as the butch partner in a lesbian relationship with the Susannah York character - she drinks, smokes cigars and can be viciously spiteful towards her lover.

Her younger, prettier partner (Alice) is also an archetype: a fluffy blond with big blue eyes who spends a lot of time bouncing around in shortie pajamas (whatever happened to shortie pajamas?) but the moment when she betrays George with the very female boss responsible for ending George's career, her acting is honest and courageous - exposing her sexual vulnerability as a pretty and sensual woman just past 30... and potentially without a partner.

A sad, sobering but well-made movie still potent long after it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 20 April 2011
By 
Stuart G. Robinson "Graham" (Herts. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
A story way ahead of its time. Beryl Reid showed she could really act as Sister George (remembering back to her radio days when she used to be in half-hour comedies - usually with a Brummie accent ; her character was called 'Marlene' - didn't really do her justice). The intense,obsessive relationship between George and Childie( played with conviction by Susannah York) is quite scary.Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking!, 14 Oct 2006
By 
This film is absolutely brilliant and completely groundbreaking. It's hard to believe that it takes a small country like Great Britain to produce the best movies but we certainly showed Hollywood a thing or two back in the sixties when we were the centre of the universe. The performances and storyline in this faultless piece of celluloid make it unmissable and one that anybody would be proud to own in their DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Relatively tame story line, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Classic film but compared to modern day this is very tame. Interesting to see the 1960's fashion and behaviour. The acting was a bit wooden but in it's day, this was a tale of taboo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Love this movie, So good. I cant recommend it enough, very funny and sad also. I was very impressed by the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding 60s politically in-correct but well crafted film, on what was a risque topic of the day, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
You wont see this masterpiece on HBO, the lesbians are predatory, passive -aggressive and co-dependent..... no Ellen Or Cloudburst here... schmooze is off the menu but gripping drama, for those who can apply a brain.

The 60s lesbian underground scenes were a shocking counterpoint to the classic "housewife" expectations of women in it's time, but doubtlessly all lost on modern young people today.

The themes of love and betrayal are universal but wrapped up in 60s culture this a gem...see it and be shocked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why did I buy this, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
A friend assured me I would like it..I didn't...Long, tedious, and where it may have had a shock value way back then, it just looks tacky now. A few funny moments, but not enough to make me watch it again.
Have bought many " old" films on Amazon ( and enjoyed), this one was a mistake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb drama, 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
A dramatic presentation with excellent performances and some fascinating insights into the underground world of lesbian London in the 1960's. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Raunchy in it's time but not quite so shocking now, 12 April 2013
By 
Ms. R. M. Thompson "Ruth Thompson" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
A film worth watching but not mind blowing. The lead actress is very good in her role as a licentious, contolling old lezzer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the killing of sister george, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Berl Reid at her upmost excellence!! Very funny but also sensitive. Both she and Susannah York are much missed actresses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacc72ea0)

This product

The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968]
The Killing Of Sister George [DVD] [1968] by Robert Aldrich (DVD - 2008)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews