Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses My Highest Expectations!
My enthusiasm for the music on this CD is infinite! I am either dancing, snapping my fingers or humming most of the melodies and tunes as they are playing. Shékoyokh Klezmer Ensemble are master musicians who have created an outstanding CD with an array of distinctly different musical rhythms and melodies from many countries of Eastern and Central Europe, the...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by Erika Borsos

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars like repetative fingers down a black board !
bought this for my mother for mothers day ...... what a mistake !

like status quo for jews ( sorry Quo fans) ........ same four chords over and over again plus the occassional out of tune drone or wail.

had to turn it off ofer enduring less than 15 mins and, needless top say really, would not recommend this album. : (
Published 3 months ago by Mrs Henri C Newton-Allen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses My Highest Expectations!, 4 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
My enthusiasm for the music on this CD is infinite! I am either dancing, snapping my fingers or humming most of the melodies and tunes as they are playing. Shékoyokh Klezmer Ensemble are master musicians who have created an outstanding CD with an array of distinctly different musical rhythms and melodies from many countries of Eastern and Central Europe, the Balkans, and even the Middle East. I hear music from Romania, Bulgaria, Macedonia, the Ukraine, Greece and Roma (gypsy) music of the Balkans.

Their rendition of "Kopanitsa" (track #2) is as good as that played by any authentic Bulgarian band from the old country. The distinct 11/8 time is evident and just as complex as one would expect, accompanied on the clarinet which sounds like a zurna at times and the accordion which at times sounds like a gaida (bagpipes). Track # 3 "Greek Tune" is very familiar and joyful. There may be many variations of this traditional folk tune throughout Greece and Macedonia. "Bavno Oro" is another favorite Bulgarian melody with a soft and gentle tempo, much slower than Kopanitsa. Bavno Ora has absolutely astonishing clarinet solos that will thrill any folk dancer and afficionado of Balkan music. It has a mesmerizing melody and rhythm.

Track #7 "Dem Rebns Nighn" is a klezmer tune filled with deep emotional violin solos creating absolutely spine-tingling sensations. The violin playing is beyond word descriptions - it just has to be heard! "Nikolaev Bulgar" (track #8) is another exciting klezmer tune in which the clarinet takes lead, creating a joyful almost carnival-like atmosphere. # 9 "Krivo Sadovsko" is strictly Macedonian or Bulgarian, played in the wild and exciting 13/8 rhythm that leaves one breathless just listening. I can only imagine the fancy footwork which advanced folk dancers have mastered and love to perform ... # 10 "Amarantos" has a haunting Greek melody with a fantastic clarinet intepretation and equally impressive violin accompaniment.

This group has mastered the nuances of the musical forms and rhythms of many countries. Meg Hamilton passionately plays the klezmer violin creating joy or sadness. She takes the listener on a deep emotional journey, exploring one's own soul. Susi Evans plays the clarinet with obvious enthusiasm and talent, expressing the klezmer sound with ever winding pathways exploring new boundaries, yet expressing the ancient heritage and traditions equally well. At times, the music is so haunting and ethereal, it takes the listener to a whole new realm of musical appreciation. No one who hears this music can remain emotionally umoved. My highest endorsement to BUY. Erika Borsos [pepper flower]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating album!, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
This is a great album for those, like myself, who are finding their way into Klezmer. It's a fascinating mix of roma, oriental, hispanic and Baltic influences and covers all moods from get-up-and-dance to reach-for-the-tissues! The singer's voice is particularly striking. I saw these guys live at Snape Proms and believe me, they're a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Klever Klezmer!, 22 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
Difficult to sit still listening to this wonderful music. The eclectic mix is amazing, as is the musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love this music, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (MP3 Download)
I am new to Klezmer music and sampled lots of other albums on Amazon before buying this. Enjoy it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars authenticity, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Dr. R. Watson (Huddersfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
fascinating programme superb performance in a virtuoso display of rhythmic and melodic variety;the sheer exuberance of the musicians is beautifully captured on record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This chicken is no turkey!, 4 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
A wonderful album of tunes that demand to be danced to. For those new to Klezmer music this is an enjoyable and accessible selection, performed superbly by a talented ensemble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars like repetative fingers down a black board !, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
bought this for my mother for mothers day ...... what a mistake !

like status quo for jews ( sorry Quo fans) ........ same four chords over and over again plus the occassional out of tune drone or wail.

had to turn it off ofer enduring less than 15 mins and, needless top say really, would not recommend this album. : (
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sananski's Chicken, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
This album goes beyond the usual Kletzmer style into another realm. No Hava Negila or Fiddle on the Roof here, although there is a song about a drunken rabbi. The album brings in elements of music from Eastern Europe and around the Mediteranean. Every track is played with great musicianship and plenty of humour. Shekoyov (Bravo).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandanski's Chicken, 8 Feb 2013
By 
J. Harrower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
I love it. I listen to it in the studio as I paint (pictures) Still Klezmer but with a modern touch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cd, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Phillip Claremont (Jersey C.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandanski's Chicken (Audio CD)
I have already reviewed this..So keep up if you don't mind.Why do I have to write so much about nothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sandanski's Chicken
Sandanski's Chicken by She'koyokh Klezmer Ensemble (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews