Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece enhanced
Wavelength is a work of melodic rock and soul that ranks amongst Van Morrison ten best to this listener. The 1978 album has been enhanced by the addition of live versions of the title track and Kingdom Hall, recorded that same year at The Roxy in LA. The track Kingdom Hall is a full bodied rock song with a great hook and rousing vocals, Checkin' It Out a lilting mid-tempo...
Published on 30 Jan. 2008 by Peter Uys

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wavelength
There is no question that this sounds excellent. I bought it when it first came out and liked it, although I did not put it in my top few favourite Van albums. On hearing it again now, not having had a copy for several years I am disappointed. The performances seem rather lacklustre and uninspired compared to earlier albums. Some of the songs are definitely good when...
Published on 18 May 2009 by Mike Davey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece enhanced, 30 Jan. 2008
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wavelength (Audio CD)
Wavelength is a work of melodic rock and soul that ranks amongst Van Morrison ten best to this listener. The 1978 album has been enhanced by the addition of live versions of the title track and Kingdom Hall, recorded that same year at The Roxy in LA. The track Kingdom Hall is a full bodied rock song with a great hook and rousing vocals, Checkin' It Out a lilting mid-tempo ballad with baroque instrumental passages, Natalia a meandering love song.

Venice USA has a bouncy reggae rhythm, lovely organ and an addictive sing-along chorus, the slow ballad Lifetimes with its unusual instrumental mix is an extraordinary sonic experience whilst the title track with its handclaps and R&B vocals represents the artist at his most soulful. I love the guitar textures on Santa Fé/Beautiful Obsession, the brooding vocals on Hungry For Your Love and the intricate piano rolls on the mournful Take It Where You Find It, the most spiritual song here.

Because it is not experimental or any form of radical stylistic departure, Wavelength may not be considered a classic in the league of Astral Weeks, Moondance or Tupelo Honey, but it still deserves its five stars through and through. The two added tracks provide a window on Van at his live, atmospheric best. Other recent re-releases include Sense of Wonder and the aforementioned Tupelo Honey, both worth acquiring. These enhanced albums all include the lyrics and the original artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "All Inhibitions - Throw Them Away!", Ivan Advises On "Kingdom Hall" - And For This SUPERB Remaster - I Agree!, 2 Feb. 2008
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wavelength (Audio CD)
This is the 3rd or even 4th re-issue on CD of "Wavelenght" (released originally on Warner Brothers Records in October 1978) and it's the best version to date.
(Can it really be 30 years since I played this record to death in a Dublin bedsit! Yikes!!)

Tracks 1 to 9 make up the original album with Tracks 10 and 11 being previously unreleased live versions of "Kingdom Hall" (the opener on Side 1 of the LP) and "Wavelenght" (the opener on Side 2 of the LP) recorded on the 26 November 1978 at the Roxy Theatre in L.A. Both tracks feature the same band as the album sessions with KATIE KISSOON adding backing vocals to a speeded up "Kingdom Hall". My heart always sinks when I see live tracks as bonus material on CDs - they're usually poorly recorded, not any better than the original and act as a cheap way of suckering fans to purchase more of the same. But these live choices are not just apt; they're actually quite good - especially when the band let's rip on "Wavelenght". The recordings aren't exactly audiophile quality, but they are as spirited as the audience's response.

The upgraded booklet contains all the lyrics, and the inner sleeve of the original album with all of its detailed session lists, but disappointingly there's no history of where the album fits in, no new liner notes, nor any photographs. Really could have done better here boys.

But the best bit is the SOUND. The original analogue master tapes have been 96K/24 Bit digitally remastered by Tim Young at Metropolis Mastering in London for this 28 January 2008 release - and the sound is warm, full and very, very LOUD! Every instrument seems to be leaping out of the speakers and the effect is to make you almost double take on every single track. Stuff appears on each track that you haven't heard before. Great! And this is not a misery-guts Van album either. From the jaunty opener "Kingdom Hall", the whole album is "up". Speaking of "Kingdom Hall", it features a wonderful Synth Solo from Garth Hudson of The Band and every one of the nine tracks features the keyboard work of PETER BARDENS from CAMEL. The punch out of the tender and lovely "Hungry For Your Love" is fantastic, the remaster bringing out the rhythm section of PETER VAN HOOKE on Drums and MICKEY FEAT on Bass - it's Steely Dan tight, but without ever swamping the loveliness of the song. And the issue is mid-price too - I picked up my copy for £6 in Central London.

All in all, a great sounding re-issue and one I urge fans and the uninitiated to get stuck into pronto.

PS:
30 Van Morrison albums are re-issued in remastered form throughout 2008 and into early 2009. Each title contains an upgraded booklet; previously unreleased bonus tracks and all will be at mid-price. The releases are in 4 batches as follows:

28 January 2008 (7 titles)
Tupelo Honey (1971), It's Too Late To Stop Now (2 CD Live Set) (1974),
Wavelenght (1979), Into The Music (1979), A Sense Of Wonder (1985),
Avalon Sunset (1989) and Back On Top (1999)
(see SEPARATE REVIEWS for all 7)

30 June 2008 UK/1 & 8 July 2008 USA (8 titles)
Veedon Fleece (1974), Common One (1980), Inarticulate Speech Of The Heart (1983), Live At The Grand Opera House, Belfast (1984), No Guru, No Method, No Teacher (1986), Enlightenment (1990), A Night In San Francisco (2CD Live Set) (1994) and The Healing Game (1997)
(see also SEPARATE REVIEWS for "Veedon Fleece", "Inarticulate Speech Of The Heart", "Enlightenment", the live 2CD set "A Night In San Francisco, "Common One" and "No Guru, No Method, No Teacher")

September 2008 (7 titles)
Saint Dominic's Preview (1972), A Period Of Transition (1977), Beautiful Vision (1982), Poetic Champions Compose (1987), Hymns To The Silence (2CD Studio Set) (1991), How Long Has This Been Going On (Live At Ronnie Scott's) (1995) and Tell Me Something - The Songs Of Mose Allison (1996)

January 2009 (8 titles)
Hard Nose The Highway (1973), Irish Heartbeat (with The Chieftains) (1988),
Too Long In Exile (1993), Days Like This (1995), The Story Of Them (2CD Set) (1999), The Skiffle Sessions - Live In Belfast (with Lonnie Donegan & Chris Barber) (2000), Down The Road (2002) and What's Wrong With This Picture? (2003)

PPS:
Those hoping to see desperately needed sonic upgrades of his 1st and 2nd album masterpieces on Warner Bothers "Astral Weeks" (1968) and "Moondance" (1970) or even "His Band & The Street Choir" (late 1970) will be disappointed to hear that they're NOT in this re-issue campaign - on either side of the pond. "Astral Weeks" and "Moondance" in particular have both been languishing around on crappy-sounding non-remastered CDs for over 20 years now and they're glaringly obvious omissions in this supposedly 'extensive' re-issue campaign. These universally recognized masterpieces have long deserved 2CD DELUXE EDITION treatment (some tracks in remastered form are available across the 3 volumes of "Best Of"). However, I've recently been informed by a good source that all 3 are NOW AVAILABLE since June 2008 in JAPAN in RHINO REMASTERED form. See the excellent Japanese site CDJAPAN.CO.JP for details (worded in English).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wavelength, 18 May 2009
By 
Mike Davey (St Georges, Telford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wavelength (Audio CD)
There is no question that this sounds excellent. I bought it when it first came out and liked it, although I did not put it in my top few favourite Van albums. On hearing it again now, not having had a copy for several years I am disappointed. The performances seem rather lacklustre and uninspired compared to earlier albums. Some of the songs are definitely good when compared to his best - but somehow the arrangements and delivery let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY UNDERRATED, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wavelength (Audio CD)
this is probably one of the last cds that a van morrison fan will buy simply because you read so little about it. In my view however it is well worth purchasing,its very seventies in a good way ,very upbeat and certainly comparable with the best of his 80-90's stuff,although perhaps that is a bad example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van the Man rules, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wavelength (Audio CD)
Simply one of his best ever albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wavelength, 20 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wavelength (Audio CD)
bought after hearing the title song which is brillant rest of cd good but unlikely to play much of it again.Van sings well on it.Musically very late 70`s American
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wavelength
Wavelength by Van Morrison (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews