Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Concept Album
This album, stands out as probably my favourite W.A.S.P. release. Blackie Lawless' introspective look at himself using the character of 'Jonathan' is both gripping and disturbing. The songwriting on this album was the best yet, and to date, never been matched again. If I had any complaint it would be that the drums are a touch too loud in the mix, but hey, you can cope...
Published on 21 Mar 2003 by Mr. Dean R. Hughes

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars O.k. , but...
This is an o.k.album, but if you want to hear how to do it properly, listen to Tommy or Quardrophenia by the Who.
Published 22 months ago by R. Bos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Concept Album, 21 Mar 2003
This review is from: Crimson Idol (Audio CD)
This album, stands out as probably my favourite W.A.S.P. release. Blackie Lawless' introspective look at himself using the character of 'Jonathan' is both gripping and disturbing. The songwriting on this album was the best yet, and to date, never been matched again. If I had any complaint it would be that the drums are a touch too loud in the mix, but hey, you can cope with that! If you only buy one W.A.S.P. album, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this first time around?, 4 Dec 2009
By 
N. A. Davies (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) (Audio CD)
Well, I probably missed it due to not really rating this band. When I was a teenager I enjoyed the 'Animal, **** Like a beast' and 'Mean man' mainly to upset my folks and impress my friends. As I went from teenager to twenties to now late thirties I lost interest in this type of glam and shock rock, in favour of 'serious' metal.

By doing that I seem to have overlooked a real gem in Crimson Idol. Thoughtful, dynamic, well structured metal with a great story told out in a series of hard hitting metal and emotional ballads. The maturity in the song writing and performace is a joy to hear, and Lawless' voice, raw and heatfelt fits the bill perfectly. For me, Invisible Boy, The Idol, and The Great Misconception of Me, stand head and shoulders above what is a very strong collection of songs, that melded together make up a classic concept album.

There are comparisons, of course, with Tommy, and Quadrophenia, but that is not a critisim, Blackie Lawless is a massive Who fan, and he has taken the nucleous of how a concept album should fit together and then lay his heavy metal approach over the top...with devastating results.

This album joins my list of 'classics' - Dark Side, Quadrophenia, Hounds of Love, Sgt Peppers, Pet Sounds- it really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crimson Idol, 17 May 2009
By 
Harry (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) (Audio CD)
WASP were never known for being a thoughtful band, more concerned with shocking middle america than writing thought provoking lyrics and great songs (although thats not to say their dumb rock isn't enjoyable). Not the best basis for writing a concept album then.

However The Crimson Idol is surprisinly good. Sure the concept is a bit unoriginal - un loved boy becomes rockstar, conquers the world, is adored by all, however his parents refuse to accept him so he kills himself - but the strength of this album lies in the fact that its simply filled with really great songs. For me there are no real standout tracks (maybe Murders in the new morgue), they are all excellent. I also have to make a special mention of the drumming which is extremely powerful and innovative throughout the entire album. Blackies vocals are also great on this, he's really putting his all into it (I think this was originally planned as solo album so that might explain why)

If you are new to WASP get this first then if you like it get The Headless Children, which despite its awful title, is a great sleaze metal album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic metal masterpiece, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Crimson Idol [VINYL] (Vinyl)
When Blackie wrote this album, I don't think at the time he had any idea how many peoples lives he was impacting. It's a dark album, and it is a mirror into my own life in so many facets. I can never get enough listening to this mammoth album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars little bit of blackie, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) (Audio CD)
oh it took me back too the floral rock night in southport , didn't seem too long ago just left school all hair and boots and that was just the boys ... great cd , some old stuff just what the doctor ordered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must have album, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Idol [VINYL] (Vinyl)
What seperates WASP from many metal bands has always been Blackie Lawless's vocals. His powerful and unique voice, combined with his band's brand of heavy metal makes them a must have for any music lover. The crimson idol for me is the greatest concept album of all time. It is one of those albums where you sit back and listen to it from start to end. A true musical masterpiece about the rise and fall of a rockstar who only ever wanted to be understood and loved. The actual vinyl is red, and all the lyrics and notes are included. It sounded great on CD, it sounds amazing on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musical virtuosity and fast, well crafted songs., 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) (Audio CD)
Blackie Lawless, Frankie Banali, Bob Kulick; realistically this album could never be anything but superior WASP, although in real terms more a Lawless solo release. This album, next to the Headless Children, best personifies the WASP sound; excessive, free wheeling, and excellently played. Although the band never received the attention they deserved, sitting somewhat outside the LA party scene overseen by the likes of RATT, Poison and Motley Crue, WASP are always ambitious, which is personified in the Crimson Idol. Other reviews have covered the story in some detail, so all I will add is that it is a good platform for the album's excellent sound, much of which is down to the exceptional playing of the collective, with Banali's hollow, rolling drums a stand out. Indeed, for my money it contains some of the most memorable tracks of the period, with the pure anthem rock out of Chainsaw Charlie (who can forget the classic Lawless Kerrang cover), and the virtuoso ballad 'The Idol', not to mention a fun cover of When The Levee Breaks. WASP do have a habit of recycling arrangements, which was particularly evident in future releases, but if you want to hear them at their musical and creative peak, then get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Heavy Metal, 7 July 2013
By 
japc (Ericeira, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson Idol (Audio CD)
The emotion and musicianship that Lawless and friends have put in this record can hardly be surpassed.

The album flows between acoustic Hard Rock to Power Heavy Metal as an emotional rollercoaster.

Highly advised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) (Audio CD)
Wow! What a great album. If you're a WASP fan you will love this. Sounds great in the car and you must turn it up! There is a bonus of a live CD with this purchase. Its a 15th anniversary edition and it sounds as good as it did 15 years ago. Would highly recommend this to all WASP fans. Well worth the fiver I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W.A.S.P. The Crimson Idol., 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) (Audio CD)
This double C.D. is outstanding. A mix of both old and more recent material,this contains everything you could ever desire from Blackie and more. Not only will you be impressed by the music content,but this little gem also contains part 2 of the story of Jonathon, something not to be missed. The story tells of Blackie's past,a life which is full of wanting,yearning,loneliness and seperation. To understand his past,gives you the full capacity to truly understand and feel his music the way he intended it. A truly amazing man with such astounding talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition)
Crimson Idol (15th Anniversary edition) by W.A.S.P. (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews