Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars $20'000 well spent, 12 Nov 2008
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film after seeing the superb Facing The Giants. This is there first film (the latest Fireproof is out in the cinema's now). I knew it was supposed to be a lot rougher than the latter films, which it is, but you learn pretty quickly that Kendrick (Writer/Director/Star) never imagined that it would get this far. They basically got $20'000 and decided to make a movie as part of a local outreach programme. It then got taken up by TV stations and suddenly went global! There's no real actors, just members of the local church. Does this make it poor? Well, give it a go, sure it's not a hollywood film, but it deserves a watch.
The film is basically about a second hand car slaesman who's pretty unscupulous. His work life is rubbish, his marriage is going downhill fast and his relationship with his son is joining it. He's the worst kind of person in some ways, who knows he's doing the wrong thing but seems unable to lift a finger to put things right.
One day watching a message on local TV from the church he sometimes attends he gets challenged to 'get right with God'.
When he does he joins those who have Fantastic Adventures In Truting Him.

A great little movie that will inspire and encourage. Quality is like a cheap TV Movie but if you can see past that you'll find a real gem here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring film, 7 Feb 2009
By 
dradrianmkthomas (Bickley, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lovely film - I found it very thought provoking and pointing to the real meaning of life. The film has great message and it's also a good film. It's their first film and is not technically as polished as their two later films ("Facing the Giants" and "Fireproof"), however this adds to the charm for me. Do buy this film - warmly recommended. It's not many films that can portray goodness in a believable way. A truly special film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great film, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flywheel [DVD] (DVD)
Another great film with Alex Graham, This church manages to produce great films with a real message in them Amazing how this church can produce such quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The story is set in a used car lot, where we meet the owner, Jay Austen (Alex Kendrick), an unscrupulous and unhappy man. He cheats his customers and is a stranger to his wife and son. Then, a chance remark by one of his clients causes Jay to rethink his whole outlook on life.

This was the first of the four movies (so far) made by the Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Georgia, and like the others, it is touching and inspiring. The photography may not be polished, but Alex Kendrick's film is solid entertainment. He wrote, directed, produced it, starred in it, composed for it, and did the cinematography and editing. Except for the camera equipment, everything was donated by church members, many of whom appear on-screen in the large volunteer cast. Though they are amateurs, they are very good and believable.

This story of how a man is changed by God is a heartwarming one the whole family can enjoy together. The DVD extras telling about how the movie was made on a shoestring budget (only $20,000!) are fascinating. If you're a fan of the Sherwood movies, this is a must-have. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 7 Feb 2009
By 
dradrianmkthomas (Bickley, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lovely film - very thought provoking and pointing to the real meaning of life. A great message and it's also a great film. It's their first film and is not technically as polished as their two later films ("Facing the Giants" and "Fireproof") however this adds to the charm for me. Do buy this film - warmly recommended. It's not many films that can portray goodness in a believable way. A truly great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film with a great message, 29 Dec 2009
By 
A. Heinzel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We bought this film recently, expecting it to point out some ethical business principles from which we could learn. We found it surprisingly good and enjoyable even for the whole family. The film centers around a car selling business man and contains a wonderful message for family and business life. We think it to be inspirational and very recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good film ! I watched Facing the Giants and I wanted to know where it all started. This was like watching a home movie BUT I didnt notice towards the end because the story line was brillant. So true !
Enjoy the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good message, 15 Feb 2011
The story line is great, the acting is fine and the cinematography was probably okay for the situation as a first attempt. It is not distracting, but it is also not the best film quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flywheel DVD, 15 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic film a must for all Christians and non-christians alike. Follow a mans life and how his life gets better for knowing Christ and letting him into his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie, 14 Sep 2009
By 
smiff5 (london, england) - See all my reviews
A really great Christian movie about honesty and integrity. About being faithful to God's Word and reaping what you sow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flywheel [DVD]
Flywheel [DVD] (DVD - 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews