Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Classic 60`s US dramas.
I watched this series as a kid back in the 1960`s and was keen to see if had stood the test of time well. No fears on that score - yeah it is in black and white but it is still a very watchable series.
David Janssen stars as Dr Richard Kimble who has been convicted of murdering his wife despite the fact that he is innocent. En route to his death row prison a freak...
Published on 6 Oct 2008 by Ian Cameron

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars missing!
family and friends watched this series when it was first aired in the UK.
Unanimous agreement is that the pilot episode showed the arguement, the murdered wife, and the killer leaving the scene.
None of the re-runs of the series has shown this, which of course is a great dissappointment. I feel that Paramount should make some kind of effort to find this original...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by len


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Classic 60`s US dramas., 6 Oct 2008
By 
Ian Cameron (Darwen, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series as a kid back in the 1960`s and was keen to see if had stood the test of time well. No fears on that score - yeah it is in black and white but it is still a very watchable series.
David Janssen stars as Dr Richard Kimble who has been convicted of murdering his wife despite the fact that he is innocent. En route to his death row prison a freak rail accident allows him to escape from cop Lt Gerard (Barry Morse) who is escorting him to the prison, and go on the run. Each episode sees Kimble moving from place to place determined to avoid the clutches of Gerard who is pursuing him. A different cast of guest stars feature in each episode many of whom later became big names in their own right.
This box set contains the full 30 episodes from the 1st (of 4) series and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone - its first class entertainment from a bygone age. Great stuff !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which languages?, 29 Dec 2008
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
Sub-titles are in English for the Hearing Impaired, English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Norwegian and Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore, 14 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. C. M. Leigh "CL" (Derbyshire. GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoy romantic TV this is exactly what you should see. Each episode brings a new moral dilemma for Kimble(David Janssen), and just how he deals with such, makes for a compelling 50minutes. Programs today rarely make me feel the way this series made me feel.

For instance in one episode Kimble saves the town's children from a school-bus fire. Whilst recovering from the blast of this fire, Kimble's identity is discovered(convicted murderer), and he's taken to the local police station, to await the arrival of lieutenant Gerard.

Then in a scene that will bring tears to your eyes, the local families knowing Kimble's identity, queue up outside his cell to shake his hand, and thank him for saving their children. It is here the final twist occur es.

If you loved the original Star Trek series, you'll love this too. It's real value is far higher than the 20 or so I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent series, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
Year one and two were the best of the series. The transfer quality is very good, and the price made it a much better deal than the years following.

This was made at a time when they could make TV series for very little and still have real quality overall, simply because they tried - for the most part to have good writing - as opposed to now.

I would recommend it to anyone who remembers the series, as it reminds one of just how good it was - rather than relying on one's rose coloured memories.

The star truly made the series, with his sensitive portrayal of the character. His idealism is out of place these days. He deserved to become a star as a result. It was a pity he died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and best, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
David Janssen is excellent in his portrayal of Dr Richard Kimble. He maintains that 'haunted hunted' look that served him so well thoughout the series in the early 60's. Its in black and white but don't let that put you off - the picture quality is first rate, with good sub titling and it is reasonably priced! It meant that watching this series was a pleasure all over again.
This is currently the only "Fugitive" available for Region 2 viewing so I'm hoping there are more to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST THE FUGITIVE ON DVD, 24 Sep 2008
By 
h (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
Gerard goes in to the hospital room where kimble is-
Gerard:Its been along time Kimble!
Kimble: Not long enough
Gerard: Were going to take you in
Kimble: What you going to do, strap me to the fender of your car!

Thanks to my dad recording the repeats I saw a few episodes. But it would be many many years before I would catch up with The Fugitive and buy a few video's and then a even longer for CBS to release the dvd box set! But the wait has been worth while, although there is one or two that isn't as good, the rest of the episodes are excellent even after all this time and well worth buying,and you will be totally obsessed watching them as Gerard as catching THE FUGITIVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fugitive season 1, 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
The Fugitive is a jewel from TV's so called "golden era".The show started in 1963 and ended in 1967 running for 4 seasons in total.This dvd release of season 1 is fantastic for it's picture and audio quality given it's vintage and the original score appears intact.I only hope that when season 2 is released over here,CBS issue the discs with the original soundtrack as well - this is an issue that has caused uproar in the USA.

Regardless of it's age The Fugitive season 1 is still thoroughly good entertainment and well worth it's modest cost.
Roll on season 2 - WITH ORIGINAL SCORE PLEASE!!!!

( I do also hope that Naked City which ran from 1958 - 1963 totalling 4 season's is forthcoming soon as well.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC 60'S SHOW, 10 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
Remember this show from my childhood and wondered does it still hold up.Well having just watched all 30 episodes on 8 dvd's i would say it does.Essentially it's like a long chase movie,richard kimble(david janssen) forever trying to stay ahead of the law.Thers's the usual array of guest stars,telly savalas,leslie nielsen etc.If your a fan of the show from years ago you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fugitive, 7 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
It is about a convicted murderer on the run. A crime he did not commit but convicted. In a way victim of the judicial system.
Most people could easily identify with Dr Kimble (David Janssen) as he looks totally innocent of any crime. He is a good guy and wherever he goes, he touches the people's life in a best sense. But he has to run and that is why he is the greatest fugitive that ever was.
I watched it in black & white TV and the DVDs are good value for money. It is a good story that good and bad are really clear so no place to doubt. And I like it because of its premise and certainty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tv show ever, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this as a kid & I'm enjoying it as much now as I did then. To me the best tv series ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fugitive - Season 1 [Complete] Volumes 1 & 2 [1963] [DVD]
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews