Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars11
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2009
This film starts off with a brutal tour de force where a woman escapes from the cellar she is being held captive and makes a desperate ultimately futile bid for freedom. This an especially stark way for a film to start.
The film then shifts focus to her captor as he stalks and traps his next victim. These scenes are especially creepy, and creates quite a feeling on unease.
The main bulk of the film focuses on the relationship between prisoner and captor, as psychotic Herman(James DuMont) and terrified Rudy(Michelle Tomlinson) play mind games with eachother. All well and good, but in my opinion the psychological complexities could have been explored further, and I would have liked more of an explanation of how Herman has become such a monster. Still, its a constantly involving, tense struggle of wills and desires, and although its all a little bit grim and grimy, the performances of the two leads hold the film together.
The best bit-Herman getting a little bit upset with two bible bashers interrupting his murderous antics.
An interesting film if not very original. 3 out of 5
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In our opening scene we have a bloody fully clothed woman being hunted down by a man in his pajamas. Herman (James DuMont) is a connoisseur who collects only the finest in female parts. He quickly moves unto the next female, Rudy (Michelle Tomlinson) who must psychologically battle her captor in order to get released, all the while attempting to stay on Herman's good side and battling nightmares.

Okay. That's it for 85 minutes.

Herman is a balding middle aged man, who is socially inept. Rudy is a party animal lesbian The film is more of a thriller than horror. Once the woman is in the box, it seems like it takes forever for something to happen. Hey! Those clothes are wet!

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex. Near nudity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Dire on so many levels it's hard to know where to begin. We could talk about the terrible unconvincing acting by all three leads. Or maybe the fact the cellar is soundproof but Herman can her Rudy calling his name from the kitchen. There's so much to go on but the bottom line is it's not gory, horrific, scary, frightening or remotely engaging or believable on any level. Even the gratuitous woman kept in underwear trope is just meh.
Total waste of time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Such potential, such a miss. The plot has all sorts of opportunities for the film to excel and they are all missed. The acting is fair, given the direction and the script.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
This is a really well thought out film. The photography and directing is excellent. You won't be disappointed!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
I SPENT THE WHOLE TIME WONDERING WHERE THE CELLAR DOOR, OR WHEN THE CELLAR DOOR WAS GOING TO MAKE ITS ENTRANCE, BECAUSE ALL I COULD SEE WAS A CAGE, BIG ENOUGH TO HOLD A HUMAN BEING- A WOMAN- AND A REALLY WEIRD MAN WHO SCARED HER TO BITS...YOU DID NOT KNOW WHAT HE WAS GOING TO DO NEXT. IT WAS GOOD TO WATCH, WITH A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF SUSPENCE...WONDERING WHEN, OR IF SHE WAS GOING TO BE ABLE TO ESCAPE.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
The story is both pretty simple and pretty unoriginal Leaving that aside I've seen worse and the acting - particularly Michelle Tomlinson - and direction weren't bad,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
"The Collector" might have been a more apt title for this film. The cellar door hardly makes an
appearance at all, and has no evident significance. HOWEVER, this guy is a collector like you've never come across
before. He keeps young women captive in his cellar, enclosed in a makeshift cage.Only one at a time I might add.
The film opens with one such captive making a break for freedom - all to no avail. Then, after stalking another
would be resident of his cellar/cage we get down to business. Now this is where his weird,(obsessive?)collecting
habit comes to the fore. He wants samples of (are you ready for this?) Blood,urine, faeces and even used
sanitary towels.All of this he stores in glass jars, why, we are not told, but the mind boggles a little.
Of course, he's sexually repressed which leads to some interesting mind games between him and his captive.
He's also totally phsycotic, which is shown marvelously when he loses his rag with a couple of bible punchers
who definitely rang the wrong doorbell!
The acting from the two protagonists I thought excellent, which is not always the case in these B film horrors.
I would take issue with the makeup person,who allows our heroine to sport a nice shade of pink lipstick throughout, regardless of her tribulations.This is just a minor point. All in all I enjoyed this, and would have added another star if the plot had developed a little more and given a hint of why Herman got to this state.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Appalling acting. Pathetic story line. Unconvincing gore and make up. Waste of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Extremely gory but a good film for us that like movies like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.