Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Origin Revisited
Bit of a shock this one after just watching Justice League Unlimited. At the start I thought I was watching Samurai Jack. The animation takes a little getting used to, but as a comics fan I soon realised I had a gold nugget here.
The series is set in the mid Fifties at the start of the so-called Silver Age of comics where many of the characters of the Justice League...
Published on 1 Mar. 2008 by C. A. Kilgour

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started off so well...
DC's Animated offerings have long boasted universally high production values and a general level of finish that can only be described as superb. On a deeper level, however, the quality of their output has varied enormously. At its best, their material easily holds its own against even the most intelligent programming made for "grown up" TV. But there have also been rather...
Published 4 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Origin Revisited, 1 Mar. 2008
By 
C. A. Kilgour "McCulloch" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bit of a shock this one after just watching Justice League Unlimited. At the start I thought I was watching Samurai Jack. The animation takes a little getting used to, but as a comics fan I soon realised I had a gold nugget here.
The series is set in the mid Fifties at the start of the so-called Silver Age of comics where many of the characters of the Justice League began their careers, and was quite faithful to the comics of the era, with the origins of Green Lantern and J'onn J'onzz being well depicted. It also featured most other characters of that period, most notably for me Ace, from the yet to be formed Challengers of the Unknown, and scientist Ray Palmer as the future Atom.
I also liked the political background in which the story was set, and although not too impressed with the threat itself,there was enough going on and plenty of action for the film to be a satisfying experience.
I would recommend this to any fan of sixties comics. I can see no continuity with the newer series however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Age, 10 July 2009
By 
Allan Benzies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great animated movie. I am a big DC comic fan but I haven't read the graphic novels of New Frontier but after watching this I will. Its a great homage to the 50's DC comics which is why the cover is so cheesy. We get to see Batman as he first looked in the comics and later adapt after Robin joins him. The story paints the main three heroes (Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman) as the iconic heroes they are. The stories follows the stories of The Green Lantern, Martian Man Hunter and the Flash. Each character has their own journey to travel but it all ties in at the end.
If you are a DC fan this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the fun back into funny books, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Hobson (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the graphic novel on which this is based a couple of years ago, so I'm already a big fan of the story. Great pains have been taken by the animators to retain Darwyn Cooke's unique graphical style, which must have been very costly, but well worth it. If you're a DC comics fan who can remember those wacky 60's and 70's comics with that chequered black-and-white strip across the top, you'll know what the title of this review means. The main thing I remember is that these comics were fun, and that's what comes across in this movie. There are some serious, even sombre plot lines in there which do make the story more satisfying, but the overriding feeling is one of exhuberant optimism. More power to DC for acknowledging that you don't have to go "dark" to be entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started off so well..., 6 Oct. 2014
By 
DC's Animated offerings have long boasted universally high production values and a general level of finish that can only be described as superb. On a deeper level, however, the quality of their output has varied enormously. At its best, their material easily holds its own against even the most intelligent programming made for "grown up" TV. But there have also been rather disappointing efforts that, as much as it pains me to say so, really were just for kids.

This one starts off extremely well. The story is set in the mid 20th century, with cold war paranoia at its height. Even superheroes are not immune, and as a result we find ourselves entering into a complex and compelling world with real murkiness in its shadows. Conflicts simmer and seethe beneath the surface, threatening to erupt at any moment. Much is merely suggested or hinted at. I was especially impressed by how well the writers, actors, and animators were together able to create a sense of depth across such a wide array of characters.

The film is also remarkable for its departure from the canonical style of drawing first laid down by Bruce Timm in Batman: The Animated Series. In its place we encounter a visual language that is very clearly intended to pay homage to the commercial art and architecture, and most especially the comic books, of the era in which The New Frontier itself is set. True, some of the Googie we find in the Las Vegas scenes has probably been misplaced by about a decade. But seriously, who cares? When something works as well as this does, I think we can forgive such minor acts of artistic license. As much as I admire that "canonical" style I mentioned earlier, what this film brought us was an amazing creation in its own right. So for quite a while I found it an extremely impressive piece of work. Up until about two thirds of the way through, I really thought it was going to be one of the great ones.

Unfortunately...

At a certain point the writers lost their way. I don't know whether they just plain lost their nerve, or if they truly did not know how to meaningfully resolve the conflicts they'd set in motion. Perhaps they just didn't have the stones of Alan Moore. But however you might choose to explain it, let's just say that at a certain point things got real simple and stayed that way.

A profound disappointment.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Justice League Movie Unlike Any Out There, 24 Feb. 2015
In the fifties, the world doesn’t know what to make of superheroes. Some of them are accepted and beloved, others not so much. When a mysterious entity known as The Center rises to thwart the planet, the core Justice Leaguers—Superman, Batman, Flash, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, and Martian Manhunter—must unite for the first time to stop what is seemingly an unstoppable threat.

Based on the best-selling graphic novel by Darwyn Cooke, Justice League: The New Frontier is unlike any Justice League movie out there. For starters, it’s a period piece. Nothing modern day here, with the story taking place between 1953 and 1960. Even more so, it’s art direction is based on Cooke’s art from the graphic novel, where each character was drawn in a very forties-style way: simple, with minimal muscle and heavy lines for eyes. No bodybuilding superheroes in this flick. And, of course, all the backgrounds, supporting cast and tech in the film were all time-appropriate as well. Even the “advanced tech” in the film was old school in its presentation and style.

The story was good—very much an origin story for the Justice League, with the overarching origin story being that of Green Lantern—and each character was faithful to their source material. The pacing was a bit slow at times, with lots of talking—there were a few moments where I was, like, “Get on with it!”—but at the same time, it being a period piece, TV and movies back then had lots of talking, too.

Not that talking is a bad thing. Just wished for a few more fast-paced sequences—not necessarily violence or fighting—to move things along.

Warner Bros. and DC Comics are amazing at their direct-to-market animated features, each one meant to stand on its own instead of where one story feeds off another. By doing that, they pick and choose the best graphic novels to adapt and don’t have to worry about the baggage of continuity as a result. Doing Justice League: The New Frontier afforded them an opportunity to do something wholly original and deliver something that modern day audiences haven’t seen in recent years: a superhero story that takes place in the past. After watching this, I wish someone in Hollywood would do a live action version of Superman or Flash or whoever, but set it in the past. You can still be true to the characters, as this story has shown, but give something fresh at the same time and, from a marketing and creative standpoint, give something original as a result.

Justice League: The New Frontier is a fantastic movie, and for those who want more of their favorite heroes but sometimes wish something new was done with them, then this is the flick for you.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite JLA Animation EVER!, 4 May 2014
Definitely not your typical "Current Look" at JLA but a brilliant "Throwback Look" from the 50's early 60's and I absolutely love it! The spectre of McCarthyism shines a surprising relevance on todays "Spy on the people" culture and the fears and divisions it can cause ... The "We the people can win when we stand together ..." may seem a little cheesy to todays audience but to quote Agent Coulson, "With everything that's happening, the things that are about to come to light, people might just need a little old-fashioned."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and constructed story., 29 May 2014
Excellent story-telling. A very well constructed story having all the various DC characters together. Great to see the heroes portrayed with all their weaknesses as well as their strengths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for younger viewers, 30 Aug. 2008
Set in the middle of McCarthy's 'red scare', with a mysterious (and mostly unseen) force as the main villain/macguffin this is aimed at baby boomers who read DC comics in the 50s & 60s, not today's JLU fans.

The actual story is a little slow, but the voice acting, characterization and (once you get used to it) retro-looking animation all add up to a great movie that's a warm bath of nostalgic fun for any comics fan born between (say) 1955 and 1965
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it still could use wider range of dc animations ..., 2 Nov. 2014
loved it still could use wider range of dc animations from cartoon network for free so it attracts more people to amzon than netflix where you have to rent them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story set in the early days of the Justice league, the animation gives it a different look to usual?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League: The New Frontier Special Edition [HD DVD] [2008] [US Import]
£14.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews