Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rousing Pirate camp at its best!
Fans of Bloom and Deep's Pirates of the Caribbean, should check out pirate camp is done by the old pro Burt Lancaster. This is one riotously funny movie with Burt Lancaster and partner Nick Cravat (they were real partners in a circus act, childhood pals, before breaking into film!) and they get to strut them stuff in this really great film. Lancaster and Cravat play...
Published on 15 Dec 2003 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality
I really like this film, but even for a DVD the picture quality was bad. Some DVD:s look so good that they're almost indistinguishable from a bluray, and some DVD:s look truly OK, but this DVD is hard to watch and makes your eyes tired. But it is possible that it looks OK if you're only watching it on a small, old TV.

I hope this nice film will get the...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Meretseger


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rousing Pirate camp at its best!, 15 Dec 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fans of Bloom and Deep's Pirates of the Caribbean, should check out pirate camp is done by the old pro Burt Lancaster. This is one riotously funny movie with Burt Lancaster and partner Nick Cravat (they were real partners in a circus act, childhood pals, before breaking into film!) and they get to strut them stuff in this really great film. Lancaster and Cravat play Pirates, in the true tradition, and while tweaking the local authorities nose and robing them blind, they come across Consuelo (Eva Bartok). She is the daughter of a local rebel who they are going to hang and she wants Lancaster to help free him. Tossing
James Hayter's absentminded Professor Prudence and Christopher Lee (an actual sword-fighter!! - watch Saruman in his younger days!!) you get all the perfect mix for slapstick humour at its best.
A long neglected classic and is fun for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a nice one, 21 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this as a 8 years old, it was great then and it's still a nice one after 20+ years. A family film.
No subtitles are available so english should be understood.
Audio and visual quality are not good though, but i think here the spirit of the film weights more and carries it through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality, 12 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this film, but even for a DVD the picture quality was bad. Some DVD:s look so good that they're almost indistinguishable from a bluray, and some DVD:s look truly OK, but this DVD is hard to watch and makes your eyes tired. But it is possible that it looks OK if you're only watching it on a small, old TV.

I hope this nice film will get the restoration it deserves, and gets to be released on bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best pirate film ever -, 2 April 2008
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Movies do not come any more swashbuckling than this one. Hey, we have pirates, the Caribbean, villains, heroes, damsels in distress, sword fights, sea battles, inventions, acrobatics aplenty. And all delivered with Burt's legendary smile. It is not a genre spoof, but it does not take itself seriously either.

Watching this film one can perhaps understand why some people took a while to accept Burt Lancaster as a real actor. Not that his acting in this film is bad, but the excellent acrobatic skills we come to admire betray a different background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great swash buckling film, 2 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing this film as a kid and loving every moment of it, I managed to miss it everytime it was shown on TV thereafter. Despite searching high and low for it on DVD or VHS I couldn't find it through the usual channels. Increasingly frustrated, I finally bit the bullet and bought the film on Region 1 DVD from Canada.
Even after all these years, The Crimson Pirate lived upto expectations even with a large dollop of nostalgia. Thouroughly enjoyable performances by all, excellent comic timing and very athletic and agile stunts. This is Burt Lancaster at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling quality, 24 July 2010
By 
Mark A. Streets (Derby. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, but, this DVD is awful! It's cropped to 4:3, and, possibly, the most blurry film I own. Don't buy this version, it's a rip off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the crimson pirate, 29 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film. burt lancaster at his best.they dont make films like this anymore action packed with a twinkle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crimson Pirate, 22 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
The Crimson Pirate [1952]This has to be the original "Pirate of the Caribbean" movie,it has sll the thrills and romance and the laughs especially from Burt Lancaster when he dresses as a "maiden".Well worth the watch,hilarious,exciting and really funny to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yarrggg!, 22 May 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film for nostalgic purposes as I loved swashbuckling movies as a kid and its a great film too!

Starring Burt Lancaster and Nick Cravat as acrobatic pirates who along with their pirate crew are propositioned by the Spanish to capture the rebel El Libre for 50,000 Florins. But after meeting El Libre's daughter (Eva Bartok) Lancaster and Cravat (Capt Vallo aka The Crimson Pirate and Ojo) join El Libre's men in the revolution. Cue loads of brilliant stunts from Lancaster and Cravat as the were both circus partners years earlier until Lancaster injured himself. Good old chase scenes are the order of the day here with lots of sword fighting thrown in for good measure. A young Christopher Lee can be seen in action, he was in real life an excellent swordsman!

A swashbuckling old school pirate movie is what you get here, plenty of action, some great comedy scenes, proper pirates and Burt and Nick swinging, jumping and somersaulting all over the place and there's nowt wrong with that!

Did you know. . .

Nick Cravat played the gremlin on the aeroplane wing ripping the engine to bits in the famous twilight zone episode starring William Shatner called nightmare at 20,000ft! Also he often played deaf and dumb characters in movies (as in The Crimson Pirate) as his Brooklyn accent was so pronounced it sounded ridiculous in any scenes so they wouldn't let him speak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Purchase, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Dale Armstrong "Heron Books" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
Burt Lancaster ! What more is there to say ! A legend !
Forty four years of films with Birdman from Alcatraz topping them all.
These films will be watched for generations to come.
Worthy of a place in my DVD collection any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD]
The Crimson Pirate [1952] [DVD] by Richard Siodmak (DVD - 2008)
£4.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews