Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathes life into Austen.
I didn't bother watching this when it was originally on television, thinking that the Emma Thompson film was so good that nothing would match it and so I just wouldn't bother. Having watched the dvd under some persuasion from a friend, I'm quite ashamed of my ignorance and wish I'd watched it back then. This is simply an excellent adaptation which shows up faults I...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by Heidi Glocke

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD version disappointing
My review is more to do with the quality of the DVD than the film itself.
Having seen the mini serie on TV I bought the DVD as in some way I hope to
support these kind of productions this way. But I am very disappointed as
scenes have been cut out from the DVD version. Why on earth is this necessary?
And why isn't there a note mentioning this? In...
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by Wiebke


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 29 Mar 2010
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
It seems that directors have a hard time outstripping Ang Lee's adaptation (1996).
This version sticks more to the novel but walks on the steps of its prestigious
predecessor without much originality.
The actor playing Edward Ferrars makes HUGE efforts to act like Hugh Grant,which is a bit pathetic ...
But the reconstitution is brilliant and the supporting roles are remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable for a lazy Sunday afternoon, 25 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this version, it wasn't too long either and was easily absorbed in 3 episodes. I didn't expect my husband to watch it with me and he sat with me and started reading, however, whenever I looked over at him he was watching the dvd - a real testiment to how the sotry draws you in. The music is very good and evocative, it really adds to the drama and romance of the scenes. I thought all the actors were brilliantly cast, all likeable and gave the feeling of a period drama very well. I would recommend this as the price is so good, it lasts longer than a dumbed down 'chick flick' and you feel part of a wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sensible Production, 13 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Written by Jane Austen & adapted by Andrew (Pride & Prejudice) Davies, this couldn't go wrong. Using its
extended running time over the Emma Thompson movie version (3 hours insted of 2) there is more room for
character development of some of the minor parts (such as Elinor's youngest sister) which makes the
family more complete. The usual great performances from Janet McTeer as the Dashwood sisters' mother,
plus a suitably brooding romantic lead from David Morrissey. However, it's a (very slight) case of mis-
casting where Janet McTeer is concerned, since, if I were Colonel Brandon, I'd be calling to see her,
not her daughters. But that's just my own preference. Plus it's on special offer now, folks, so roll-up
for a great saving from Amazon.

Mike W.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to any version but this., 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
It is, of course, very rare for an adaptation of a classic to be really bad. But this is one of those times.
The people who have commisioned and made it clearly aren't Austin fans. In fact, on reading the story they were clearly annoyed that it wasn't the Mills & Boon. Good writers create quirky, realistic, flawed characters. Edward is a shy, simple man who ends up becoming a vicar. Colnel Brandon is crippled by (what would now be called) depression. I read an article where one of the writers of this admited that he didn't think they were macho enough so decided to have Edward chop logs in the rain. That's not an exaggeration.
The dialouge is incredibly simplistic and uncreative - like a primary school reading book. This was probably done in the cynical hope that schools would buy the DVD to show to GCSE students.
In possibly the worst scene John Dashwood (played by Mark Williams) casually tells the family about Colnel Brandon's past at a dinner table, completely ruining the drama of it.
Charity Wakefield's twee, silly, curly-haired Marianne has no place in any serious film. Other characters seem to have been cast at random.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Might be enjoyed more by those who haven't read the book, 28 Aug 2012
By 
D. Took "Debbie Took" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
The first chapter opens with a bit of soft porn that isn't in the book at all. In the first half hour there seemed to be so much dialogue that I didn't remember in the book that had to go and check. No, couldn't find it. After watching the brilliant Ang Lee film, this was a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family fun, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I love watching period dramas with my family and this one was great, arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sense and Sensibility Box Set., 4 Dec 2011
By 
Hugh C. Millar (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the set and to be watched again and again. It was delivered within 7days and has not disapointed. The quality is good and the rest of the family enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an ok way to pass the time one afternoon however it doesn't compare to the version with Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet. Having seen that version first I was forever comparing the actors and found the actors in this 2008 version lacking, hardly surprising when up against Thompson and Winslet. So not bad, but I would recommend the earlier version.
Sense And Sensibility (Collector's Edition) [1996] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sense and Sensibility, 20 Jan 2010
By 
D. Macintyre (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I was reading the book and wanted to get a visual record to better understand all the nuances of the story. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A VERY WELL-ACTED PRODUCTION!!!!, 26 Feb 2009
By 
A. Careful Reader (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This adaption by the BBC has some very good attributes.
Such beautiful women. Such dashing, honourable gentlemen. Such flowing, elegant costumes. Such rich, eloquent language, from such a talented, yet tragic writer, Miss Jane Austin!
The camera work in this production might not be the best, but the actors and actresses more than make up for that. They are all wonderful. Superb.
"A job well done," as Miss Austin, herself, might say of them.
Her story is great, of course, a true classic, and I love the Misses Dashwoods here so much - like all of Austin's heroins - the plight of middle-class women back then truly horrendous, yet producing such a great writer to highlight their struggle! Brilliant!
I give it THREE STARS, not two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Sense & Sensibility : Complete BBC Series [2008] [DVD]
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews