Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment
This marvelous, 7 disc! collectors set is an absolute must have IF you enjoy the plays of Noel Coward, The BBC productions are great with many well known actors, the art deco costuming and decor adds a wonderful touch. Terrific Value !!
Published 6 months ago by Aitken

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noel Coward DVD
I was a bit disappointed as most of the TV plays were not as good as they could have been and the acting a bit cardboard.
Being a 'Coward' fan I was looking forward to watching it but can say that I only enjoyed half of it.
The radio plays are excellent, and the stage production of 'Present Laughter' with the brilliant 'Donald Sinden' are top drawer so are many...
Published on 2 May 2010 by Avid Listener


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Aitken "film collector" (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This marvelous, 7 disc! collectors set is an absolute must have IF you enjoy the plays of Noel Coward, The BBC productions are great with many well known actors, the art deco costuming and decor adds a wonderful touch. Terrific Value !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must yet..., 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd set does contain some jewles which, not being obtainable elsewhere,will make it definitely worth buying for any Noel Coward fan. "Present laughter" and "Song at twilight" ,for instance, are real masterpieces served by unforgettable performances (Deborah Kerr, Donald Sinden and Paul Scofield). They alone should win over those still reluctant to acknowledge Noel Coward as a genius.
However, there is one major flaw to this BBC release. The audio-plays from the archives which are "offered" here as "bonuses" are actually not transferable to either ipod or cd and have to be listened to on a computer or tv set! It's a great shame since some of those are excellent indeed! The best of them being "Private Lives" with Stephen Fry and "Hay Fever" with Judi Dench. Both were previously released on audio-cassettes only and since the BBC has recently produced new radio versions of them, they're quite unlikely to be re-released on cd! Pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific set, 23 Aug 2008
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Noel Coward plays you'll love this set that contains some of the very best productions done of classics such as Private Lives and Hay Fever. Both with Penelope Keith in her element. Margaret Leighton, in the Vortex, gives a stunning performance. Other plays have outstanding actors such as Paul Scofield, Judy Dench, Deborah Kerr and Ian Holm. The set of eight playlets, entitled Tonight at 8.30 performed by a group of actors led by Joan Collins are surprisingly weak and boring. However, there are so many goodies on the seven DVDs the set is great value and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and yes you can listen to the plays elsewhere, 23 May 2010
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The collection as a whole is excellent and I reccomend any Noel Coward fan not to hesitate in buying this superb collection.
I too was dissapointed that the Radio Plays on the DVD's were in an odd format. It would have been so much better had the set been made up of DVD's and CD's as sitting down and needing to listen to the plays on one's TV seems a real waste of one's time.I solved the problem by playing the plays on my PC and letting my old cassette recorder put them onto Audio Cassettes for listening in my car and my walkman too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I spent a very happy long weekend watching these DVDs. I highly recommend them. Witty dialogue and lovely costumes. Heaven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noel Coward DVD, 2 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I was a bit disappointed as most of the TV plays were not as good as they could have been and the acting a bit cardboard.
Being a 'Coward' fan I was looking forward to watching it but can say that I only enjoyed half of it.
The radio plays are excellent, and the stage production of 'Present Laughter' with the brilliant 'Donald Sinden' are top drawer so are many of the 'shorts'.
If you are a fan of Noel Coward you will have to buy it as some of the material is only available on this boxed set, but you may only enjoy 50% of it, so be prepared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Noel Coward, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
DVD of Noel Coward

Excellent but very dated. The sound was below average. Some of the text was shortened. vStilolo good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat mixed collection of Noel Coward plays and adaptations, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I specially liked "Hay fever," "Tonight at 8:30," "Mrs. Capper's birthday," "What mad pursuit" and "Bon voyage." The others I liked significantly less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Noel Coward, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Noel Coward was uniquely outrageous and, although I did not see him perform live, I first heard him on a 33rpm disc in Noel Coward in Las Vegas. Anecdotes abound and it is a great pleasure to have such a collection available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely marvelous, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noel Coward Collection [DVD] (DVD)
one couldn't wish for better. A definitive collection well worth purchasing. I recommend this DVD collection to all Coward fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac639e58)

This product

Noel Coward Collection [DVD]
Noel Coward Collection [DVD] by Noel Coward (DVD - 2008)
18.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews