Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Grass takes a little time to grow
'Diamond Hoo Ha', Supergrass' sixth studio album, hasn't exactly been an easy album for me to love. The first time I listened to it, I wasn't impressed with it at all and found it to be the least charming and least accessible piece of work in Supergrass' career. Now, while that may still be the case, I have now, over time, appreciated this album as a stand-alone effort...
Published on 29 Dec 2008 by Andy Sweeney

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good.....but not a patch on the Supergrass of old
Supergrass have been around for years as one of the UK's best and most under-rated bands with a sound of their own - snappy tunes, smart lyrics and great riffs. Unfortunately this album seems to have changed a winning formula and whilst the sound is the same, the problem is that the new songs simply aren't as strong as their back catalogue. The album does get better with...
Published on 12 April 2008 by Lumpster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Grass takes a little time to grow, 29 Dec 2008
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
'Diamond Hoo Ha', Supergrass' sixth studio album, hasn't exactly been an easy album for me to love. The first time I listened to it, I wasn't impressed with it at all and found it to be the least charming and least accessible piece of work in Supergrass' career. Now, while that may still be the case, I have now, over time, appreciated this album as a stand-alone effort rather than as a record to slot comfortably in Supergrass' overall portfolio. It quite honestly works best if you can forget that 'Diamond Hoo Ha' is by Gaz, Mick and Danny. On the first couple of listens, this hits you hard and comes across as a big, loud, brash rock album, full of heavy, edgy riffs and seems to feature much less of the quirky, melodic charm which usually characterises a Supergrass release than normal. The opening (and title) track, for example, has more in common with 'Seven Nation Army' by The White Stripes than with anything from their first five albums. However, time and repeated listens reveals the appeal of 'Diamond Hoo Ha' as well as much of its subtleties and beauty.

Although many of their recent releases have been fairly mellow affairs, it isn't unheard of for the Oxford quartet to make heavy albums - it just hasn't happened for a while, that's all. There are, naturally, glimpses of the Supergrass of old - 'Rebel In You' features an instrumental break which is vintage 'grass, 'Return Of Inspiration' would have fit right in on the eponymous third album and 'Whisky & Green Tea' could easily have been written during the same era of 'Lenny' and 'Mansize Rooster'. A couple of pieces of brilliance and the undoubted highlights of this album for me are the dark 'When I Needed You', which is both powerful and beautiful at the same time and the magnificent last track 'Butterfly' which has all the hallmarks of a Supergrass classic. These tracks are worth the price of the album alone, but there is enough of this album to please and surprise old and new fans alike. Just don't expect to love it straight away. It's a grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A DIAMOND THAT GLITTERS, 30 Mar 2008
By 
James N. Boyce (BURY ST EDMUNDS,SUFFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
It's great to have Supergrass back with there joyful hook laden music.
This album contains some fantastic and memorable tracks.
I think it includes future classic songs like Rebel In You,Diamond Hoo Ha Man,Bad Blood and the majestic Butterfly.
Don't believe the naysayers who think they are past there best,this proves them wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars, 9 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
Now, had this been another band, this album would be easily a 5 star. It's just, all of Supergrass's albums deserve 5 stars!

I must say, at first I wasn't too excited about this one. I already had 4 of the songs (the best ones really) - Hoo ha, Rebel in you, Whiskey, and Bad Blood. And the others just didn't seem to come close. But after listening more, as with much other Supergrass stuff, they get better every listen (the opposite of most good stuff). I really don't know how they do it!

And each album (although with much variation) has a different sound and feel to the others. While 'I should Coco' is the crazy one, the Xray album is the darker one, and 'Road to Rouen' is the mellow one, this one is the glam-rocky one (not traditional glam-rock like Queen, but their own version of glam-rock).

Get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, 9 April 2008
By 
A. Boylett "andyboylett" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
To echo a lot of the reviews on this page - this is a real return to form for Supergrass, taking them back to the energetic youth of their first 2 albums - and how much better they sound for it.

The album contains 11 4 minute songs - all of which are cleverly constructed and hook laden to keep you coming back for more. There are big dollops of classic Bowie, T-Rex and The Kinks all over this record and the opening track does not so much give a nod towards The White Stripes, as headbutt them in the face! :-)

I've bought all Supergrass albums on the strength of the first 2, always hoping for something that would match up to the quality of "I Should Coco". On the whole, I've been more disappointed than impressed. This record however offers the same energy and positivity of that first record while casting a more mature eye over their surroundings.

Perhaps if their other records had been more akin to this, Supergrass would be a much bigger force in the music world than they are today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supergrass still going strong !, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Michael Jones (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
I know this cd didn't chart as high as their others, but I actually think that it might be their best so far. I'm looking forward to their next album release in 2010 and I can certainly recommend that you buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glam Rock - Yeah Baby!, 24 Mar 2008
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
Supergrass are back following up from 2005's mellow 'Road to Rouen' album and are back with with a fresh glam rock sound.

The boy's all in their 30's now (even Gaz!) have outlasted most of there peers as you's will all know and are still creating great music.

This album has fresh sounds and returns to earlier roots mostly 'In It For The Money Era'. The single 'Diamond Hoo Ha' has a White Stripes feel to it and 'Bad Blood' has a darker sound much like 1999's single 'Mary'. Other stand out tracks include 'Whisky and Green Tea' which wouldn't look out of place on 'I Should Coco', 'When I Needed You', '345' which is similar to 2004 single 'Kiss of Life'. The album ends with the excellent 'Butterfly' which sounds similar to the end tracks on 'In It For The Money'.

In short this album has a fresh sound to it with a return to earlier roots and will not only please loyal Supergrass fans but will also be able to attract new fans.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently strong album, 14 May 2008
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
Supergrass have been producing consistently excellent for years and only a couple of listens will tell you this is pretty much as good any of their previous efforts. This marks album marks a return to the more energetic sound of their past albums, following the more mellow and mature Road To Rouen.

The two openers - Diamond Ho Ha Man and Bad Blood are both catchy and entertaining setting up the album perfectly. But things get better with Rebel In You which is infectiously bouncy and upbeat. When I Needed You is a darker affair and probably as Road To Rouen as you're going to get here. Some good rocky tracks are then followed by Ghost Of A Friend which is a catchy sixties-influenced number. Whiskey And Green Tea sees the silly side of Supergrass re-emerge and is very much Life On Other Planets territory. The final track, Butterfly is the stand-out track on the album and I would consider this to be as good as anything the Oxford band have ever come up with them - spine tingling stuff.

Supergrass have proven with this album that they are easily the most consistent and long living of any of the Britpop bands of old. Whatsmore, they clearly still have a few more albums in them. They continue to produce both technically excellent, fun, mature and great albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars With a hint of jangly Byrds and that "Dylan Grooves" attitude: All this appears right in the midst of the classic Grass magic., 24 Mar 2013
By 
Freidun Taravosh (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
Diamond Hoo Ha is yet another proof that these Oxford lads make up one of the most dynamic pop groups in the business . As a Self proclaimed funk rock outfit Supergrass are confident about their musicianship and it definatly shows here. - Nevertheless the music is not merely FUNK ROCK and it's far from your average Brit Pop.

Their latest outing provides the listener with a broad soundscape.

Chunky energetic rock opens the album - yet the sound is never hard or edgy in the sense that it looses it's right on flow. What continues to amaze when it comes to this group it's their versatile talent and especially their nack to get a bit of everything into their sound. The ultimate high points that demonstrate this are two tunes in Particular.

Ghost of a Friend is an amazing folk rock/funk rock cross over which mixes in climbing Zeppelin like passages with a hint of jangly Byrds and that "Dylan Grooves" attitude. All this appears right in the midst of the classic Grass magic. It also gives Danny his first vocal showcase this tune is so in the groove it can be opted for many repeated listens easily the reflective mood adds to the charm. I Personally think it should have opened the record. - had it been promoted by Parlophone as a single it could have been a huge hit - which would have been well deserving for this hard working act. Dynamic Dimension Pop also reaches new heights also on the gripping "Green tea" which deals with the bands literally jaw dropping fascination of China PR. Composed after being invited to play the amazing Beijing Pop festival. While Garreth narrates to the listener about "walking talking dogs who do karate moves". we get treated with a really fly l exquisite arrangement that blends the typical folk music of China PR with gripping People's Army like Parade music that provides the foundation. A trademark Supergrass funk rock show down serves as the superstructure - to speak in Marxist/scientific socialism terminology and speaking of which it's a fascinating fusion quite frankly a definite Synthesis of the two styles which brings Pop to a totally new level.

On the Diamond Hoo Ha LP The band gets all of these things together.

While the albums two opening tracks lack the art like touches of the previous outing one should not make a mistake in thinking of this album as just another rock album- as this would be a very hasty judgement. Within this album lies many touches of artistic brilliance apart from the brilliant rock tunes. "The return of..." serves an extra notice for the disco - jingle jangle cross over charm that literally brings inspiration back to everyone who listens. The enthusiastic backing harmonies are not merely Beatles inspired as some reviews like to note - In truth supergrass easily surpass that legendary band in terms of execution style. In one simple stroke bring this sound to a new dimension. Being 60's Rock n Roll band first and foremost the beatles never engaged the realms of funk and disco, in a way that's only natural for Supergrass.

Before ending I would like to say that If someone thought "Road" or the self titled LP where though ones to get into because of that drawn back, mellow setting be advised to know that "Diamond" is quite a different kind of album. Thankfully that feel is not totally gone as The Diamond LP still has that cozy mellow lingering touch spread out a little here and there - which I am very fond of myself.

The above mentioned manifests itself most notably on "When I Needed You" which follows the funky rave up confidence booster "Rebel in You" perfectly. The Chorus of the aforementioned rave up ( which was also released as a single to launch the Indie Label Supergrass records) Hands down your beautiful is simply a very apt description for the entire LP. The album is well serving and easy to access for any music lower regardless if you like the mellow flowing artistic Grass, the highly energetic or the laid back funky.
These guys can pull it all of - After all these years.

The Diamond LP is a great testament of this fact.

Quite like Blur It's hard to find a Genre tag that does this great band justice as their sound is very broad and versatile. One things for sure however it's right down solid and they bring it all together regardless what you call it - hence they remain my favourite band. Timeless!

Highlights: "Green Tea" and "Ghost of a Friend"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the almighty Supergrass strike again...., 10 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
Long after many people had forgotten about Supergrass following their debut album, they are still churning out awesome albums. The last was a slower lennon-esque piece of awesome songwriting quality. This latest example shows that they can also play more mainstream indie-pop to a tee. Long may they rule the world :)This album has me playing air-guitar more than most :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album Yet!, 29 Mar 2008
This review is from: Diamond Hoo Ha (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of these guys, and this album proves why they are one of the best UK bands around.

It rocks, bigger better sounds than ever. I like their mellow stuff on Road to Rouen, but this album shows where Supergrass strengths are.

5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamond Hoo Ha
Diamond Hoo Ha by Supergrass (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews