Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The All Time Greats
'Pacific Ocean Blue' is a cult classic which lives up to its reputation. It's lush, heartfelt, emotionally stirring and unique. This superb re-release does justice to an extraordinarily good album which has been commercially unavailable for a surprisingly long time.

The packaging is lavish - a fold-out digipak style slipcase which reproduces all the original...
Published on 16 Jun 2008 by Mr. Robert J. Fawcett

versus
20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So much potential - 'Classic' status debatable
Musically, Dennis Wilson displayed so much potential that he could have been Brian's little helper during the 1970's. Brian was slowly recovering from his 60's burn-out, but he was still largely out of the creative picture. Pacific Ocean Blue shows that Dennis had a remarkable melodic and harmonic facility. However, the lyrics are at Mike Love TM/Monkees/Melanie level...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by Ms. Felicia Davis-burden


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't beleive the hype!, 1 Mar 2005
This review is from: Pacific Ocean Blue (Audio CD)
If this album were not as super-rare as it is then it would not have half the kudos it holds today. There's nothing near as good as the songs Dennis did for the B-boys and the whole thing is so gloopy and syrupy, with mogadon piano playing & sweeping strings. Put that together with a voice that is like Tom Waits without the character and you have something very less than substantial.
Wait for it to come out at 5, buy it, listen to it once & file away forever. I can see why Charles Manson was into it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steady on!, 29 Aug 2008
I think there's so much hyperbole written about this album that it really needs to be balanced a bit.

It's a pretty good album, but 'Genius'?? I think that's a bit strong. If I came across this album without hearing anything about it beforehand I'd think it was pretty good but anyone reading any of the gushing praise heaped on it here or elsewhere is bound to be disappointed.

If you like Beach Boys circa Holland/Surf's Up then you'll enjoy it. Just don't buy it expecting The Holy Grail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there's very little to say,if you have a soul and a functioning eardrum-buy it, 12 April 2007
there are a growing number of ppl who think that with this album and (the never officialy released)bamboo Dennis proved himself a genuine rival to brian as the main talent of the beach boys.enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing to say the least!!, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Alan D. Evans "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this last summer after reading some amazing reviews about it, I put it on my Ipod and went to the park with Jack my dog expecting a beautiful uplifting album like Holland or Surfs up!
But all I heard was a growly old drug addict groaning his way though some boring tuneless dribble for getting on for two hours!!
Sorry dennis but I really do not like this album, maybe I'll try it again in a little while but for now I'll listen to you singing harmonies with your family!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 17 Aug 2009
By 
its a disappointing compilation in my point of view. didnt know anything about d.wilson and expected much more.
boring songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why Dennis is not Brian and other Issues, 13 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Ocean Blue (Audio CD)
The best thing here is the title: Pacific Ocean Blue. Somehow much more prescient than Blue Pacific Ocean. And consequently, so much more disappointing as it turns out.

The instrumentation and textures are very Beach Boys / Brian Wilson, but the melodies are hard to spot and the whole thing is dour and self-absorbed. Also, above this review on the Amazon site is a track listing for two discs. My sealed recording has one disc - let me just check that - yep, it's just one disc, beginning with River Song and ending with Holy Man. So, what's that about?

If anyone saw the Dennis Wilson doc on BBC 4, you may not be surprised by this review: Dennis was after all, just a drummer in one of the most individual bands to come out of the West Coast, who inherited his brother's mental frailty, but not his genius for melody. RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews