Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who - Beneath the Surface - Should be sold as a Twin Pack
I had seen both Dr Who and the Silurians (1970) and The Sea Devils (1972) on VHS and I enjoyed them both. The acting from Jon Pertwee (The Third Doctor), Caroline Johns (Liz Shaw ), Nicholas Courtney (Brigader Lethbridge Stewart), Katy Manning (Jo Grant)and Roger Delgardo (The Master) was excellent. Both Producer and Scrip Editor (Barry Letts and Terrance Dicks) picked...
Published on 7 May 2011 by Mr G Turner

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No! No! Not the Myrka!!!
On the whole this is a very good set of stories. "Silurians" sets everything up. It is a well-crafted story where the 'invasion' theme is turned on its head and the "invaders" are the original 'owners' of Earth who are keen to reclaim it from the human Johnny-come-latelies. The Silurian costumes are a bit naff and the subterranean dinosaur isn't terribly scary, but...
Published on 3 April 2010 by Andrew Morton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who - Beneath the Surface - Should be sold as a Twin Pack, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen both Dr Who and the Silurians (1970) and The Sea Devils (1972) on VHS and I enjoyed them both. The acting from Jon Pertwee (The Third Doctor), Caroline Johns (Liz Shaw ), Nicholas Courtney (Brigader Lethbridge Stewart), Katy Manning (Jo Grant)and Roger Delgardo (The Master) was excellent. Both Producer and Scrip Editor (Barry Letts and Terrance Dicks) picked the right supporting cast and characters in both the two Jon Pertwee stories, such as Peter Myles (Dr Lawerance), Fulton MacKay (Dr Quinn), Norman Jones (Major Baker), Jeffrey Palmer (Masters) Hugh Morton (Colonal Trenchard), Edwin Richfield (Captain Hart), June Murphy (Jane Blyth) and the actors who played the Silurians and The Sea Devils are brilliantly acted and play their parts with great passion and panche. As the Third Doctor stated that it doesn't matter if you have green skin you can share the planet and live in harmony with both human, silurian and sea devils, but its always the same you get some silurians, sea devils, or a renegade time lord (The Master) who do not want peace and alway throws a spanner in the works.

I had to knock off a star due to the 1984 Dr Who Peter Davison adventure The Warriors of the Deep. This is worst story that ever came out the Peter Davison era and a waste of space. Peter Davison 1st and the first two stories from his 2nd series (Arc of Infinity and Snakedance) as the Doctor where his best. This should have been a twin pack displaying Jon Pertwee Dr Who at his best. We get two outstanding adventures and one totally embarrisment at the end. My advice is to display both Dr Who and the Silurians and the Sea Devils and hide the Warriors from the Deep along with Silver Nemesis (Out of sight, out of mind)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two out of three ain't bad, 19 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
Another Who boxset so here we go...

The Silurians. Classic Pertwee and possibly one of the darkest stories of that era. The real strength of this story lies in the beautiful parallels between Mankind and the Silurians. The Doctor and the elder Silurian leader have the wisdom & know that the two races can happily co-exist, but unfortunately they are backed up by headstrong idiots who kill first, ask questions later. This is one of Pertwee's finest performances & he is ably backed up by a strong supporting cast, especially the joy that is Fulton MacKay (who of course so nearly became the Doctor himself). The Silurian costumes are a bit clunky but do the job, their presence strengthened by their hyped-uped somewhat demented voices. To top it all off, no-one can say Silurian like Pertwee.

Sea Devils. Amazing. It is right up there with Spearhead for best Pertwee storyline. The most striking aspect is the Sea Devils themselves. Blimey, they could SHIFT. How often has a Who monster been turned into a laughing stock because it drags itself along slower than a one legged tortoise? Not these guys! They are a genuine threat and look fantastic, especially when rising out of the sea & raiding the naval base. The co-operation of the navy and the huge amount of location filming really help add an air of authenticity to the story, whilst the doorless 2CVs & oddly uniformed soldiers just give that bizzarre & uncomfortable slant. Again, the cast is flawless, but Roger Delgado still manages to stand out with a captivating performance. And then there's the soundtrack. Yes, insane power electronics that out-weird half the Warp back catalogue! Just the complete Who package.

Warriors of the Deep. Yes, the Davison story lets the side down YET again. Davison himself is fine, but the script is weak & uninspiring and the whole batch of episodes are just, well, BEIGE! There are huge continuity errors for starters. The big offender runs as follows... In the first Pertwee story, the Silurians don't call themselves Silurians, it is merely the name of the period they are believed to orignate from. Indeed, in Sea Devils the Doctor informs Jo that Silurians was probably the wrong name to give them. So why are they waddling around in Warriors declaring themselves Silurians? Ditto the Sea Devils. Again, this is merely the nickname given to them by unsuspecting nautical casualties. The costume update is rubbish, the Seas Devils especially now lumber uninspiringly around the place, and the Silurians are too rubbery. Then there's the "legendary" Myrka. Yes, it really is a pantomime horse manned by the men who were Dobbin in Rentaghost. The cast is pretty uninspired, but as with many Davison stories they've not got the material to work with. Furniture advertising legend Tom Adams does do a solid job as Vorshack, but he's the only one that sticks in the memory past the end titles. BOO!

Extras maintain the usual Who standards, laods of in depth insightful documentaries & little oddities. Well worth investing in for The Silurians, Sea Devils and a free doorstop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silurians/Sea Devils vs The Third & Fifth Doctor's, 22 Mar. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
The Silurians 7 episode adventure, Running time 170 minutes.
The Sea Devils 6 episode adventure, Running time 146 minutes.
Warriors Of The Deep 4 episode adventure, Running time 99 minutes.

Extras, Commentaries, Documentaries, Recolouring the Silurians, Photo Gallery, Trailer, Subtitles.

Trivia.
1)Geoffrey Palmer features in The Silurians as Masters & also appears in the Third Doctor story The Mutants & the Tenth Doctor's Voyage Of The Dammed.
2)Paul Darrow features in the Silurians as Captain Hawkins & also starred as Tekker in Sixth Doctor adventure Timelash but is better known as Kerr Avon in the 1970's/80's Sci-fi classic Blakes 7.
3)The Master is incarcerated in the Sea Devils due to his evil schemes of raising Azrel as seen in The Daemons.
4)The Sea Devils are the Silurians cousins.
5)Ingrid Pitt features in Warriors Of The Deep as Solow, Pitt also appeared in Third Doctor adventure The Time Monster & co wrote a Sixth Doctor Lost Story recently released on audio by Big Finish Productions called The Macros.
6)Peter Miles appears in the Silurians as Doctor Lawrence also starred in Third Doctor adventure Invasion Of The Dinosaurs, But is best known as Davros number One Nyder in Fourth Doctor classic Genesis Of The Daleks & the I Davros mini series from Big Finish Productions.

The Silurians.
The Third Doctor & Liz Shaw are summoned to Wendy Moor Research Centre by the Brigader were several staff member's have suffered Nervous breakdowns & a amphibious species older than mankind is awaking from it's hibernation intent on ruling planet earth once more & annihilating mankind by using a deadly plague.

Can the Doctor & Liz find a peaceful outcome with the Silurians & find a antidote to combat the deadly plague & save mankind from annihilation?

Timelord Thoughts.
One of my favourite Third Doctor story's, I loved these earth based adventures & UNIT story's as they had a realistic tone to them making the threat seems scarier somehow.

Jon Pertwee is on great form as the Doctor in only his second adventure & the Silurians here are a intriguing advisory & there is a great twist to this story especially it's shock ending.

This is a excellent yet chilling adventure written by the brilliant Malcom Hulke now completely recoloured & remastered looking & sounding better than ever.
*****Star's.

The Sea Devils.
The Doctor visits his arch enemy the Master on an island prison & becomes embroiled in a mystery of recent attacks by strange amphibious creatures.

Could the Doctor's arch nemesis the Master be controlling the Sea Devils who attack the island prison & rescue him to aid in his latest sinister scheme.

The Sea Devils eventually hijack a missing submarine & kidnap it's crew as they want there other colonies reawakened around the world so they can rule the earth once more.

The Doctor & Jo Grant try & rally a peaceful solution with the Sea Devils & avoid an all out assault with the Navy, But when the Navy attacks they are soon overwhelmed by the Sea Devils leaving the Doctor with no choice but to team up with his arch nemesis the Master & help the Sea Devils revive there remaining colonies or does he?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is my all time favourite Third Doctor story, Action packed, Superbly paced & a exciting story by writer Malcolm Hulke.

The late Jon Pertwee excells in this adventure as the dashing dandy Doctor & his chemistry in his scenes with the late Roger Delgado who was Jon Pertwee's real life best friend shows why this is the best Doctor/Master team up.

Add to the mix the sexy Jo Grant played brilliantly by Katy Manning who aids her friend the Doctor as Katy also shares a great chemestry with the late Jon Pertwee.

With a great villian in Roger Delgado's superb performance as the Master & a full on action packed drama makes this your classic Doctor Who adventure.
***** Star's.

Warriors Of The Deep.
The Fifth Doctor, Tegan & Turlough arrive at an undersea secret military base which is about to be attacked by two factions, The Silurians & The Sea Devils who invade the base prompting Icthar to use the final solution to destroy the two amphibious races which presents the Doctor with an conundrum prompting the Timelord to make a moral or immoral choice of ending this bloody conflict.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is the weakest of the three story's due partly to the Melkur which looks appalling even by the shows budgetary effects of 1984 as it drains the story of any tension that was built up until that point as it's obvious it's two men in a suit & would've benefited the story from being omitted from the script altogether.

Peter Davison does well with this fairly weak script but he alone cannot save this adventure, Tegan works reasonably well by getting involved in trying to aid the Doctor, But yet again Turlough is given little to do here & feels like a tagged on companion who's story arc ended with the tv story Enlightenment.

It's not the worst Doctor Who story as that title goes too Love & Monster's, But this story needed more work to shine & just becomes another average base under siege adventure.
***Star's.

Final Verdict.
Two classic story's & a average story make up this excellent Doctor Who dvd box set, Which includes the recoloured/remastered The Silurians & the digitally remastered Sea Devils & Warriors Of The Deep plus a wealth of superb extras that make this dvd boxset well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No! No! Not the Myrka!!!, 3 April 2010
By 
Andrew Morton "Andrew At The Croft" (Lockerbie Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
On the whole this is a very good set of stories. "Silurians" sets everything up. It is a well-crafted story where the 'invasion' theme is turned on its head and the "invaders" are the original 'owners' of Earth who are keen to reclaim it from the human Johnny-come-latelies. The Silurian costumes are a bit naff and the subterranean dinosaur isn't terribly scary, but whoever came up with the idea of the plague turned the Silurians from men with nasty claws and a funny-sounding middle eye into a believable threat. The script is snappy and the characters are well-realised and complex. We understand them. And what really works in this episode - as distinct from "Warriors Of The Deep" - is that neither side of the conflict is portrayed as monolithically good or evil

"Sea Devils" is another fine story. Truth to tell I was getting a bit fed up of The Master when this first aired, but seeing it now in isolation I am reminded how good Roger Delgado was. Again the story is well-crafted. If "Silurians" reflects the Cold War threat of the early 70s, the Master's provoking of hostilities perhaps refers to the many "proxy" wars of the period. This time the costumes are first-class and, like "Silurians" the lighting and sets are excellent. Kudos to Jon Pertwee for both episodes - he lets the moral pressures his character is under play across his face beautifully.

And then there's "Warriors Of The Deep". It's not that bad. Really. Honestly. The plot is fine and the acting is good - Mark Strickson in particular does a good job of carrying through the development of his character from self-centred to self-giving in a believable way. Tom Adams gives a fine performance. Characterisation in other areas, though, is weak. Ingrid Pitt and Ian McCulloch are wasted in roles that are little more than ciphers - they are "the Evil Empire" in its most cartoonish form. Where this - and so many other stories of this era - is let down is in the production. The lighting is too flat and too bright. The sets are obviously regarded as of secondary importance. The closing line is lost in a whole-set shot when it was screaming for a close up. And then there's the Myrca. When Dr Who fans gather together to talk about the cheap production values of 80s Who, eventually, in hushed tones, discussion will turn to The Myrka. There was no excuse for this - a pantomime horse is not a credible threat however you cut the videotape or however loudly actors scream.

And it's such a shame. I enjoyed so much of this set. I thoroughly enjoyed "Silurians" and "Sea Devils". I enjoyed lots of "Warriors". The extras are, as always, top-notch. But I can't ignore the slipshod scripting that meant I had no idea whatsoever why the characters of Solow and Nilson were doing what they were doing. And lose another star for the Myrka.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "This is our planet. We were here before man...", 12 Jan. 2008
By 
Hector Lerbioz (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
A bit of a mixed bag this boxset, featuring all the appearances in DR WHO of the Silurians and Sea Devils - the super-intelligent reptiles who ruled the Earth millions of years before the appearance of homo sapiens. However, the wealth of extras makes it a must have for the serious fan and especially so if you like your WHO Pertwee-flavoured.

DR WHO & THE SILURIANS, originally transmitted in 1970 is the strongest of the 3 serials. A dark, morally-ambiguous QUATERMASS inspired tale that improves on repeated viewings, even if Carey Blyton's weird musical score (using the medieval crumhorn) can sound a bit funny first time around. With an excellent cast including Fulton Mackay, Peter Miles and Geoffrey Palmer this often absorbing and intense tale of Jon Pertwee's Doctor trying to make peace between humanity and the Silurians living in Derbyshire caves is arguably one of the most grown-up scripts DR WHO had attempted at that time. Production values are mostly high (give or take the occasional dinosaur) and Timothy Combe's direction is excellent. The Silurians largely succeed here despite the obvious rubber suits, because of the low lighting and their bizarrely distorted voices. If the story has a fault, it is that it is probably an episode or 2 too long, so probably best not to view all 7 installments in one go. The superb documentary: WHAT LIES BENEATH, charting the fictional, political and social influences on the serial enhances the viewing experience and features not only surviving cast and crew members, but an unusual appearance from Roy Hattersley! Those interested in the more conventional "Making of..." extra are also catered for by GOING UNDERGROUND.

THE SEA DEVILS from 1972 is one of the most popular stories from the Pertwee period and though more comic-strip in tone and less weighty than its prequel, still entertains. The Sea Devils, turtle-headed marine cousins of the Silurians, are beautifully designed; possessed of spooky hissing voices and looking great especially when emerging from the ocean to menace humanity. But the story actually belongs to Roger Delgado's Master. Here, trying to stir up a war, the evil Time Lord has one of his finest hours. Whether viciously fencing with the Doctor, impersonating a Naval officer or shrewdly manipulating Clive Morton's Colonel Trenchard he proves why the character was so popular. The location filming, use of real naval hardware and personnel adds a welcome touch of authenticity to this action-heavy tale. Again the extras are a treat for fans (HELLO SAILOR sees an enthusiastic cast and crew looking back with obvious affection) and include some amateur camera footage from the time of the location filming.

In utter contrast to both of the above is the rather woeful WARRIORS OF THE DEEP from 1984 starring Peter Davison. The extras on this disc show a cast who are either ruefully amused by the production's shortcomings or possibly still slightly traumatised by the experience. A lack of studio time and an inadequate budget clearly did not help matters here, but add the embarrassment of ("Oh no!") the highly unconvincing Myrka creature and you have a minor disaster. Not only this, but the stiffer, redesigned Silurian and Sea Devil costumes simply don't work (you can see jeans and T-Shirts poking through the gaps in some shots) and the cast are far from sparkling. Tom Adams' Commander Vorshak is particularly wooden (witness the ludicrous moments of his death) and the less said about Ingrid Pitt the better. Sadly, all of these problems mask the good qualities of the story. The script, when taken on its own merits isn't that bad - a different cast along with more time and thought given to the show's realisation might have created a decent little yarn. Also Davison and Janet Fielding act their socks off. The last line: "There should have been another way!" is highly appropriate.

If you can overlook or even forgive WARRIORS OF THE DEEP's many faults (some people might love the silliness of the Myrka) then there is much to enjoy here. Commentaries, photo galleries etc are all included in the package and the newly remastered SILURIANS with its more sharply defined picture made this fanboy's month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic "Monster" Collection Finally Comes to DVD, 19 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
This 4 disc BBC DVD boxed set is a fine addition to the ever expanding range of Doctor Who serials available to buy nowadays. I have looked forward to this release for quite some time and when I received it in the post, I was not disappointed in the slightest. The first two stories in this release "Doctor Who and the Silurians" and "The Sea Devils" are timeless Pertwee classics, I cannot say the same about Peter Davison's "Warriors from the Deep", but still, its quite enjoyable.

The first Jon Pertwee story I ever saw was The Silurians and even though that was a UK Gold repeat in the late 90's, it started my love for the series. Jon Pertwee will forever be my favourite Doctor, I love all the rest but Jon stands out for me as something quite special. I have to admit that The Silurians is one of my all time personal favourites and along with a few other Pertwee serials are the pinnacle of Doctor Who's creative genius. Malcolm Hulke's 7 part script is brilliant, no doubt some of the best writing for the series. The Silurians is so adult in nature, that it really stands out as the start of a trend of mature Doctor Who serials and of course in a few years time, Doctor Who would descend into Gothic horror and much more adult themes. So I salute The Silurians as being the first ever Doctor Who serial that appeals more to adults than the kids.

Another point worth shouting about is the performances from the regulars and quest cast alike, by now Jon Pertwee's Doctor and Nic Courtney's Brigadier have settled down beautifully into their roles. The way in which the two bounce off one another is amusing and at times {like at the end of events} emotionally charged. Caroline John enjoys a great story here, Hulke using her as the audience relay to good effect, her role is much more substantial here than in her debut story "Spearhead from Space". Peter Miles puts in as ever a fantastically entertaining and sometimes over the top performance as the Director, his death scene was very charged and thrilling. Long time British acting talent Geoffrey Palmer puts in a very straight faced performance as Masters, the doomed permanent undersecretary from the Ministry. Doctor Who pop up Norman Jones appears as Major Baker, the security hot head who goes insane at the traitorous Doctor and ends up nearly destroying the world with the Silurians special killer virus. Overall then, the fine caliber of quest cast combined with the series regulars makes for impulsive viewing.

The BBC's Doctor Who Restoration Team have done a wonderful job in cleaning up, recolouring and remastering these episodes for a DVD release, the picture and sound is a massive improvement from the 1993 VHS release. The documentaries are both entertaining and informative, with some great voice work from Palmer, these special features ensure that this DVD of Doctor Who and the Silurians is one of the best released thus far. Highly recommended.

1972's The Sea Devils is a more improved version of the previous lizard outing "The Silurians", I have always had a fondness for this truly classic story, it is no doubt the Master's best serial and enters the top 10 Doctor Who serials ever for me. Everything about "The Sea Devils" exudes expense, the location filming is some of the best shot for the show and Malcolm Clarke's incidental music is thrilling, I know his music was not well received by some of the production team back in the day but still, his use of electronic music is used perfectly here on the Sea Devils.

As stated above, I believe this to be the Master's greatest story, here he is utterly charming when imprisoned and devilishly ruthless when in control of the situation, perhaps in a different time, a different world, he could have been quite an alright sort of bloke. But here, he is The Master, at the centre of a plot to start a war between the Sea Devils and Man, his characteristic control over Trenchard is not so characteristic, Trenchard is not under The Master's hypnotic control, he is however under the control of his pride and patriotism, which I think is rather sweetly portrayed by the bumbling prison warden that is Clive Morton. Another great performance comes from Edwin Richfield's Captain Hart, he serves as the Brigadier's replacement for this 6 part tale and does quite an effective job. Edwin's performance is very humorous at times as he bounces off the Doctor's alienism nicely.

Yet again, the BBC DVD release boasts this 6 episode tale fully remastered and packed with special bonus content, the Hello Sailor documentary is very nice, it shows the production team with the actors on location at Portsmouth and interviews some of the minor extras that appeared in the serial, along with of course the usual Doctor Who DVD suspects of Barry Letts, Terrance Dicks, Katy Manning etc etc. The disc is then rounded off with some little tid bits of interest to the fans and curious.

Overall a fantastic addition to the range and a brilliant Jon Pertwee classic finally on DVD.

Highly Recommended.

Many thanks for reading this review, its greatly appreciated,

M.B.

{P.S. I shall review "Warriors of the Deep" when I get round to watching the DVD again}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Homo-Reptilian drama, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. G. W. Jordan "jgary763" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this set chiefly for the second story The Sea Devils which I saw in my pre-teens when it was first aired in the seventies. I loved the show then and although it has somewhat dated over the years, I highly enjoyed revisiting the Jon Pertwee era. Early scenes on the sea fort feel particularly eerie and atmospheric.
The first story The Silurians is also a lot of fun and the monsters are not revealed too early. The script could perhaps have used some trimming, running as it does to 8 episodes.
The last disc in the collection, Warriors of the Deep, is the least satisfying of the bunch. The sets are too brightly lit, robbing the monsters of any menace, particularly the Myrkka. And Peter Davison was always rather Dr Who Lite for my taste. I did like the redesign of the Silurian costumes however.
All in all, an entertaining package, bringing together the Homo-reptilian (as they're now known) serials from the classic era of Who with some interesting and enlightening extras.
I guess I'll always be a Whooligan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Boxset, 11 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend you buy this boxset. This contains three good stories from the classic era. Doctor Who and the Silurians is Jon Pertwee's second outing as the doctor. Although this story isn't as good as Spearhead From Space or Inferno (other stories in Season 7) this story certainly takes Bronze, beating The Ambassadors of Death.
The Sea Devils is my second favourite Jon Pertwee story (behind The Time Warrior). This is an excellent story featuring The Master and Jo Grant along with the Silurians cousin race: The Sea Devils.
Warriors of the Deep is the first story in Peter Davisons final season. Although this is probably the second worst story in the season, it is no-where near as bad as The Twin Dilema. This story does not match the excellence of The Caves of Androzani. However this is the first time the Silurians and the Sea Devils take on the doctor together.
You can't go wrong buying this boxset. You get 17 episodes, spread across 3 stories. Must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor who sea devil DVD, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
As i was born in the 90's just after Doctor Who has ended, I was brought up watching vhs and now DVD's, even when it was on Uk TV Gold. But enough about me.

You see, when I first watched the Sea Devil's episode I thought wow! Compared to other Dr Who villians, the Sea Devils to me outstands the most. I like them and this Box Set has to be one of the greatest Box Sets and I recommend you getting this.

I won't go through each episode, but for me Warriors of the Deep is not my best dvd out of this Box Set.

As ever the monsters do look great. I was a bit concern when I saw on TV, Dr who- Full Circle, as the monsters do look a bit like the Sea Devil. I don't know if you will agree or if thats my opinion.

But overall each DVD is great and I really enjoyed watching each one of them, and I hope you enjoy this Box Set because I deff recommend it.

10/10 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the Myrka, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
Spidernick (Fareham, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Beneath the Surface (The Silurians [1970] / The Sea Devils [1972] / Warriors of the Deep [1984]) [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't going to add a review for this, as Hector has said it all for me really. However, I would say that under £14 for either 'The Silurians' or 'The Sea Devils' would be worth it to my mind, so to get three stories for that price is amazing. A highlight for me would be the Pertwee/Delgado sword fight!

When it first came out I thought that 'Warriors of the Deep' was one of the worst stories ever to 'grace' our screens. I still think it's very poor, but have warmed to it a little over time (compared to many of the McCoy stories it stands up quite well, for example). As others have said, the cast and crew seem embarrassed by The Myrka when discussing the story in the extras, and the 'Samurai' Sea Devils just don't work (string vests are much better!). Just treat it as the free DVD in a 'but two get one free' offer and you'll be fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews