Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little cycle computer
Bought this for the London-Cambridge bike-ride 2010 having never bothered with one before - I was wary of the cheap price, but it is perfect! You can let it go on auto mode which scrolls through all its functions every 5 seconds and be kept up to date on av. speed, time spent cycling, actual time of day, max speed and current speed is displayed all the time as well. I...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by Mr. C. Appleford

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You must have Round Forks
Seems like a good little unit. However do not buy if you do not have round forks on your bike, the sensor plate is designed to fit a curve, so if like me you bike has thin flat forks the sensor will not fit and you cannot align the magnet and sensor to the 5mm distance required between them.
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Gav Smith


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little cycle computer, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. C. Appleford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
Bought this for the London-Cambridge bike-ride 2010 having never bothered with one before - I was wary of the cheap price, but it is perfect! You can let it go on auto mode which scrolls through all its functions every 5 seconds and be kept up to date on av. speed, time spent cycling, actual time of day, max speed and current speed is displayed all the time as well. I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected., 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
I'll start by saying that it has survived a few rides in torrential rain and seems pretty strong, but probably won't win any style awards.

The unit is pretty basic as you would expect, the technology has not changed in the last 10 years since I had another unit.

It comprises of a magnet that fits to the spoke with a sensor that fits to the fork with a cable that you have to wrap around the break cable. There are two data collection points at the top and bottom of the sensor. I have not tried the middle as the collection points are clearly marked. The mount point for the computer fits onto the bars via cable ties. The sensor is also held on by zip ties.

The computer does not seem to be able to be turned off, but setting up the computer for your wheel size is easy if you read the instructions, there is even a handy diagram if you don't know what to set it to and you can change other things like the time and whether you want the distance in kmh/mph/ which then automatically changes between km/miles.

The functions are distance, average speed, max speed, current speed, total miles, trip miles, trip time, current time.

The time does not state AM or PM so you will have to use your eyes on that front.

Your speed is always displayed and you can cycle through the other functions either stationary or when riding by pressing the central button. It does require quite a positive press to get it to change so it might be hard for less stable riders to operate it while riding.

If you need a cheap, simple, basic cycle computer then you could do a lot worse than the mach 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money, 27 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
Hard to believe what good value for money this cycle computer represents. I found it easy to fit. By watching some youtube videos on fitting cycle computers in general I was able to make a nice neat job. Once fitted the computer needs to be set up. If you have the circumference of your wheel ready before you start, a couple of minutes is all you need. The computer has one big button on the front this controls all functions. One long push before a trip resets all functions except odometer. During cycling the readout gives current speed in mph or kph (according to your initial choice). Other functions include average speed, maximum speed, trip distance, trip time in saddle. Oh, and of course time of day. When you stop, the computer shuts down (not completely - the time of day still shows) and when you start to ride again the computer carries on from before. Therefore, your averages are unaffected by stopping for lunch etc. All in all a five star piece of equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
I have recently purchased a cheap bike as I wanted to cut down on spending money on bus fares. I have been cycling for a few months and as I have gotten fitter I became curious as to how many miles I was doing, my speed etc. This small device allows me to see these quickly, with minimum fuss. It is well made and seems to be waterproof (another review said that he had put it in the washing machine and it still worked! Attaching it to the bike was painless and took around 20 minutes (you can find good tutorials if needed on youtube). However, it doesn't seem to have a back light for riding at night (although I may have missed this option!)

There are other bike computers out there that offer GPS and a whole host of other gadgets, but if you are after a simple, cheap and well made bike computer then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value for money., 15 Jan 2010
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
I brought a mach one for my MTB and found it great to use, this one was brought as a xmas present for a friend of mine and he is very happy with it.

Its easy to fit and set up, very big clear screen display and with only one button to use to cycle through the programs very easy to use while riding.

There that good I have brought a Mach Three for my new road bike and for the price you can go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mach-2 cycle computer, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
Great product and fantastic price. Bought for the kids bikes and bought more for adult bikes. This is as good as any wired cycle computer for a fraction of the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You must have Round Forks, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
Seems like a good little unit. However do not buy if you do not have round forks on your bike, the sensor plate is designed to fit a curve, so if like me you bike has thin flat forks the sensor will not fit and you cannot align the magnet and sensor to the 5mm distance required between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things you didn't expect..., 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
Have just retrieved my Mach 2 from the washing machine, having inadvertently washed it in the pocket of the jeans I went cycling in. IT STILL WORKS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, 6 Mar 2012
By 
D. T. Sharpe (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
Got this as a christmas present, attached it to my bike christmas day and went for a ride, worked first time. Then for various reasons i didn't use my bike in January. Started using it in February though and withing 3 DAYS the thing no longer worked. The odometer was showing the speed as up to 0.6 Mph at best (I know i can cycle faster than that) so the speed and distrance travelled is completely inaccurate but the clock on the thing is keeping good time (I don't need a portable watch !). Obviously this is out of Amazons 30 day returns so i was pointed in the direction of the website on the box, I have sent 3 e-mails to the company support mail address and had nothing back. They obviously think that this is too small an amount to bother with. So i'll try another product. Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent basic bike computer, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: Etc Mach-2 Bicycle Computer - 8 Functions (Sports)
I am just about to order my third Mach-2 computer (three bikes!). They are simple to fit, easy to calibrate and unlike others I have used they just keep on going! I thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews