Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars170
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2011
Great product. Fits very well onto the lens. I initially thought that it may hamper my use of a polarizing filter but it does not at all which is an obvious bonus. Would highly recommend this original Nikon product that should be part of the camera kit from Nikon.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2009
A pleasure to receive and use yet another quality accessory that pushes with a discreet `click' into place over the standard 18-55mm short zoom that came with the camera.

Possibly, it's not as quite as robust as the metal hood that comes with its bigger 55-200mm brother, but it feels almost the same. It's a very accurate moulding with a four-claw mechanism, pinched gently to open then released to clamp it onto the focus ring, rather than the slots-pins-and-quarter twist usually associated with bayonet fittings.

It's not a crown hood in order to accommodate the fact that the focus ring of the standard consumer lenses revolve as well as telescope, so it has to provide consistent shading for more reliable metering.

That's good, but a spinoff is that the increased diameter at the end of the lens actually helps with more accurate focussing, like a lower gear with a car or bike (the focus mechanisms of the Nikkor lenses tend to be fast - not much twist for a lot of change).

Very pleased, and happy to give it the full five.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Why oh why can Nikon not supply this item with the kit lens?
They must cost pence/yen/cents to make but they make a huge difference in the right circumstances
Petal hoods look good but black out some of the corners occasionally, usually when you dont want that to happen.
This hood doesnt do that
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
I bought this before I went travelling in the middle east, where I thought that the harsh sun could cause problems with my photos. Sure enough, it proved it's worth, and makes it all that little bit harder for the lens to get damaged from scratching onto something. Another added bonus is that it acts as a lower gear when using manual focus, which is far too sensitive on the AF-S 18-55 without it, almost unusably so I thought. However, with this hood, I could make the fractional degree movements necessary to change focus on such a poorly designed manual focus (I know it's not intended for manual use, but hey).

If none of the above sounded useful to you, then save the £20 and buy some more memory or something.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
Excellent accessory that fits well and can be turned around on the end of the lens when not in use. If I have any complaint it just feels a bit flimsy, but having said that it is light, easy to use and is showing no signs of wear or damage.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
Bought this to go on my 18 - 55 mm nikon lens for my camera and was worried by some other reviews that I woukd vinaigrette around the edges of my pictues if taken too wide but right up to 18mm there is no hint of the hood in my snaps
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
An excellent and essential accessory (Nikon - please provide one with the lens!). Beautiful quality (it's made by Nikon...), improves image colour and contrast. DON'T BE TEMPTED TO BUY A CHEAPER SUBSTITUTE. They just don't work well (scratchy fit on the lens, prone to breakage). You pays your money and takles your choice...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
nikon hood,does what it says on the packaging!fab keeps sun from streaming into my pics!although as its not a flower petal one its much better as you dont have to remove for close ups!no vignetting at all,brill!!good tip if anyone wants one dont buy a petal one buy this one!arrived earlier than expected,packed well.thankyou.always buy original nikon things,much better quality.x
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I needed a lens hood to reduce the flaring on some of my shots and this was recommended by few friends. I did not wish to go for replica lens hoods so paying a bit extra for a Nikon was no biggie as it was guaranteed to fit. It attaches on with a simple click onto the tip of the lens and feels nice and secure. The best thing about this lens is that you can attach it inverted and it will be flush against the camera so you can put it into your bag without having to detach it completely to put away separately. The lens hood is made from a simple plastic and is not superbly durable but it does the job and looks aesthetically pleasing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
The package arrived relatively promptly from Germany. Package a little crumpled in post, but item survived unscathed. Fits easily over UV filter and reverses on lense for easy storage. Works well under initial test. I would support the view that it would be better to buy the hood made by the manufacturer to avoid problems with petal and rubber hoods highlighted by other reviewers. Hardly noticeable in weight and a pleasure to use.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.