Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens hood.
Great product. Fits very well onto the lens. I initially thought that it may hamper my use of a polarizing filter but it does not at all which is an obvious bonus. Would highly recommend this original Nikon product that should be part of the camera kit from Nikon.
Published on 9 May 2011 by Mr. M. Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expect better quality of Nikon products
Fitted the hood to my Nikon D5100 kit lens, and 18-55mm. All was well, and it performed as expected, until I need to take it off. I squeezed the sides to release the clip in the lens, and the whole thing just fell apart in my hand, firing the springs out of the inside. I will be returning it for replacement as I can't quite believe that it would be this poor quality...
Published 12 months ago by Lee Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens hood., 9 May 2011
By 
Mr. M. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
Great product. Fits very well onto the lens. I initially thought that it may hamper my use of a polarizing filter but it does not at all which is an obvious bonus. Would highly recommend this original Nikon product that should be part of the camera kit from Nikon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precisely right, 15 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
A pleasure to receive and use yet another quality accessory that pushes with a discreet `click' into place over the standard 18-55mm short zoom that came with the camera.

Possibly, it's not as quite as robust as the metal hood that comes with its bigger 55-200mm brother, but it feels almost the same. It's a very accurate moulding with a four-claw mechanism, pinched gently to open then released to clamp it onto the focus ring, rather than the slots-pins-and-quarter twist usually associated with bayonet fittings.

It's not a crown hood in order to accommodate the fact that the focus ring of the standard consumer lenses revolve as well as telescope, so it has to provide consistent shading for more reliable metering.

That's good, but a spinoff is that the increased diameter at the end of the lens actually helps with more accurate focussing, like a lower gear with a car or bike (the focus mechanisms of the Nikkor lenses tend to be fast - not much twist for a lot of change).

Very pleased, and happy to give it the full five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A1, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
Why oh why can Nikon not supply this item with the kit lens?
They must cost pence/yen/cents to make but they make a huge difference in the right circumstances
Petal hoods look good but black out some of the corners occasionally, usually when you dont want that to happen.
This hood doesnt do that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nikon HB-45 lens hood, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Graham Wood (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
Excellent accessory that fits well and can be turned around on the end of the lens when not in use. If I have any complaint it just feels a bit flimsy, but having said that it is light, easy to use and is showing no signs of wear or damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll know if you need one, 2 May 2010
By 
Christopher Cummins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
I bought this before I went travelling in the middle east, where I thought that the harsh sun could cause problems with my photos. Sure enough, it proved it's worth, and makes it all that little bit harder for the lens to get damaged from scratching onto something. Another added bonus is that it acts as a lower gear when using manual focus, which is far too sensitive on the AF-S 18-55 without it, almost unusably so I thought. However, with this hood, I could make the fractional degree movements necessary to change focus on such a poorly designed manual focus (I know it's not intended for manual use, but hey).

If none of the above sounded useful to you, then save the 20 and buy some more memory or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect fit, 9 July 2013
By 
Miss Kelly M. Fordham "Kelly :-)" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
Bought this to go on my 18 - 55 mm nikon lens for my camera and was worried by some other reviews that I woukd vinaigrette around the edges of my pictues if taken too wide but right up to 18mm there is no hint of the hood in my snaps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Essential, 30 May 2011
By 
T. Hargest (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
An excellent and essential accessory (Nikon - please provide one with the lens!). Beautiful quality (it's made by Nikon...), improves image colour and contrast. DON'T BE TEMPTED TO BUY A CHEAPER SUBSTITUTE. They just don't work well (scratchy fit on the lens, prone to breakage). You pays your money and takles your choice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nikon hood,does what it says on the packaging!fab keeps sun from streaming into my pics!, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
nikon hood,does what it says on the packaging!fab keeps sun from streaming into my pics!although as its not a flower petal one its much better as you dont have to remove for close ups!no vignetting at all,brill!!good tip if anyone wants one dont buy a petal one buy this one!arrived earlier than expected,packed well.thankyou.always buy original nikon things,much better quality.x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon Lens Hood, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. A. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
This is a product of typically high Nikon quality. It snaps into place smoothly on the lens, it is rigidly held and the release mechanism works with minimal pressure. The hood is also very light, barely noticeable when fitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what other reviewers said it would be!, 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon HB-45 Lens Hood for AF-S 18-55mm Series Lens (Accessory)
The package arrived relatively promptly from Germany. Package a little crumpled in post, but item survived unscathed. Fits easily over UV filter and reverses on lense for easy storage. Works well under initial test. I would support the view that it would be better to buy the hood made by the manufacturer to avoid problems with petal and rubber hoods highlighted by other reviewers. Hardly noticeable in weight and a pleasure to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews