Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Nick Cave album since, erm, the last one
OK, I'll keep this brief. I was given a preview copy of the record, so have no idea what the booklet is like. But the record is fantastic. I would have said "it's the best Nick Cave album in ages", but I thought Lyre of Orpheus/Abbatoir Blues was absolutely brilliant too. Grinderman wasn't my thing, but he seemed to enjoy himself.

Musically it's diverse,...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by Chris Widgery

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DD/ DTS 5.1 mix
This review is concerned solely with the DD/ DTS 5.1 mixes.

I've been a Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds fan for a few years now and also enjoy listening to multi-channel audio (MCA), so was overjoyed when I discovered Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! would be released in 5.1. Sadly though, the 5.1 mix is a bit of a let down.

The DD mix was almost unbearable; I even...
Published 20 months ago by Derek J. Johnston


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Nick Cave album since, erm, the last one, 19 Feb 2008
By 
Chris Widgery (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
OK, I'll keep this brief. I was given a preview copy of the record, so have no idea what the booklet is like. But the record is fantastic. I would have said "it's the best Nick Cave album in ages", but I thought Lyre of Orpheus/Abbatoir Blues was absolutely brilliant too. Grinderman wasn't my thing, but he seemed to enjoy himself.

Musically it's diverse, lyrically it's playful and funny (whilst still talking about god and death and murder and sex. We'd be disappointed if he didn't...) The single, Dig Lazarus Dig - you've heard - is terrific. Other highlights (so far; only got this last night) are We Call Upon The Author To Explain, Night Of The Lotus Eaters (which sounds like they forgot to record the rest of the music - only remembered the bass part. But, hey, it works)and Hold Onto Yourself.

Still early days, but it's made an instantly positive impression on me. If you like Nick Cave, you'll love it.

The guy is enjoying a serious run of form at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bad Seeds continue to germinate spectacular fruit, 16 Mar 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! (Audio CD)
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds are incapable of making a poor album .Dig Lazarus Dig , their 14th , doesn't break their hot trot either . Even so it's the album most in thrall to another facet of Nick Cave's muse. The Grinderman side project has infused this album with a scouring malevolence and deep and dirty ambience. It throbs with subterranean deep bass lines, brutal slashes of guitar and stick on bones percussion. The up-tempo songs have the acerbic impact of a rusty shiv while the slower numbers crawl with serpentine grace allowing Cave more space to exhort his usual bevy of words about exotic and fertile characters .
Dig Lazarus Dig , as well as being populated with Caves usual colourful array of characters is possibly his most comic album to date .Larry off the brilliant churning riff title track is some kind of celebrity flailing round American cities . "Mr Sandman The Inseminator" enters the dreams of "Little Janie" to pulsating blues bass and shivery mandocaster on "Today's Lesson". "Midnight Man" features ...well the Midnight Man to Mick Harvey's relentless equilibrating organ.
Pitter pattering conga , quivering cuica and Martyn P Casey's thumping bass usher the first person "MoonLand" while "Night Of The Lotus Eaters" has the most sepulchral bass on a Nick Cave album since "From Her To Eternity ". "Albert Goes West" goes all Jesus And Mary Chain and features man who "Had a psychotic episode on dude ranch that involved a bottle of ammonia " . The "sha la-lal la,s" at the end are great. "We Call Upon The Author" is an audacious rant against god interweaving in between funked bass, viola, poking guitars /keyboards and where Cave " feels like a vacuum cleaner!!! A complete sucker". "Hold Onto Yourself" is a more hushed affair with horror movie atmospherics and plangent organ.. "Lie Down Here (& Be My Girl)" is an exhortation to some femme fatale whose leery guitar matches Caves intentions in a tale where "We've been scribbled in the margins of a story that is patently absurd".
"Jesus Of The Moon" is a lithe undulating ballad with viola and Warren Ellis's distinctive flute. More news From Nowhere" is nigh on eight minutes of bleakly comic observations where "Here comes Alina with two black eyes/ she's given her self a transfusion / she's filled herself with panda blood to avoid all the confusion ". A repetitive guitar hook and more funk edged bass propel Cave along his way.
Dig Lazarus Dig will never be my favourite Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds album. I prefer the eclectic "Henrys Dream " , the awesome "Boatmans Call " confessional or the classy lugubrious strings of "The Good Son" but this is still another terrific album. Those who prefer the wracked hollow eyed blues of his first album - before he went all cabaret (as they see it) may actually find this a return to form. I can think of very few artists around today who continue to hold my interest 14 albums in (Brian Eno , The Blue Nile , Scott Walker -though the last two are so slow to produce material I fear they will never reach fourteen -)but this band do . And they never ever disappoint .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars life begins at..., 2 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! (Audio CD)
The last album from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, 'The Lyre of Orpheus/Abbatoir Blues' was amazing. Given the space of a double album we got to hear their full range from the gospel choir backed Get Ready For Love to the tender Babe, You Turn Me On. I played it again and again, consistently amazed by the sheer energy captured. I used to think Nick Cave was a bit rubbish once upon a time. I'd only seen him a couple of times, once duetting with Kylie Minogue, and to my ears he seemed to be having trouble hitting the notes. Talk about missing the point. Cave may not have the best voice in the world but, boy, does he know how to deliver a song. He also writes some of the best lyrics going, real storytelling through song, and a wicked sense of humour running through it all.

So now that the man himself has turned 50 what should we expect from the latest studio album? A maturing outlook, an album of reflection, a pipe and slippers? Of course not. This new album is a little harder in sound, influenced by last years Grinderman project. The title track gets things underway with a swagger and the risen Lazarus now in modern day New York and, by the end of the track, a dope fiend. As Cave shouts, 'He never asked to be raised up from the tomb'. Night Of The Lotus Eaters has an extraordinary bass line, reminiscent of the kind of backing Tricky used to great effect on his early albums building a sense of rhythmic unease. The same kind of repetitive beat is used on We Call Upon The Author, a lyrically adventurous rant about the very act of writing which uses one of The Bad Seeds great strengths the choral shout, the call to listeners which involves you in the music you're listening to.

It isn't all garage rock. Hold On To Yourself sounds much more like the gentle brilliance of The Lyre Of Orpheus and Jesus Of The Moon is quite beautiful, hiding an emotional 'punch in the heart' amongst its simple strings and flute. The range of playing, especially from the multi-talented Warren Ellis, is as exciting as that previous double album and what it lacks in depth it almost makes up for in brilliant lyrics and sheer sense of humour. Nick Cave has the kind of creative momentum and confidence going at the moment that bands a fraction of his age would kill for. Happy 50th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DD/ DTS 5.1 mix, 12 Aug 2012
By 
Derek J. Johnston "windhoek" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is concerned solely with the DD/ DTS 5.1 mixes.

I've been a Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds fan for a few years now and also enjoy listening to multi-channel audio (MCA), so was overjoyed when I discovered Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! would be released in 5.1. Sadly though, the 5.1 mix is a bit of a let down.

The DD mix was almost unbearable; I even had to turn the volume down because it sounded so bad. Although the DTS version sounded better (it didn't grate my ears like the DD version did), it lacked cohesion; music from the front speakers sounded like it was coming from way over there while music from the rear speakers sounded like it was coming from way back there - only occasionally did they meet to make an integrated sound that could be described as good or enjoyable. When I listen to other MCA albums, my system usually makes a very cohesive sound that perfectly integrates the front and rear speakers to make one complete unit of sound, but the MCA mix of Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! had only the faintest whiff of cohesion. I asked myself why this album doesn't sound great in 5.1 and came up with two possible explanations.

The first possibility is that DD and DTS are poor format for MCA. I own about 100 DVD-A and SACD discs and most of them sound somewhere between good and great in MCA. I've even got a few DTS discs including Joe Cocker's Night Calls and that album sounds great in 5.1. The other possibility is that the 5.1 mix was done by a novice. I don't know who did the mix, but I'm sure if it had been left in the prodigious hands of Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree), the 5.1 mix would have sounded superb.

I never thought I'd ever give Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! 2/5 stars, but I'm afraid the 5.1 mix is that disappointing. There are brief moments when it does sound good but alas, those moments are all too few and far between. I love the music, but sadly, can't say the same for the 5.1 mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars life begins at..., 2 Mar 2008
By 
The last album from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, 'The Lyre of Orpheus/Abbatoir Blues' was amazing. Given the space of a double album we got to hear their full range from the gospel choir backed Get Ready For Love to the tender Babe, You Turn Me On. I played it again and again, consistently amazed by the sheer energy captured. I used to think Nick Cave was a bit rubbish once upon a time. I'd only seen him a couple of times, once duetting with Kylie Minogue, and to my ears he seemed to be having trouble hitting the notes. Talk about missing the point. Cave may not have the best voice in the world but, boy, does he know how to deliver a song. He also writes some of the best lyrics going, real storytelling through song, and a wicked sense of humour running through it all.

So now that the man himself has turned 50 what should we expect from the latest studio album? A maturing outlook, an album of reflection, a pipe and slippers? Of course not. This new album is a little harder in sound, influenced by last years Grinderman project. The title track gets things underway with a swagger and the risen Lazarus now in modern day New York and, by the end of the track, a dope fiend. As Cave shouts, 'He never asked to be raised up from the tomb'. Night Of The Lotus Eaters has an extraordinary bass line, reminiscent of the kind of backing Tricky used to great effect on his early albums building a sense of rhythmic unease. The same kind of repetitive beat is used on We Call Upon The Author, a lyrically adventurous rant about the very act of writing which uses one of The Bad Seeds great strengths the choral shout, the call to listeners which involves you in the music you're listening to.

It isn't all garage rock. Hold On To Yourself sounds much more like the gentle brilliance of The Lyre Of Orpheus and Jesus Of The Moon is quite beautiful, hiding an emotional 'punch in the heart' amongst its simple strings and flute. The range of playing, especially from the multi-talented Warren Ellis, is as exciting as that previous double album and what it lacks in depth it almost makes up for in brilliant lyrics and sheer sense of humour. Nick Cave has the kind of creative momentum and confidence going at the moment that bands a fraction of his age would kill for. Happy 50th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lack Of Interest?, 23 Aug 2012
And so we come to the final three re-issues in what has been a beautifully compiled, mastered assembled and packaged set of albums. Every release up to these was sounding great in 5.1, which begs the question : WHAT HAPPENED HERE?

I don't know when or in what order the 5.1 mixes were completed. The evidence here would suggest that these three were left to last and suffer from a lack of care. As a previous reviewer noted, the soundstage is disjointed and lacking in bottom-end. It is the 5.1 equivalent of 'fake stereo'. To my ears (and I have loved every previous 5.1 mix in this series) the rear chamnnels simply reproduce the front, with more top-end and a slight delay.

The shame is that although Nocturama is probably Nick's least interesting album, Orpheus/Abattoir & Lazarus are among his finest. It has been a long time between the third and fourth set of releases in this series : Did the producers simply lose interest or was the budget too tight for a high-cost product?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Musical and Lyrical Tour De Force, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! (Audio CD)
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds simply go from strength to strength. Whilst Dig, Lazarus, Dig!! might not quite reach the superlative creative achievements that were No More Shall We Part and Abattoir Blues/Lyre of Orpheus, there are some wonderful moments here. The Bad Seeds have matured over the years to become one of the outstanding 'big' bands in music, perhaps even vying with the E Street Band (in their heyday) for top spot.

Standout song for me is probably the lyrical epic that is We Call Upon The Author To Explain. This is a marvellous Cave rant, delivered in his near unique style which actually makes the likes of messrs Haines and Morrissey seem like tame kittens. Whether Cave is actually complaining about obtuse literature or (more likely) objecting to the voice of critics who constantly question of the meaning of literature (and, probably, song lyrics) becomes somewhat irrelevant as Cave lists just about every global crisis ('rampant discrimination, mass poverty, third world debt, infectious disease, global inequality and deepening socio-economic divisions') before screaming 'WE CALL UPON THE AUTHOR TO EXPLAIN'.

Other highlights are up-tempo rockers Today's Lesson and Lie Down Here (& Be My Girl) which demonstrate the tightness and exemplary playing of the Bad Seeds, whilst the more reflective Hold On To Yourself and Midnight Man find Cave's vocals as soulful as ever.

I only hope that the Bad Seeds do not suffer too much from Mick Harvey's departure and that Cave continues to record with the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicks got problems...., 12 Nov 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! (Audio CD)
As someone who is new to Nick Cave, I thought that 'DLD' might be an interesting place to get to know the man and his work.Well, speaking as a non- fan , but a person willing to be persuaded my first impressions are pretty positive.

Musically this album is firmly in the Velvet Underground / Gang of Four /Stooges/Doors domain - industrial guitar augmented by organ,heavy bass and the odd 'weird' noise for good measure.So while it's an entertaining CD there is nothing particularly innovative going on here.However the band are expert.Their work on 'Hold On To Yourself' is both distinctive and right on the button.As Nick growls on,they provide the sort of support that I bet every rock singer wishes they received- a backdrop of interesting musical textures but not so obtrusive that they are likely to distract the listener from the vocalists ruminations.

Nick seems to be in the middle of some sort of crisis- he is willfully and I guess appropriately,obscure. The usual existential themes seem to present themselves- you know - Jesus/sex/alienation/faith in the face of the void. The sort of things that 6th-formers used to get worked up about and possibly still do.If you share Nick's problems and concerns, this album may come as some sort of affirmation. If not, this album may have slightly less appeal.But at least Nick's take on things are communicated with some attempt at wit, so what could be a trudge actually borders on being alternatively amusing and engaging- see 'We Call Upon The Author To Explain'.

So a pretty good album. Given the generally homogeneous nature of modern rock,it is a relief to think that at least there is a bunch of oldsters out there attempting to make a bit of Byronic noise.Refreshing,if nothing spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music.....but, 3 Mar 2008
By 
Chris Turner (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent music but I was dissapointed by the lack of photos in the booklet. Yes it does contain the lyrics but that's it!!! There are NO extra WRITINGS and the ONLY photos are on the cover. Hmmmm. Misleading title by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!! Nick Cave!!! Album!!! (8/10), 5 April 2008
This review is from: Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! (Audio CD)
Nick Cave's fourteenth album finds him trading in the gothic romanticism of his previous work for a swampy, sleazy garage-rock-influenced sound. Taking some of its cues from Cave's recent 'Grinderman' side project and some of the wild border country atmospherics of his soundtrack work with Bad Seed Warren Ellis, Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! is markedly more upbeat but no more compromising for that. Murky and apocalyptic, the album features extended semi-spoken rants from Cave over spooked, often complex arrangements of angular guitars, organs, rattly percussion and ominous basslines.

There's something of Tom Waits or even Tricky about some of the ambience and arrangements, the Bad Seeds pulling out all the stops to create cinematic landscapes to Cave's own tales of brawlers, bawlers and bastards (to quote Waits). Cave is a singular talent seemingly liberated by some of his recent tangents, but the Seeds almost steal the show here, each track a little movie reel in itself. Those looking for the classic Cave ballad might be put off by Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!'s rawness of mood and mildly pornographic lyrics, but no-one can complain with songs as strong as 'Jesus Of The Moon' or 'Midnight Man'. It's not supposed to be like this, rock stars (or whatever you call someone like Nick Cave) aren't meant to hit career highs in their fifties, making some of their most innovative and evocative music fourteen albums in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa855bc)

This product

Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!!
Dig!!! Lazarus Dig!!! by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews