Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a little annoying...
if you already have the GOLDFRAPP 7th TREE DELUXE box, then youre screwed if you want to add the DVD , instead you must buy the box all over again...MUTE remains MUTE on the matter of selling just the DVD
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by Mark C.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Choice CD
Only my second Goldfrapp CD. First one was Felt Mountain and this is unsurpassble. But Seventh tree is good too.
Published 7 months ago by Twig Hall


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, all the oddness has gone. Dull., 30 Dec 2007
This review is from: Seventh Tree (Audio CD)
Anyone who is a fan of Goldfrapp's debut may be delighted to hear that they have toned down the squelch and crunch - in favour of a more acoustic edge. Had the songs been there this would not have been a problem - but it is.

Goldfrapp don't really do "songs", and that is not a criticism. Their canon has featured tracks which happily let a mumbled melody or bizarre yodel take centre stage, and quite right too. Looking past the odd "Ooh la la" or "Black Cherry"; Goldfrapp's works, whether dreamy or dancey, have always been an exploration of sound, not song. Perhaps it was style before substance, but it certainly seemed substantial. When partnered with fantastic visuals it was art, not music.

Whistfully charming, yet unsuprising, woodland images accompany this album - and really the music can be desicribed in the same way; nice but forgetable.

"Clowns" and "Road to Nowhere" are pleasant but unchallenging whilst "A & E" is shockingly dissapointing. Their train has clearly run out of steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 7 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. L. W. Dalgleish "thebellstud" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Goldfrapp's style is very unique and catchy. They are a bit like marmite... You either love them or you hate them. Either way you have to admit they are original. I stumbled upon Goldfrapp by accident when flicking through music channels when "Train" was released from their second album. I rushed straight to the shops to buy it and have been hooked ever since. I must admit that Supernature is my favourite album overall purely for the glam feel to it. I recently heard they were releasing a new single which I have managed to listen to several time and it is just beautiful. Its so new and different to their previous work but it still manages to give a nod to it too. I have also heard Caravan Girl and Cologne Cerrone Houdini... The latter I am unsure as to if its on the new album but still sounds great.... I have a feeling this album is going to be one to buy in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp :( Dissapointing, 6 Jun 2008
By 
Mapoo (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seventh Tree (Audio CD)
I loved the last album and went to see them in Concert loved it all...

But this Album actually made me wanna sleep... I was that Bored listening to it... A&E is a ok song... but the rest is not that good...

Sooner have the Electro stuff!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so diappointing, 25 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seventh Tree (Audio CD)
After listening to golfrapps latest cd i have to say im very disappointed. Ok so i prefer the electro pop sound of there last couple of albums but i dont mind felt mountain(though i do believe it to be the weakest album) so i was still looking forward to this and although a&e isnt an amzing single it is still pretty good but the album is so BLAND and uninspired it beggers belief..where are the melodies for a start?? the majority of tracks are so dull and bland i cant wait to get rid of this..hopefully a temporary blip to an aotherwise ace group..please do better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorest effort so far, 29 Feb 2008
This review is from: Seventh Tree (Audio CD)
I heared the album already in January and was really surprised by the sheer lack of creativity Goldfrapp invested in this 4th studio effort.
The album has a really boring theme throughout and the songs are neither catchy nor particularly beautiful.
I like Clowns, Little Bird and A&E because they are quite nice to listen to but compared with Felt Mountain and Black Cherry this is a pretty poor effort.

I don't know whether Alison feels the pressure of being so hyped and therefore can't come up with any good ideas lately but also Supernature was a pretty lame attempt at re-inventing herself.

This album has certainly not made big impact on me and after listening to it a few times it has wandered onto the external harddrive.

Big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect more of the last two, 29 Feb 2008
This review is from: Seventh Tree (Audio CD)
I can see why people like this album, but I am a bit devastated that Goldfrapp have deviated from the fantastic style of music released on Supernature and Black cherry, they do it so well and had a real unique style.

Much of this album sounds like something Katie melua would do.

I guess they have to experiment artistically, but this is quite bland, definitely not up to their usual standard, they really are one of the best bands in history and this album is a bit of a let down to me.

Oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cashin in, 16 Feb 2008
This review is from: Seventh Tree (Audio CD)
Don`t mean tae be nasty but this is dung. Would reckon she`s just took herself out the festival circuit but hey, I`ve been wrong before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seventh Tree
Seventh Tree by Goldfrapp (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews