Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amplug AC30 is pretty good
The Amplug is excellent for practicing. It's small, light and easily portable with good sound quality and reasonable volume levels. The ease of use makes this a valuable bit of kit and well worth the investment.
Unfortunately the construction feels and looks quite cheap and fragile, the gain has to be turned up quite high to allow the volume control to remain low to...
Published on 6 Jun 2008 by J. Scott

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too much hiss
It's cheap and cheerful, but it has a very high level of hiss. This isn't related to the guitar as the hiss is at the same level whether plugged in or not. You have to compromise between high gain, which then gives distortion (as you'd expect) to keep the volume/hiss down. You can't get a low gain, clean sound at high volume levels
Published on 9 July 2008 by M. Postle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amplug AC30 is pretty good, 6 Jun 2008
By 
J. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Amplug is excellent for practicing. It's small, light and easily portable with good sound quality and reasonable volume levels. The ease of use makes this a valuable bit of kit and well worth the investment.
Unfortunately the construction feels and looks quite cheap and fragile, the gain has to be turned up quite high to allow the volume control to remain low to avoid unwanted hiss. Also the jack struggles to reach comfortably down the Strat style lead burrow and has to rest on the bridge on my Ibanez, which is a bit annoying.
All that said, I still would recommend the Amplug Ac30 as these are niggles rather than significant problems. I advise listening to the examples of the AC30, Classic and Metal Amplugs on the Vox website to choose the correct sound for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool little gadget, 1 Feb 2009
By 
A. M. MCNAMARA "aoife" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my boyfriend who is gadget/guitar obsessed. I was worried that he would think that it is a bit of a novelty present, but he loves it. The sound quality is actually quite good and it is extremely usable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sound investment(....sorry)!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
T. M. Georges (Hertford. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
If I had time to teach I would insist all students buy this little box. Not only does it allow you to practice at all times without disturbing anybody but it is remarkably clear before being driven which means you can hear all the scuffs and scrapes you might be practising into your playing and correct them. Turning up the drive will satisfy all the rockers but high volume does create hiss - hard to avoid with such a small gadget but still avoidable if kept at an acceptable level. Something so useful could perhaps be more ruggedly built but perhaps this is the price you pay for paying a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vox Headphone Amp, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Mick Nick (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
Received promptly from Amazon.I tried this on my electric guitars and it enables you to not only play your guitar without disturbing anyone but you can play late at night.It might not sound the same as playing through your amplifier but even through the headphones it gives a realistic simulation.I have several guitars and listening through the headphones this little amplifiers shows the different tones of the pick ups.Very pleased with this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful bit of kit, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
This is a lovely little practice amp. For its size, the sound through good headphones is fine. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stops people complaining!, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
A good item and handy too for late night practice. There is some extra noise but nothing too annoying and this can be reduced by altering the tone settings etc. A good product especially for beginners with neighbours and/or families!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vox Amplug, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. E. Baker (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
Can now play my electric guitar as loud as I like without disturbing the family or the neighbours and there is quite a good range of sounds that it produces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
Delivered very quickly and is just the job for practicing when you don't want to turn everything else on, not a bad sound through my strat and has ample volume for my needs. I found it fits perfect into the strat socket of my USA Fender. Good price inc postage having looked around elsewhere. J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gadget, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a godsend for all those parents who have budding young guitarists in their family! All those ghastly wrong notes are eliminated from practice sessions! Hurrah! WELL worth the money and so simple to use. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, 13 Jan 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was dubious over this from other reviews but it fits my Strat perfectly; the volume control is more than adequate for practice if you're careful not to use power-hungry headphones - I use Sennheiser earplugs and 'phones. The hiss is quite low at normal playing levels and no problem at all. The Gain control also does crank up the sound to punk styles. There's an aux input for MP3/CD players or similar so I can (try to)play along with real bands. The only thing it doesn't do is teach my stubby fingers how to play - Doh..! A good little piece of kit if a bit costlier than previous due to the £.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews