Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amplug AC30 is pretty good
The Amplug is excellent for practicing. It's small, light and easily portable with good sound quality and reasonable volume levels. The ease of use makes this a valuable bit of kit and well worth the investment.
Unfortunately the construction feels and looks quite cheap and fragile, the gain has to be turned up quite high to allow the volume control to remain low to...
Published on 6 Jun 2008 by J. Scott

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have to admit to being slightly baffled by the amount of positive press and the proportion of positive user reviews for this product.
I have an American Fender Deluxe Strat and thought that this gadget looked like a nice way to practice in near silence in my flat. I was disappointed to find that there is an extremely annoying high-pitched hiss that seems to be...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. M. D. Schofield


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amplug AC30 is pretty good, 6 Jun 2008
By 
J. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Amplug is excellent for practicing. It's small, light and easily portable with good sound quality and reasonable volume levels. The ease of use makes this a valuable bit of kit and well worth the investment.
Unfortunately the construction feels and looks quite cheap and fragile, the gain has to be turned up quite high to allow the volume control to remain low to avoid unwanted hiss. Also the jack struggles to reach comfortably down the Strat style lead burrow and has to rest on the bridge on my Ibanez, which is a bit annoying.
All that said, I still would recommend the Amplug Ac30 as these are niggles rather than significant problems. I advise listening to the examples of the AC30, Classic and Metal Amplugs on the Vox website to choose the correct sound for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool little gadget, 1 Feb 2009
By 
A. M. MCNAMARA "aoife" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my boyfriend who is gadget/guitar obsessed. I was worried that he would think that it is a bit of a novelty present, but he loves it. The sound quality is actually quite good and it is extremely usable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gadget, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a godsend for all those parents who have budding young guitarists in their family! All those ghastly wrong notes are eliminated from practice sessions! Hurrah! WELL worth the money and so simple to use. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sound investment(....sorry)!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
T. M. Georges (Hertford. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
If I had time to teach I would insist all students buy this little box. Not only does it allow you to practice at all times without disturbing anybody but it is remarkably clear before being driven which means you can hear all the scuffs and scrapes you might be practising into your playing and correct them. Turning up the drive will satisfy all the rockers but high volume does create hiss - hard to avoid with such a small gadget but still avoidable if kept at an acceptable level. Something so useful could perhaps be more ruggedly built but perhaps this is the price you pay for paying a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vox Headphone Amp, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Mick Nick (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
Received promptly from Amazon.I tried this on my electric guitars and it enables you to not only play your guitar without disturbing anyone but you can play late at night.It might not sound the same as playing through your amplifier but even through the headphones it gives a realistic simulation.I have several guitars and listening through the headphones this little amplifiers shows the different tones of the pick ups.Very pleased with this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful bit of kit, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
This is a lovely little practice amp. For its size, the sound through good headphones is fine. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stops people complaining!, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
A good item and handy too for late night practice. There is some extra noise but nothing too annoying and this can be reduced by altering the tone settings etc. A good product especially for beginners with neighbours and/or families!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vox Amplug, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. E. Baker (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
Can now play my electric guitar as loud as I like without disturbing the family or the neighbours and there is quite a good range of sounds that it produces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
I have to admit to being slightly baffled by the amount of positive press and the proportion of positive user reviews for this product.
I have an American Fender Deluxe Strat and thought that this gadget looked like a nice way to practice in near silence in my flat. I was disappointed to find that there is an extremely annoying high-pitched hiss that seems to be present regardless of how I adjust the settings. For me, it's far too annoying to put up with. I found the sound quality very poor as well in all honesty, and can't really understand why they have slapped the AC30 brand on it, as it bears no resemblance whatsoever to the legendary amplifier in terms of sound. I tried three different sets of headphones with it - some Bose QC15s, a cheaper on-ear AKG set and some JVC in-ear headphones, and the ever-present hiss was... well, ever-present.
Others seem to have had better experiences, but the hiss problem is a common complaint, so beware.
I do not recommend this product in my humble, non-expert opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not well made, not authentic sound and lots of background noise, 30 July 2013
By 
D. M. Short - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vox amPlug Headphone Guitar Amplifier - AC30 (Electronics)
I sent this back after about 3 minutes of use because it was poorly made, the sound wasn't particularly authentic and worst of all there was a lot of background noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews