Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmoshere... Loads of it!
Loving the films is one thing. Living the dream of sort-of being in the adventure is another and a big reason why I got this game. The whole design of the sets, music, the excellent script and the actual actors really makes this a totally worthwhile experience.
At its core, it is still an adventure game but with all the franchise gumf along with it. Very spooky in...
Published on 7 April 2010 by G. Roberts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY
This video game is entertaining enough for the younger crowd but I'm not sure it will become a favorite. The characters are close to the original ones (the receptionist Annie is a little off) and the voices sound like the actors who portrayed them on film. This is appreciated for true fans but makes no difference to the younger crowd.

The game consists of a...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Margaux Paschke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmoshere... Loads of it!, 7 April 2010
By 
G. Roberts (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
Loving the films is one thing. Living the dream of sort-of being in the adventure is another and a big reason why I got this game. The whole design of the sets, music, the excellent script and the actual actors really makes this a totally worthwhile experience.
At its core, it is still an adventure game but with all the franchise gumf along with it. Very spooky in places with puzzles testing on a variety of skill levels, including wearing the PKE goggles - it becomes a bit off a jumpfest if the lights are down in your room. Minor gripe; you can't edit your character. This is not a deal breaker by any means. Wishlist for game 2, perhaps...?

I thoroughly recommend this game to fans of the film and wanting to just be a Ghostbuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic wholesom nostalgic fun, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Andrew Hewitt "A.M.Hewitt" (Newark, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
Despite the cartoon styling of the Wii version, the game certainly didn't disappoint. I had hoped to play the more realistic PS3 version first, but the graphics give the Wii version a charm of its own.

The control system is well thought out, and easy to use with the Wii-mote acting as your proton blaster and viewing direction, and the nunchuck your movement. Making a throwing motion with the nunchuck deploys a trap, which was a nice touch.

From the moment the slightly grainy Columbia pictures logo appears you feel the nostalgia brimming up, and the reunited cast are exactly as you remember them. The music has been lifted directly from the movies for a truly authentic experience.

There was nothing about this game I didn't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who you gonna call?, 21 Nov 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
As a big fan of the original films, I was really looking forward to the release of this game on the wii - and I wasn't disappointed! The storyline is true to the film and the original actors do the voice acting so it's nostalgic to listen to, not to mention great entertainment! The humour is still there with Ray's off the cuff comments at times of increasing danger and one of your first missions is to catch Slimer who has escaped yet again and has returned to his old haunt of the hotel from the first film! This time, you get to wreck the ballroom though!

Once you get the hang of the controls (you use the remote and the nunchuck to play) it's great fun and it never becomes dull with endless searching for your next hunt. There are plenty of on screen prompts to tell you what to do in the 'novice' mode which is great for younger children and new gamers like me!

The graphics are brilliant and there's very little lag between levels which I had feared on the Wii. You can play on your own or in multi-player which is loads of fun and you can also select the level of difficulty which gives the game lots of mileage. There are also bonus games to unlock.

All in all, a brilliant game. Really glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY, 8 Jan 2012
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
This video game is entertaining enough for the younger crowd but I'm not sure it will become a favorite. The characters are close to the original ones (the receptionist Annie is a little off) and the voices sound like the actors who portrayed them on film. This is appreciated for true fans but makes no difference to the younger crowd.

The game consists of a series of challenges for the player to zap the ghosts and put them into containers. There is are a lot of video scenes around each game. Although these scenes can be skipped, it's a combination of scenes mixed with games and cutting out the scenes will not leave too many games. I found it frustrating to wait for the scenes to play out before I could play the next challenge and I usually skipped forward. The challenges were not all that hard to complete and I would recommend them for beginners.

This game is half story board and half game with no real skill needed and will not provide much of a challenge for serious gamers. However, if you're a huge fan of the movie or a beginner, this game will prove more fun. The price is appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I ain't afraid of no Ghosts... well I am a bit, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. A. Mcgrath "Of Chaos" (Eldwick UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
As some other people have rightly said about this game. Its a perfect piece of nostalgia. The Ghostbusters are as good a creation now, as they were back in the 80's. This game is a perfect tribute to those lovable characters.

First point. Everyone goes on about the graphics being cartoony. That isn't a problem for me, in fact I prefer the look. Of course its not as impressive as the PS3 and 360 in appearance, but I feel it gives the Characters more charm and personality.

The bonus to the Wii version is the controls. The Wii remote acts perfectly as your "proton gun". In fact all you need is a big proton pack strapped to your back and it'd feel as if you were in ghostbusters. The way you swing your nunchuk to slide your trap to capture Ghosts is brilliant and accurate. This all adds to the Ghost bustin experience, giving this game an advantage over the other platforms versions.

The story is great. Set after Ghostbusters 2 this game sees all the ghosts the busters have caught (in the films) released by some unknown power and, of course, they have to set about catching them all over again. This means you get to see some classic bad guys like Slimer and "Stay puff" marsh mellow man as well as some new and interesting ghosts..

The sound is brilliant, done in exactly the same style as the movies and recreates that classic proton beam sound as you zap and trap those pesky ghosties. The music is recreated brilliantly and offers that feeling of a true Ghost bustin experience. The voices are done by the original cast from the films. It is brilliant to listen as they banter with each other as the levels progress, and the cut scenes are done just spot on.

This game is so much fun to play, but it ain't perfect. Here are the issues I did had with this game. It can be a little repetitive. They could have mixed it up a little with some different puzzles, or new aspects of play, i.e driving sections. There is the odd occasional glitch here and there but nothing massive and nothing that takes away the charm of this game.

If you are a Ghostbusters fan, this game will be right up your street. If you aren't, well you'll find here and enjoyable and solid gaming experience. If you aren't a fan though, go get the films on DVD and introduce yourself properly, to these Movie legends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great,great,great,great,great game!, 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
Great game ! Ghostbuster fans you have to get this! In this video game you can bust loads of ghosts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost hunting is cool., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is very good, graphically it could be better, but zapping ghosts is fun. I give this game about 8.5/10, really good, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a very enjoyable game ;(, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
My son who is aged 8, found this game to be very boring. He also found the character controls very confusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
This is defiantly the best Ghostbusters game ever released!! And believe me, I've tried them all!! It's a new story but it is heavily based on the original film, with some of the ghosts being modeled on those from the Ghostbusters cartoon. Full of puzzles to solve, plenty of bad guys to capture and an engaging storyline. Works brilliantly as a single player game but so much fun when played in multi-player mode. Be careful though, as you might fall out with your neighbours, as you do start shouting instructions at your team mates!! ... A lot!! :-D I swear, I couldn't wait to get home from work every day so I could save the world!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've been slimed!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) (Video Game)
A good game. Perhaps a little spooky for the under 7s but good fun. It's great that they've managed to incorporate so many elements of the films into this game in which you get to play a new member of the ghostbusters. Additionally the voice actors sound a lot like the actors from the films. As you can choose the playing difficulty (rooky to full fledged ghostbuster) it should work for novices/children as well as more serious gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii)
Ghostbusters: The Video Game (Wii) by Namco Bandai (Nintendo Wii)
26.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews