Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No ordinary Rom Com
You would think that with all the 'cooking' programmes currently on UK TV, another Rom Com about a self confessed cooking addict would be last on my shopping list. This is why I gave this one a wide berth on its release. However, now I've finally watched it (whilst trying to remain open-minded) I was actually surprised by this movie. Both Catherine Zeta-Jones and Aaron...
Published 22 months ago by Bob Weston

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No reservations here - watch this quaint romantic comedy any Sunday afternoon
Yes, I agree with the Short Attention Span Summary of "No Reservations" from one of the other reviewer, but I was actually surprised by this movie. I really hadn't expected the whole Zoe-angle, and for me that sets this movie apart from so many other Sunday-afternoon-on-the-couch-romantic-dramas.

Kate is a single-minded, brillant, slightly obsessive chef, who...
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Louise Amkaer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No reservations here - watch this quaint romantic comedy any Sunday afternoon, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Louise Amkaer (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Yes, I agree with the Short Attention Span Summary of "No Reservations" from one of the other reviewer, but I was actually surprised by this movie. I really hadn't expected the whole Zoe-angle, and for me that sets this movie apart from so many other Sunday-afternoon-on-the-couch-romantic-dramas.

Kate is a single-minded, brillant, slightly obsessive chef, who loses control of her life and kitchen, when her sister is killed in an accident and Kate becomes the guardian of Zoe, a little girl who really isn't into forel au bleu, but prefers pizza and Nick barges into Kate kitchen chopping and singing opera.

I really like the story line between Kate and Zoe, that really show how not in control Kate is, but it is Nick and Zoe, who steal the focus in "No reservations". They are brilliantly played.

Watch it from the couch on a Sunday afternoon. Have gourmet munchies within reach and get inspiration for your own livingroom-pizza-plateless-safari.

Louise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No ordinary Rom Com, 11 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
You would think that with all the 'cooking' programmes currently on UK TV, another Rom Com about a self confessed cooking addict would be last on my shopping list. This is why I gave this one a wide berth on its release. However, now I've finally watched it (whilst trying to remain open-minded) I was actually surprised by this movie. Both Catherine Zeta-Jones and Aaron Eckhart are fine actors so I gave it a chance, and am so glad I did. Zoe (played by Abigail Breslin), the orphaned niece of Kate (CZJ), puts in a really great performance, and is a star in the making. This sets this particular movie apart from many other romantic dramas. Kate is a brilliant, narrow minded and some what obsessive chef, who loses control of her life and her kitchen, when her sister dies in an accident leaving her to becomes the guardian of Zoe. Here is a little girl who really isn't into cordon bleu and 5 star presentations, but prefers simple food like spaghetti and pizzas. As Nick blasts his personality into Kate kitchen at work, the sparks soon fly. There is a strong story line between Kate and Zoe, which develops into a loving bond. But as great as CZJ is in her role I think it is Nick and Zoe who steal the focus of the film. Both characters are brilliantly portrayed and evolve their own special bond, whilst educating Kate into expanding her horizons at the same time. The film touches such a lot of areas, including coming of age, self realisation and romance, and is a gentle roller coaster for the emotions. So for me, this is definitely not a run-of-the-mill Romantic Comedy. I could quite happily watch this again in the near future and can't help to be inspired by its warmth. A solid 8 out of 10 for its production and concept and 10 out of 10 for acting quality. Recommended easy time viewing - you won't need a hanky but it will make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A romantic drama, not a romantic comedy, 4 May 2008
By 
M. Hussein "Meri" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As a lover of romantic comedy I purchased this film as it was advertised in this genre. I was surprised to view a film with lots of depth, despair and drama. At times the film is quite depressing and brought me to verge of tears, at others it was touching and amusing. Not a traditional romantic comedy in any sense but a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. Romantic comedy lovers should look elsewhere, romantic drama enthusiasts will love this light-hearted look at love, death and everything in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but serious issues considered, 10 Jun 2008
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Yes, this film is fine for Sunday afternoon watching. there are some very serious issues addressed here and we thought that this was well acted on the part of Catherine Zeta-Jones, Ekhart and the young girl actress but it's not all that funny because it's over-shadowed by the deep sadness running throughout the whole movie. Dont get me wrong, there are some very funny parts which will have you roaring with laughter, but it's one of those films that when you sit and think about it afterwards, it's not the comedy side of things which sticks in your mind. I think it's worth a watch, but i dont think i'll be rushing out to buy it. I'll sit and watch it again when it comes on normal tv, but it is forgettable - not Zeta-Jones' usual stuff, but still very good performances from the main cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Reservations (DVD 2007), 9 Sep 2011
By 
Visa "Leda Casares" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I saw this film on the tele, and liked it so much that I bought the DVD. It's great to see a film where there are no monsters out of space, or murderers waiting round the corner to strike you dead. This is a lovely story, with great actors and very well directed. Steady all the way through. Zeta Jones shows one more what a great actress she is, with Aaron Eckhart as her co-star. Excellent direction. It's worth having it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching film...., 20 Jan 2011
By 
A. Warren (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Reservations [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
No Reservations is a really easy to watch film. I had caught some of it on Sky but liked what I saw and wanted to buy it. This is the type of film you can watch again and again. The two main stars worked really well together - good story line even though a bit predictable but all in all a lovely film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This falls into the category of "feel good" films as I like to call them. It falls into the category of easy viewing on a Sunday afternoon perhaps.
The protagonists are Kate, played by Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Nick, played by Aaron Eckhart. This is not very realistic. Beautiful people being Chefs. When did that happen in real life?
Kate is a single thirty-year-old woman who lives in New York. Her job as a Chef is all her life. She spends all of her time in her kitchen in an upscale Greenwich Village restaurant. She is so strict and controlling that everyone is afraid of her in a way. If a customer complains about a dish, she cannot take the criticism and becomes angry. The reason she isn't fired is because of her unique talent in the kitchen. Kate also sees a shrink because her boss told her to.
The shrink is played by actor Bob Balaban who plays Frank Buffay in Friends, alias Phoebe's dad.
The real problem of Kate is the fact that she's scared of being committed, because of fear of losing her independence.
One day, her sister and little niece of 9 years old are coming to town to see her, but they have a car accident, and her sister dies leaving her daughter Zoe behind.
Strangely enough, her sister wrote a will and asked Kate to take care of her daughter. Kate will now be responsible for Zoe. During the few days that Kate takes off work, her boss employs cute looking Nick who is a very funny chef who loves Italian cuisine and music such as Pavarotti, and even plays the music in the kitchen singing, while holding a lobster in his hand.
Kate is worried that he's going to steal her job, but he explains that he wants to work with her, because he heard so much about her. This is true, but she's still sceptical because of her trusting issues.
The film has some sad emotional moments, as we imagine what it would be like for Zoe to be without her mum.
The film lacks realism, as is always the case with these "feel-good movies". One might wonder how can a little girl accepts a stranger so easily in the life of her aunt. But again, all children in American films are happy when their mum or dad are with someone new... this is a bit of a fairy tale as everyone knows that it's much more difficult than that for a child to accept someone else than their real mum or dad. It is a feel good film, because they are a happy family at the end, and they have their own restaurant called Kate, Nick, and Zoe's Bistro. Kate resolves her issues because she is responsible for someone now, and Nick will also help her.
I would recommend it as I said, for a comforting moment, drinking a hot chocolate while watching it. It will also make you want to cook a lot of nice things! Enjoy '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars See Kate cook, 22 Dec 2007
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Billed as a romantic comedy, there are two things you should know about this movie.
1. It's not a comedy
2. It isn't very romantic

Catherine Zeta-Jones plays Kate, an obsessive master chef who works so hard at her profession that she has no time for heating anything except pots and pans.

Abigail Breslin plays Zoe, Kate's niece. She's not feeling very sunshine-y since the tragic event that leads up to her having to live with Kate.

Aaron Eckhart plays Nick, an opera singing all around good guy who's hired as Kate's sous-chef without her prior approval.

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS)

See Kate cook
Cook, Kate, cook
See Zoe
Poor Zoe
Zoe has to live with Kate
Kate hasn't a clue
See Nick
Nick cooks too
See Nick and Kate cook
See Nick and Kate fight
See predictable ending

This is a very light movie that will be a good choice for spending a lazy afternoon watching cable when you've nothing better to do. Zeta-Jones is good, even though Eckhart steals every scene he's in, but the main attraction is the food. As a matter of fact, it's quite likely that you'll find yourself getting hungry for gourmet treats about half way through the movie.

Shallow but watchable, the thing that ruins this movie is that darned predictability thing.
Rated: 3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film, not to serious and a few laugths acting was good and made a nice evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Harmless, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Reservations [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Ok film for watching with the kids on a Sunday afternoon. Got it cheap so felt it was good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Reservations [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
No Reservations [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] by Scott Hicks (Blu-ray - 2008)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews