Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Blood counts the most."
Having won the battle of the Robin Hoods, Costner wasn't so lucky with Wyatt Earp: forget Waterworld, this is still the biggest box-office disaster of Costner's career, a $63m epic Western that struggled to make $25m at the US box-office yet somehow managed to avoid being nicknamed 'Kevin's Gate' (although it did earn Michael Madsen's unending animosity when the lengthy...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie
Love this movie. Weirdly though the sound is out of sync when I play it on Fire TV. Fine when I play it through my smart tv.
Published 17 days ago by Mark W


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Blood counts the most.", 23 Aug 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Having won the battle of the Robin Hoods, Costner wasn't so lucky with Wyatt Earp: forget Waterworld, this is still the biggest box-office disaster of Costner's career, a $63m epic Western that struggled to make $25m at the US box-office yet somehow managed to avoid being nicknamed 'Kevin's Gate' (although it did earn Michael Madsen's unending animosity when the lengthy shoot prevented him from playing Vincent Vega in Pulp Fiction). Originally intended as a mini-series and tracing the famed lawman's life from farm boy, freight driver, law student, drunk, horse thief, buffalo hunter to the aftermath of the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral, it's an ambitious attempt at an American epic with an increasingly unlikeable main character, but it's more of an occasionally ambitious failure than a genuine success.

Not nearly as much fun as the rival Tombstone, it's often at its best in the early scenes detailing the side of Earp that the movies previously overlooked as he goes from idealism to bitterness and misogyny following the death of his first wife. Taking its lead from Nicholas Earp's credo that family comes first and "Blood counts the most," Costner's determination not to play likable is admirable, but it casts a dour shadow over a film with increasingly little lightness or humour to break up its bleak view of an embittered man whose only real talent is for violence and make it more palatable. America tends to like its heroes cut and dried, but Costner's Earp is not so much flawed as downright unsympathetic at times - more of a 70s anti-hero than one who would find favour in the 90s, leaving a cruelly overlooked at Oscar time Dennis Quaid (stunningly good) as Doc Holliday to carry the audience sympathy.

Once the film enters more familiar territory with Earp's years as a lawman, the flaws start to become more significant. Even in the extended laser disc directors cut many of the huge supporting cast tend to get lost and forgotten and at times it feels like its treading water, never really going into much detail about the reasons for the feud between the Earps and the Clantons and the McLaurys, while the Gunfight at the O.K. Corral itself is badly staged - even the 'walk thing' makes Wyatt, Doc and the brothers just look like a bunch of angry Mennonites - and the film loses momentum afterwards, which is surprising considering the aftermath is in many ways far more interesting than the gunfight itself. On a visual level, Kasdan's direction is somewhat disappointing: despite having huge resources at his disposal, there's a striking lack of long shots to take advantage of them that becomes much more noticeable on the small screen than the big, while despite the length there are increasingly few memorable or significant scenes en route to the contentious epilogue. One of the most misconceived endings of the 90s (at least until Costner's The Postman came along), a clumsy flashback-led variation on 'Print the legend' that seems to be arguing that the legend is indeed true, it does the film no favours and probably did much to leave audiences unimpressed.

It's a shame, because for all its faults there's much in the film to admire, from some fine supporting performances among the huge cast - the aforementioned Quaid, horribly gaunt and convincingly tubercular, Gene Hackman, Bill Pullman, Michael Madsen, Tom Sizemore, Annabeth Gish - and a superb score from James Newton Howard. Perhaps for once a little less ambition and a little more light rather than constant shade would have yielded a more successful result.

The film is annoyingly spread over two sides of a single DVD disc, although it boasts a good 2.35:1 widescreen transfer. Along with the full theatrical trailer (but not the teaser, which included some deleted scenes) it also includes the deleted scenes from the Director's Cut as well as two featurettes on the making of the film culled from interviews shot at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storytelling at its best, 20 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [VHS] [1994] (VHS Tape)
I read recently that Kevin Costner doesn't like the usual (what he regards as short ) running time of movies. Since the ground breaking Dances With Wolves he has tended to extend running time enabling his movies to get to grips with a true narrative style, where he takes the audience deep into the world of the central character and allows us the privilege of "living the life" of the character along with them. This has the effect of giving the movie a more "natural" feel, allowing the audience to
identify with the character at quite a deeper level than is usual with movies of 90 minutes or so in length. This approach has worked particulary well with this movie, and (without spoiling the plot for new viewers), it is fair to say that because of life events Earp matured into both a complex and serious character.
One of the enduring qualities of this movie is that Costner doesn't play Earp as the consummate hero of the Wild West. He is a human being with all the failings and insecurities of those around him and is not portrayed as an unbeatable gunslinger. All credit to Costner, the director, the producers and everyone involved for taking this approach.
What does set Earp apart however, according to the narrative here, is his strength of character. The question we have to ask ast the end of the movie is was that strength of character ultimately beneficial or detrimental to Earp and the members of his family?
So all in all a thought provoking movie on one of the greatest legends of the Old West, and one that has prompted me to want to read further about the enigmatic Earp. A special mention must also go to Dennis Quaid for his excellent portrayal of Doc Holliday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'FOR ME - 'ONE OF 'KEVIN COSTNER'S' - BEST PERFOMANCES', 22 Dec 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The Film depicts some of 'Wyatt's' early years including his marriage to
'Urilla Sutherland' who's premature death reduced 'Wyatt' to be a drunk
and thief.
We follow his ventures to that of a buffalo hunter, a lawman in 'Wichita'
where his reputation for a no-nonsense approach attracted an offer to become
a deputy in the out of control 'Dodge City' where he hooked up with prostitute
'Mattie' Sutherland' and where he caught sight of 'Josie Marcus' on stage.
He took his family to 'Tombstone' to find their fortune in the new town that
grew as a result of a 'Silver' find in the area, the year 1879.
From the outset the Mclaury's and 'Clanton's' were a thorn in the 'Earps' side,
a showdown between them almost Inevitable.
The film had it's fair share of critic's when released and almost certainly
failed to re-coup the film company's investment, however. me ? ...I rate the
film quite highly, it's another one of those movies I re-watch every now and
then.
The film attempts to show how 'Wyatt's reputation and actions made him the
legendary figure he became.
The portrayal of a short and bloody out-come to the famous Gunfight at the O.K
coral was probably nearer the truth than many previous films had portrayed.
Of course 'Western' fans will already have compared this to other 'Wyatt Earp'
movies down the years of which there have been many, the most notable in my view
being 'Kurt Russell's' --'Tombstone' (in which 'Val Kilmer's portrayal of 'Doc
Holliday' was brilliant) also worth watching the Burt Lancaster'/'Kirk Douglas'
film 'The Gunfight at the O.K Coral'
The film for me...tried to give a greater insight to the legend that was 'Wyatt
Earp'......certainly worth a watch.
Back in 2013 on a 12-day road trip in the U.S. I was taken to 'Tombstone' where
I saw the grave of the three victims of the O.K Coral gunfight in Boot-hill, and
spent several hours in the much-preserved town of 'Tombstone' even watching a
re-enactment of the famous fight.......the town was a lot smaller than I imagined
it to be....never-the-less well worth a visit....a part of the American old-west history.
'Tombstone' suffered three devastating fires during the 1880's but was on each
occasion restored which is why the small town is known as 'The Town Too Tough To
Die'
There are one or two additional features on-board :- 'It happened this way' ....
'Vintage TV special 'Wyatt Earp' walk with a legend'....'Theatrical Trailer' and
'Deleted Scenes'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I am not a Tombstone expert, but I have visited several times, talked to residents and have read several excellent books on the subject, including one called, "...and Die in the West," by Paula Mitchell Marks." This book is an excellent accounting of the Earp era. Paula actually researched her subject and ready the accounts of the day, including the Tombstone Epitaph and the court records of the trials mentioned.

The movie accurately portrays several events I have read about in my personal research, and therefore believe to be true. The movie even includes actual dialog from the day. While it is still a movie, and is not a 100% truthful/accurate portrayal, it is pretty close to portraying the actual events of the day, much more so that the other movie of the period, Wyatt Earp, starring Val Kilmer (still a good movie.) But for truthfulness and accuracy, This is a very good movie, definitely worth watching if you want to know how it "really" was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfying story telling, 4 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I liked Tombstone but I loved this film. It just seems more authentic, the story telling is more intelligent and the scope of the movie more satisfying.

You need to allow the film to bring you in, short fast thrills are not what this film is about. By the end you will be hooked.

Great cast who work well with the material, a gritty realistic approach which cuts no corners.

For me highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Great saga, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Norbert Warner "Bert warner" (Whitley bay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I also love Tombstone which has the greatest opening of any movie, my favourite opening used to be Ben Hur. I like this movie a lot, had it on laserdisc , then DVD and now blu ray. My only disapointment was I was hopeing they would add the additional scenes as they included them in an expensive laserdisc additon which I could not afford at the time, it was over a hundred pounds! Enough has been said about by others, some of us love it, others find it too long, I don't, wish it was longer. I know the additional scenes are included in the extras, but in a smaller ratio. I'm just disapointed that they eere not added to the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hymn To The Old Western, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This is a long film surrounding the life of Wyatt Earp, his brothers, chums and enemies. Earp comes over as the sort of chap one would not want joining your picnic party but would be admirable at dealing with those noisy students at Number 24. Played by "Laughing Kevin" Costner he is taciturn and adamantine. But behind this tale the director paints the story of the West: buffalo-skinning,railway building, gold rushes. This gives an epic quality to the first half of the film before it closes in on the feud between the Earps and the Clantons. I enjoyed it but you may lose the will to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: Wyatt Earp [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
theres no point in comparing this to Tombstone. they may be based on the same character and 1 specific incident but its like comparing a day to a millenium.
This movie charts the whole life of Wyeth Earp from start to finish to such an extend that Tombstone is just a footnote. The other difference is that this movie is accurate. Bpeople complain about Hollywood changing reality, well thats what happened in Tombstone. This isnt fiction.
Thats not too say that Tombstone isnt a good movie, it is. Its a great movie and Russel and Kilmer put in the performances of their lives but Costner equals Russel for the simple reason that he is portraying a different type of Earp. On the other side Quaid is put ot shame by Kilmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark days in the West, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to see another side of Kevin Costner's work. He is a very beautiful man and plays the romantic hero very well, is athletic and, I understand, does most of his own stunts. However, this is not a happy film. The Earp family at this time seemed to wander from state to state in America, and mostly the weather was unkind and the local population even more so. It was often difficult to distinguish between the various men as they all wore a lot of heavy dark clothing and a lot of hair and face whiskers which hid their features. There was a lot of shooting, indeed the armourer must have been a busy man as the pistols particularly were kept in beautiful condition. The Foley department was very busy with exaggerated gun noises during editing. Yes, it tells a formidable story of much hatred, killing and destruction of the buffalo, buildings and people, and I hope it was an exaggeration as I would hate to think that real life had been so awful. So Kevin was a hero in this film but not the attractive person we usually see, and it was good at the end to see him sailing into the sunset - well towards Alaska - with rather a witty and charming young lady, who the captions tell us lived happily with him for many years. He certainly deserved a little peace and quiet after the rigours of this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wyatt Earp (Amazon Instant Video)
Love this movie. Weirdly though the sound is out of sync when I play it on Fire TV. Fine when I play it through my smart tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wyatt Earp [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free]
Wyatt Earp [Blu-ray] [1994] [Region Free] by Lawrence Kasdan (Blu-ray - 2008)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews