Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my name is Alice and I remember everything
This is a 4 disc limited edition box set, comprising all three films in the series (so far) and an extra disc with more specials on.

I have to admit that I had never seen the Resident Evil films, games, books, although I had heard of Resident Evil I had no idea what it was.

These films are called zombie movies - but please don't let that put you off...
Published on 14 Dec. 2008 by Su

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag that overall proves entertaining enough
Resident Evil (2002)

A deadly viral outbreak occurs inside the hive, a vast underground research facility run by the umbrella corporation, responding to the threat the Red queen, the AI computer system controlling the hive, seals the entire facility to contain the leak, killing all the trapped employees, an elite commando team is sent in to found out what went...
Published on 7 July 2008 by R. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my name is Alice and I remember everything, 14 Dec. 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a 4 disc limited edition box set, comprising all three films in the series (so far) and an extra disc with more specials on.

I have to admit that I had never seen the Resident Evil films, games, books, although I had heard of Resident Evil I had no idea what it was.

These films are called zombie movies - but please don't let that put you off. They are great action films, the zombies are just a side story.

RESIDENT EVIL (2002)

Inside a laboratory a vial is broken causing a lockdown and hysteria in the staff that are trapped.

In Raccoon City a young woman called Alice (Milla Jovovich) wakes, naked in the shower, with no memory of who she is. Suddenly a group of paramilitary commandos storm the building. They open a secret door and enter the even more secret world of the Umbrella Corporation and its genetic and viral experiments. The facility they enter was experimenting on something called the T-virus.

The team of highly trained soldiers, including Alice, Rain (Michelle Rodriguez, SWAT) and Matt (Eric Mabius) who is a survivor that they meet on the way), penetrate the Corporations experimental centre called The Hive, which is run by a centralised security computer called the Red Queen.

Unfortunately the T-virus has the effect of turning those exposed to it into a type of zombie. Anyone bitten by these creatures becomes infected. The team must fight to survive and to escape from the Hive, because one hour after the blast doors were opened the entire facility would be sealed forever. As the team travels through the maze of the Hive Alice starts to remember about her life and her connections with the Umbrella Corporation.

RESIDENT EVIL 2 - APOLCALYPSE (2004)

The Umbrella organisation has lost control and the T-virus has escaped the Hive and infected Raccoon City.

Alice (Jovovich) finds herself allied with disgraced cop Jill Valentine (Sienna Guillory, strangely looking like she's auditioning for Lara Croft) and elite STAR member Carlos Olivera (Oded Fehr, previously seen in the Mummy and the Mummy Returns).

They make a deal with a Dr Ashford Jared Harris (son of movie great Richard Harris) - in order to escape from Raccoon City before it is nuked they must find his missing daughter Angie (Peyton Wells) and get to the last evacuation point before the final helicopter leaves.

RESIDENT EVIL 3 - EXTINCTION (2007)

The plan to wipe out the T-virus in the nuking of Raccoon City failed and it spread across the world.

Realising that she was a liability to the others Alice (Jovovich) set out on her own, and she is right. Dr Issacs (Iain Glen) and the Umbrella Corporation are still looking for her.

Olivera (Fehr) has joined up with a convoy of survivors who are lead by a woman called Claire (Ali Larter), and they are under attack when Alice makes her reappearance to save her friend. They decide to head for a save zone where there is said to be no infection but need to refuel before they set out. So they head to Las Vegas where they come under attack from a waiting group of super zombies sent by Issacs to kill the survivors and capture Alice.

My main problem with this film is the lack of explanation regarding Angie and Jill Valentine, especially since Angie was supposed to be so important in the second film. Also when a bitten person is given the antivirus in the second film, why then would he become a zombie in the second - the antivirus should have stopped that from happening. Finally, if Alice knew when someone was infected why didn't she know when a member of the convoy was infected and on the turn.

DISC 4

The content is a short documentary about the actors and their characters, and that is it. I'd hoped for more. Fortunately there are a number of extras on the discs 1, 2 and 3, which is far more than we in region 2 usually get.

There is a sneak peek at Resident Evil - Degeneration, which, I personally hope, means that there will be a 4th film. There is also a hint that there will be a 4th film in the interviews on disc 4 from Ms Jovovich herself.

---Update---

In the more recent issue of the set there are only 3 discs - the bonus material disc has now been removed from the set, not that it is a great loss as the "documentary/interviews" was a very short feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triple the Action, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Marty (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Resident Evil has now spawned 4 brilliant movies, each one vastly different from the last. This blu-ray boxset includes the first three films remastered in HD.

The quality is fantastic and works flawlessly on UK Blu-ray players for any in doubt.

The first film is more of a horror film, but the series gradually becomes much more action orientated. Milla is a great leading actress and has created a character who deserves her place among the series favourites like Jill Valentine, Chris and Claire Redfield.

The films see great actors like Ali Larter (Heroes) reprising the roles of familiar faces from the games and actually doing the characters justice.

A must have for Resident Evil fans and a fun, energetic series anyone can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series that single handedly revived the Zombie subgenre, 20 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Fans of the original videogame series have probably watched them all but just to warn that the storyline differs quite drastically from the games. The story centres around a new character called Alice, who's like a mix between Jill and Claire.

As always, people always say that the first film is the best, (which is not necessarily true, but oh well, crowd followers) and while it lays down solid foundations I found Apocalypse to be better and more action packed, as by then, the characters have developed a lot more. People I know are easily put off/offended by the genetically modified super female heroine, but those with a open mind might find the story fun to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milla Jovovich Fan!, 5 April 2009
By 
Mistress Georgina (Kent(Soth East) - UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have seen all the Resident Evil films before and played many of the games too. So I knew what to expect. I'm also a huge fan, and Milla is just one of the sexiest ladies on the planet! If you enjoy horror, zombies, weird creatures, and plenty of gun shooting,and fighting you will definitely enjoy this trilogy. If not it is worth watching just to see Milla in some pervy outfits! ;0) I have not watched the extra disc yet, so hopefully someone else can include details about that in their review. A must see for any fellow sci fi/horror geeks like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic films. Great to have them all in one box set., 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Brilliant films. Was a Christmas present for my dad and he loved them. The design and pictures on the box are great. Would recommend for anyone who likes a gory film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Having played a few of the Resident Evil Playstation games, I was sceptical when I learnt that there was going to be a film adaptation. Other game to film adaptations such as Silent Hill and Tomb Raider, haven't done the games justice in my opinion, however I don't think Resident Evil has done too bad a job.

The games are definitely better than the films (just as many books are superior to film adaptations), but it's interesting to see the characters brought to life and to recognise similiarties from the games.

Even if you've never played the games, this boxset makes for three good action films. If you're looking for good zombie films, then you can't do any better than George A Romero' Night/Dawn/Day of the dead trilogy but there is more to Resident Evil than zombies, such as mutant dogs and killer crows. The technology is pretty impressive too, not to mention Milla Jovovich as Alice and Sienna Guillory as Jill Valentine. It makes a change to have female action heroes-that look pretty good too!

If you enjoy zombie or action films in general (Resident Evil Extinction reminds me alot of Mad Max 2: Road Warrior in terms of the landscape and convoy), then you should enjoy these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars resident evil trilogy dvd set, 23 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
these are great i like the extra features on the dvd's behind the scene stuff. I love the films and the characters are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acme Brain Candy!, 31 May 2008
By 
NJ Taylor "ellabella" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Couldn't disagree more with the negative reviews - as Brain Candy this trilogy is the creme de la creme. having never played (or heard of) the game version before watching the films, the characters in the first film took some time to really get to know - but Milla Jovovitch is an ass-kicking, zombie-slaying queen. Trust me, am usually very cautionary about models-turned-actresses but she shines.

The second film is even better, introducing more fun stereotypical characters which makes them easier to follow. Alice is back and despite her bizarre outfit (how does one pick up a mini-skirt in an army surplus store I ask) is her usual awesome self. Add to this a cop who looks like she's walked off a CGI computer screen with teeny-tiny waist, short skirt and heels,(personally I can't even walk straight in stilletos let alone chase down criminals) a street-wise joker, and a troop of tough, macho-guy troops and you've pretty much got a recepie for an amazing sequel. The ending has tobe one of my all time favourite quotes.

Extinction rocks with its scenes of a devastated and deserted Planet* and a band of die-hard survivors just trying to, well, survive. Amazing cinematogrophy and more kick ass moves. Cheesy acting only add to the charm of this film and an even better ending than the second make it tops in my humble opinion. Can't help wondering if there could ever be a fourth - justice for the little people would be sooooooooo fulfilling!

* Well, mostly America to be honest, which was extremely satisfying. (Don't get me wrong, I LIKE America - the fact that seeing it buried under 20 million tonnes of sand gave me a warm fuzzy feeling is neither here nor there.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Triology Treat", 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Too often sequels are poor copies of the original, not in this case. Each of the three films, although keeping true to the storyline and theme, provide originality and cracking entertainment.
The inclusion of a bonus disc, is the "cherry on the top".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more scifi than zombie?, 24 May 2009
By 
Andrew Weir "lazarus" (s.Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resident Evil 1-3 Box Set (Resident Evil / Resident Evil 2 - Apocalypse / Resident Evil 3 - Extinction) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
first off, have to say i've never played the games,so i can't compare but having seen these movies and having just got a Wii, maybe i'll give em a go. As a box set, this is very good value for money (check out how much you'd spend to buy each separately!, and any of the extra's you may be missing out on, do you really want them?).
As to the films themselves, the first one is the best, but the other two take the story in different directions, and so are not the more of the same that you often get in sequals. The zombie aspect is far more sci fi, than horror,(serenity?) 28 days later is much more disturbing, and shaun of the dead is funnier. For this kind of action film, the acting is fine, the films are well shot and directed, Milla Jovovich has a fantastic presence in all three (not just how she looks) her 1000 yard stare could maybe take on jet li?
all in all? very enjoyable, bring on number 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews