Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really moving piece, fantastic acting.
Have watched many films in the past 2 months as I have broken my leg and ankle and there is nothing else to do! This is the only one I wanted to write a review about. I found this film so simple in its delivery but so powerful in its message. This film felt familiar to me, I hadn't seen it before but I felt like I was in the room with the characters. Vanessa Redgrave was...
Published on 31 Aug 2009 by Ms. A. Kennedy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael Buble....????
A good movie, I do like it BUT what the hell was doing Michael Buble singing (on a record!!! and not a CD, maybe, at that time) in a movie with a summer weekend some 50 years ago. I don't get it? Do you? Why they didn't choose a record from 50 years ago?????

For this it gets 3 stars if not 1!
Published 23 months ago by cati


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really moving piece, fantastic acting., 31 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. A. Kennedy "annie73" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
Have watched many films in the past 2 months as I have broken my leg and ankle and there is nothing else to do! This is the only one I wanted to write a review about. I found this film so simple in its delivery but so powerful in its message. This film felt familiar to me, I hadn't seen it before but I felt like I was in the room with the characters. Vanessa Redgrave was amazing as usual and her late daughter, Natasha was superb. So very sad to watch the dialogue between them with all that happened. This is not a big weepy, more of an emotional journey. The quality of the acting is superb. Haven't read the book but I took it for what it was, a really good film. Had my attention the whole time. I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little Gem, 9 Nov 2010
By 
J. Taaffe (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
I actually first came upon this little gem on the shelves of my local library. So taken with it that I then purchased it for two friends for X-mas gifts. It's kind of a quirky yet intriguing story which is superbly acted by (guess what?) superb actors. Definitely one to watch with a female relative and a good glass of your favourite tipple!! Jo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow-moving but thought-provoking, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of Meryl Streep, so opted for this on the basis that she's in it..

The film was quite mesmerising at times, though we didn't find it heart-rending or even tear-jerking, despite the blurb on the back insisting that it was both. However it was quite thought-provoking and somewhat moving, featuring as it does an elderly lady called Ann (brilliantly portrayed by Vanessa Redgrave) at the end of a terminal illness, with lengthy flashbacks to her younger life.

Themes are related to love, and choices; whether or not a life has been wasted or fulfilled; the value of friendship, the dangers of jealousy. It was cleverly put together, although towards the end there were some decidedly surreal scenes that were amusing rather than poignant, as it became clear that Ann had one foot in the next world already.

Meryl Streep’s cameo role did not appear until near the end, when she played the part of the Ann's now elderly friend Lila; perfectly cast, as the young Lila was played by Streep's daughter. Indeed, most of the acting was very good, although I never quite believed in the drunken, confused Buddy, and I found Ann’s daughters’ bickering to be unrealistic and inappropriate on the whole.

It could perhaps have been cut from 112 minutes to 90 without any real loss, but I didn’t find it dull at all despite being somewhat slow-moving; the ending was less morbid and more upbeat than we had feared and overall I enjoyed it.

The rating is 12 which I think is about right; there’s no real violence, just a few instances of bad language, implied intimacy but no details. The subject matter is unlikely to be of interest to anyone under the age of about 15 in any case.

Recommended if you don’t mind a bit of melodrama, and enjoy meandering character-based thematic dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 30 July 2014
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
I have no idea why this got such bad reviews from the critics. It's one of my favourite films of all time - one that I've watched over and over again.

It's a story about what life is really like beneath the glossy veneer that many people feel they have to present to the world. It explores the messy reality of love in all its guises - moments of elation, doubt, fear, courage. The love between lovers and the love between friends. The elderly Ann (Vanessa Redgrave) is in the very real and harrowing position of facing the prospect of her own imminent death, which is causing her to look back over her life and the hopes and dreams she had as a young woman. Ann's terminal illness is also causing her daughters (Toni Colette and Natasha Richardson) to examine and compare their own lives. The product description is wrong - Nina (Toni) isn't single and Constance (Natasha) isn't always content.

It's a beautifully shot, lyrical film with a great, unpredictable plot and a haunting sound track behind it. I love the fact that there are real-life mothers and daughters in the cast - Meryl and her daughter Mamie, Vanessa and Natasha. It seems so poignant that Vanessa and Natasha had those moments caught acting on film together - a daughter at a mother's death bed - just 2 years before Natasha's own death.

Not many films bring tears to my eyes, but this always does. Most importantly, it conveys the comforting message that perhaps 'there is no such thing as a mistake' in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as they said, 19 Dec 2007
This is beautiful film, it ain't a chick flick unless you are emotionally autistic! A beautiful telling of a dying women, not quite held down by this time anymore and who goes through some meanful experiences of her life, once again we see Mr Cummingham working out a bisexual tension by a beach in a house between 3 people, but unlike "The home at the end of the world", the characters have more to do, the brilliant Clare Danes playing an original women, Hugh Dancy comes out well ontop though for his performance, and all the others come and go even the formidble Meryl Streep without taking the screen and making it overly hers, the daughters story, the past and the future, the only down turning is the quick ending, but a beautiful allergory it is anyhow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hours comes to the sea shore, 21 Feb 2008
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of The Hours and its incredible cast, I was pretty certain I would enjoy Evening. This is a beautiful character-led piece, starring some incredible actresses: from Clare Danes, Toni Colette and Vanessa Redgrave. Evening is heart-warming, moving and the perfect recipe for a good night in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 1 Jan 2010
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly entertaining and very moving. Excellent performances all round, I will be buying this for my best friend as a birthday present as I think she will love it. If you liked How to Make an American Quilt and Steel Magnolias you will definitely enjoy this movie. Claire Danes doing what she does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for mum, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
MUM very happy, bought because she saw some of it on holiday, But fell a sleep and missed the end.
Looked on your website and found it, So bought it at once, good price and fast delivery.
thanks. Kev.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A stellar cast takes this film to the stars, 3 Jan 2014
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
A romantic drama of a dying singer remembering her young days and early romances. Schmaltzy? Yes, of course, but raised above cloying sentimentality by wonderful performances from an all-star cast. Vanessa Redgrave, as the leading character, Anne Grant, is hardly seen below the neck as she is on her deathbed, but she is so facially expressive, her acting shines through her marvellous eyes. Her daughters, played by her own daughter Natasha Richardson (not long before her tragic death) and Toni Collette, are both extraordinarily luminous. Claire Danes as young Anne, has just the right balance of naivety and worldliness, vulnerability and capability, to bring a vivacious edge to the crucial nub of the story, the wedding of Anne's friend Lila in the snobby and conventional world of rich Hampton society. Lila, played by Mamie Gummer when young, Meryl Streep when old, is beautifully conveyed, the girl marrying as she should rather than as she would, and the likeness continuity conveyed by the costuming and make-up between the young and old Lila is impressive.

The screenplay, co-written by Michael Cunningham, has all the hallmarks of 'The Hours' and with three of the main players from that film - Danes, Collette, and Streep, shows some similarities. The fifties drama of young Anne's romances depends on nuances of acting and expression, especially Danes and Dancy, and subtly contrast with Anne's daughters' contemporary personal conflicts, admirably portrayed by Richardson and Collette, with the period details of conversation and situation capturing the social constraints of both periods. The secondary roles are classily portrayed by Eileen Atkins, Hugh Dancy, and Patrick Wilson.

This is a remarkable little film and a very pleasant DVD to recommend for a quiet evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast doing a good job, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evening [DVD] (DVD)
This story does what it says on the tin; beautifully heartwrenching with outstanding performances. It is In the same style as The Hours; you can't afford to get sleepy you have to listen carefully to keep abreast of the story. It is a feast to watch such a high quality cast, and with so many huge stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evening [DVD]
Evening [DVD] by Lajos Koltai (DVD - 2008)
£4.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews