Customer Reviews
LAX


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Games Goin Out In Style
LAX is a MUST buy album for Game and Hip-Hop fans.
I disagree with the people complaining about there is to many tracks.
There is alot of tracks but each one of them is good so too many tracks isnt something i would complain about.
Most Recognisable tracks are Games Pain Ft Keyshia Cole
My Life Ft Lil Wayne
Dope Boys Ft Travis Barker
And Big...
Published on 20 Oct. 2008 by Ms. Alison J. Matthews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tunes!
Some good Tunes on this album. Deffinitely his weakest album so far...
Published 9 months ago by P. J. Wadkin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Games Goin Out In Style, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Ms. Alison J. Matthews "BowlHead" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
LAX is a MUST buy album for Game and Hip-Hop fans.
I disagree with the people complaining about there is to many tracks.
There is alot of tracks but each one of them is good so too many tracks isnt something i would complain about.
Most Recognisable tracks are Games Pain Ft Keyshia Cole
My Life Ft Lil Wayne
Dope Boys Ft Travis Barker
And Big Dreams ( Deluxe Adition only )

Hip-Hop Legends such as Ice Cube, Nas and Raekwon Feature.
Aswell as other artists such as Lil Wayne, Ne-Yo and Ludacris among others.
LAX is a must buy album and i would recomend it to anyone.
There is a Deluxe adition to this album which features 4 more songs than the original.
1. Big Dreams
2. Camera Phone ft Ne-Yo
3. Nice Ft Newz
4. Spanglish
These are nice additons but i wouldnt go out of your way to buy the Deluxe adition as the original has enough tracks on it to keep any one entertained.
There is not a bad track on LAX and is a must buy for Hip-Hop fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game time, 28 Aug. 2008
This review is from: LAX : Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Iv been a Game fan since day one,he was the resurrection of the West Coast
he never lets us down,ie going pop!and once again he drops a very solid album,iv been bumping it since i got it,every track is dope part from one(Ya heard)is a little weak but still a good track,I love Games lyrics and the prodution is top notch(j.r rotem/jellyroll/cool&dre who are having a great year/nottz/dj toomp/kanye/hi-tek and scott storch who does an exellent job as always.the whole album is bangin plus on this deluxe edition you get 4 extra tracks,which are all Dope and yes you get the BIG one (Big dreams)which i think should have been on the original version.So pick it up you wont regret it.
My best bits:
1.Lax files
2.My life
3.Let us live
4.Never can say goodbye
5.Dope boys
6.Letter to the king(very soulfool)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album (Download individual tracks), 12 Sept. 2008
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
Let's put it out there first, the album is too long. Too many tracks trying to achieve too many things and I think that is because there is little singular purpose on the album unlike Doctor's Advocate. The Game said he recorded 220 songs for this album - it kinda shows.

BUT the album is still very enjoyable. The Game is an able rapper who has done great appearances for Nas among others. As a result of these collaborations there are no fewer than 13 credited guests on the album. It even starts with a prayer from DMX!

Best track for me is Angel ft. Common which seemed like an unlikely pairing (other goodies include My Life ft. the obligatory Lil Wayne, Ya Heard ft. Ludacris, Game's Pain ft. Keyshia Cole, Letter to the King ft. Nas- on the deluxe version Big Dreams). There are a few excellent tracks on this album but they seem few and far between split by a lot of padding and weak, weak songs.

AGAIN rappers seem to think that value for money for a record means giving the buyer quantity and not quality. If you were a big fan of Doctor's Advocate and The Documentary then you won't be disappointed as such (hence the four stars) but you will be left in anticipation for a while waiting for something potent and poetic, of which is The Game is capable.

I think the weaker tracks ride on predictable themes in hip hop now like the track Money which is saved by a good sample production by Cool & Dre who produce a lot on the album.

I would buy individual tracks but not the album as a whole. The individual tracks are good but you have to sift through and I reckon most people who buy/download the album will do a lot of skipping. As an album, if this is The Game's last work, it doesn't leave a lasting impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Game Does It Again!, 29 Aug. 2008
By 
N Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
The Game delivers the goods once again. A long album at 70 minutes I was impressed by the lack of filler tracks and skits, with every track well produced. The album boasts a variety of styles too from gangster rap to a more mellowed style with catchy female vocals.

The Game is fast becoming one of the greatest rappers in the history of hip hop and it is obvious from his constant reference to rappers in the past (the album names Snoop Dogg several times and Big Daddy Kane amongst others) that he has a genuine love of the scene.

I doubt he will ever improve on the impressive Dre produced debut but this one sits firmly between that and The Doctors Advocate. A very worthwhile addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some class production, 29 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
Just to second what others have said...

Yes, this album does have too many tracks, and as a result some aren't as good as others. However, they're ALL listenable, and several tracks are game at his best. The production behind some of the tracks is brilliant, and his rapping style is true, compared with that of 50 cents bubble gum rap.

Anyone who was a fan of the first albums should DEFINATELY give this a chance. Tracks to look out for include Money, Big Dreams, My Life, Angel, State of Emergency (california aint a state...it's an army lol) and many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...classic 'Game' album., 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because, I liked the 'Documentary' and 'Doctors Advocate'. I wasn't dissapointed, excellent beats, rhymes, gangster feel,attitude, but more mature. I like all the tracks, worth it just for 'Camera Phone' alone, there are a few versions of this album though, one with him sitting on a couch smoking(front cover) this one, maybe 1 more, I've owned both these, they have 2 or 3 different tracks on each, either is good. Explicit lyrics, gun violence not for the easily lead, or weak minded. Hardcore Gangster Rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LAX, 22 Aug. 2008
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
Iv been a huge Game fan since the beginning and he never lets us down once again this is a real Banger!every track is Dope,absolutely luv it,just sad this will be his last,
Please pick up this album on the 25th and support real hip hop
Also check out Ice Cube's 'RAW FOOTAGE'Also a realy great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars is not enough, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
S. King "Steveyboy King" (Cambridge U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LAX : Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Amazing, amazing album.
The Best Rap or any album I have listened to for some time.
Every track is amazing.
Highly recommend this to any one.
Stand out trax for me, If I had to choose are State of Emergency, Bullet Proof Diaries and My Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game album yet, 5 Oct. 2008
By 
J-T-E (west yorks) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant, it is much better than the doctors advictate mainly because he does not go on about Dre on each track, this is his own work and it shows how good he is, there is no bad track on this album so i reccomend it highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 16 Oct. 2011
This review is from: LAX (Audio CD)
great album game smashes rap again with this his 2nd best yet dope boys and l.a.x the best tracks here cant wait to see him live at o2 apollo should be be quality people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LAX
LAX by The Game (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews