Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition
This expansion does not make scoring farms complicated at all (as the previous reviewer suggests), in fact it makes the scoring of farms easier!
This is the best expansion to Carcassonne in my opinion. Definately a must buy if you enjoy Carcassonne and have the first two expansions (Inns and Cathedrals, Traders and Builders).
Published on 4 Dec 2008 by J. K. WARREN

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A further development
the abbeys don't significantly change the game play of the game, but mayors make it far easier to steal cities from other players, and the barn makes the farming situation obscenely complicated. I'd only buy this if you already have all the other large expansions - as it's a big step up from the others in terms of complexity. As with all the other expansions - the more...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A further development, 17 Nov 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
the abbeys don't significantly change the game play of the game, but mayors make it far easier to steal cities from other players, and the barn makes the farming situation obscenely complicated. I'd only buy this if you already have all the other large expansions - as it's a big step up from the others in terms of complexity. As with all the other expansions - the more you use the harder the game becomes to play well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition, 4 Dec 2008
By 
J. K. WARREN (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
This expansion does not make scoring farms complicated at all (as the previous reviewer suggests), in fact it makes the scoring of farms easier!
This is the best expansion to Carcassonne in my opinion. Definately a must buy if you enjoy Carcassonne and have the first two expansions (Inns and Cathedrals, Traders and Builders).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice expansion, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
This gives you the Mayor, a big guy with big trousers, and the Abbey, a nice little way to close off 4 corners at once.
A good expansion, though probably not to be played every game, just once in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nicer expansion, 30 April 2010
By 
L. Holton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
Carcassonne expansion seem to come in forms of 'can do nasty stuff to people' or 'adding creative depth' - this is an expansion of the latter group - the mayor helps counter 'the big man' usurping your city, the Abbey to fill in those annoying 'can't finish' squares, and the new pieces open farms and roads well.

We liked this expansion to 'the nice game', but our teenagers prefer the nastier expansions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Addon, 22 Jun 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
Carcassone Expansion Abbey and Mayor is a very useful addon to the game. I have played the game for several years and been frustrated by the odd square in the middle that no tile will fit - problem solved - the Abbey! And the mayor adds a nice twist to building cities, nicly balanced. This set complements the main game and first two addons perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit complicated...., 18 April 2011
By 
P. Schofield (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
Carcassonne is an incredible game - I play with the original river, Inns & Cathedrals, Traders & Builders, all of which take no time to understand the rules to - but the Abbey & The Mayor pack is a bit more complicated. The other packs come with a small double-sided instruction sheet, but this pack's instructions are double.

Contents:

a few extra tiles - easy to integrate as no new rules are introduced

wagons for each player - took a while to understand, but don't see the advantage of them

a mayor for each player - took me quite a few read throughs to understand, and these pieces make the game MUCH more aggressive!

barns - still don't understand, as they seem to make farming scoring even more complex!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A neat expansion, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Timotai (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
My family enjoy Carcassonne quite a lot and the expansions have slowly been increasing, this is an interesting expansion and quote fun to add in. Unfortunately my parents find it a bit difficult and confusing having only played a few times but I'm sure they'll get better! It came within the delivery time and nothing was broken. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to enjoyable game, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
Enjoyed this addition, it did make a difference to the game. Do think the price is excessive for what you get though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars purchased as a gift, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
This arrived very promptly and I gave it to friends as a gift - it has some very good features and is fun to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Expansion, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor (Toy)
Quick delivery, ahead of schedule, well packaged. Have only played with this expansion a couple of times, enjoyed it gives game an a new twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carcassonne Expansion 5: Abbey & Mayor
Used & New from: £32.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews