Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retro style that works
I wanted a whistling kettle that had style and worked well. My Wesco red kettle does just that. It looks impressive and boils water very quickly, everything you could ask for in fact. The silicon handle makes pouring safe and comfortable and the wide base makes good use of the gas burner. My only criticism is the mechanism for opening the spout can catch the unwary finger...
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by S. Brass

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wesco - Classic Line 2.0Lt Stovetop Kettle - Red
The lid covering the main opening in which you pour water to boil is hard to get off. The spout lid does not make for a full pour. It looks great, seems sturdy. Delivered on time.
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by sundaymission


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retro style that works, 3 Dec 2009
By 
S. Brass (oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted a whistling kettle that had style and worked well. My Wesco red kettle does just that. It looks impressive and boils water very quickly, everything you could ask for in fact. The silicon handle makes pouring safe and comfortable and the wide base makes good use of the gas burner. My only criticism is the mechanism for opening the spout can catch the unwary finger if you aren't careful...and that can hurt. Overall I would recommend the Wesco kettle if you want one that is a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 1 Jun 2009
I bought this kettle - after a long search - for my old mother. She refuses to use an electric kettle & boils water for her tea in a little pan on the stove. Sometimes she forgets the pan is boiling & so it boils dry - I figured its only a matter of time before she burns the house down. Hence the whistling kettle.
My review applies to this purpose.
Good:
- Looks lovely!
- Whistle is very homely sounding & loud enough without being piercing.
- The whistle cannot be left off by mistake - the lever to open it is spring-loaded & shuts when you take your finger off it. (Most other stove-top models either have a removable whistle or one which can stick open.)
Not so good:
- Its big - not ideal for making just one or two cuppas. But to be fair I looked everywhere & couldn't find a small kettle that was fit for my purpose.
- Its quite heavy.
- The spout is positioned so that you really have to tilt the thing at a massive angle to get all the water out - which is quite awkward. Again not ideal if there wasn't much water in there to start with - ie just 1 or 2 mugs worth.
- The spout is quite small so just a little tricky to fill via the spout from the tap. However you can of course remove the main lid & use that to fill up.

I give it 5 stars as its the best I came across for my purpose.

Whilst writing this review - it strikes me that the issue of having a small kettle just to make 1 or 2 cups of tea/coffee - is also very relevant to energy conservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it looks, 29 May 2010
By 
J. Timmins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Totally happy with it. If there is one tiny criticism it's that pouring the very last bit out is tricky. The whistle is loud enough I hear it in the garden; the trigger to open the spout is the best I've used (of two or three). Actually I have a camping kettle that is pretty good that way.

And if you like the looks it looks better for real than the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Kettle!, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
We have been through a dozen or so hob kettles and this is the Rolls Royce of them all!
Why?
1. Handle feels nice and doesn't get too hot to pick up
2. Whistle is gentle then loud but not ear-piercing (even bearable with a hangover)
3. Whistle is attached so can't lose it - moving parts are metal not plastic
4. Feels solid but not as heavy as a cast iron one
5. Spout is high enough and close enough to body not to get hot from the gas flame, so you don't get spurted with hot water when you try to pour it.
6. Lovely clunky sound when you press the button to lift the whistle
Love this kettle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wesco - Classic Line 2.0Lt Stovetop Kettle - Red, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
The lid covering the main opening in which you pour water to boil is hard to get off. The spout lid does not make for a full pour. It looks great, seems sturdy. Delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
We are really happy with this kettle. We looked at various different hob top kettles and decided to go for this one based on previous reviews and of course looks! We have an induction hob and it works perfectly, boiling quickly and most importantly, because of the silicone handle and whistle trigger, the parts you need to touch don't get hot. A great kettle, that we would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and sturdy kettle, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Miss LA Beswick "Lynsey" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
I spent a good amount of time shopping around for a good quality stove kettle as so many have been disappointing. This kettle also looks fab and does the job of boiling your water, whistling well, lid is secure, doesn't scald or burn your hand when you pour.
I like to fill the kettle in the morning and put what I don't use in a thermos to use for the remainder of the day. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made & fun kettle, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Bought to use on our induction job & it's just as fast as our previous plug kettle.
Really pleased with kettle which feels far more robust than its competitors & love the personality of the whistle when it's finished - a real attention seeker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wesco kettle, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
Kettle looks classy sitting on top of my stanley cooker. Boils really quickly and like the easy opening handle for the spout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steam back again, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: Wesco Classic Line Stainless Steel 2 Litre Stove Top Kettle, Red (Kitchen & Home)
This kettle is cheaper than an electric one to use. Gas is one third the cost of electric and altough it takes slightly longer to boil it's worth using if you have the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews