Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive Scrubber
Excellent piece of software works perfectly fine on Windows 7 also without having to change compatibility settings. Ideal if you want to format any old drives you may have lying around and then can safely dispose of or even sell on. Software itself is only a small install so does not take ages to install or load, pretty user friendly and it would be quite tricky to format...
Published on 8 Nov 2009 by Mr. S. Gregory

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says; don't buy unless you need it.
This product was a little difficult to review. If you need to use it it's incredibly useful and does exactly what you need to do. If you don't really need to use it, then it'll probably only be an item you use once or twice, especially given that the licence only lasts one year and that's one year from the installation on the first PC.

It can take quite some...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Arynth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says; don't buy unless you need it., 21 Oct 2009
By 
Arynth (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This product was a little difficult to review. If you need to use it it's incredibly useful and does exactly what you need to do. If you don't really need to use it, then it'll probably only be an item you use once or twice, especially given that the licence only lasts one year and that's one year from the installation on the first PC.

It can take quite some time to fully wipe a drive. I discovered this when I was prepping some drives for environmentally-safe disposal. I think the reason it takes this long is because of the mechanics of scrubbing (ie writing and rewriting rubbish data I think).

I keep a lot of sensitive data on my hard-drives (copyrighted material, invoices, banking details etc) and I don't want to risk data loss when I get rid of my drives. This prog is really perfect in ensuring that.

The program also offers the ability to 'scrub' the free space on your drive. So, if you've deleted sensitive data before you can be sure that you get rid of it entirely.

I'm not sure about its claims concerning 'military-grade' scrubbing, but this could well be true. I'm just not in a position to be able to judge that. I haven't measured its success against data-retrieval software, so I can't go as far as to say I am 100% it will permanently erase your data.

Again: if you've got the use for it, chuck on another 2 stars. If not, then it will probably be a fairly-expensive shelf-ornament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drive scrubber, 1 Feb 2009
By 
D. Vardy (Rotherham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Well ,it certainlty cleans dives exactly as it says , thing is that on larger drives it really does take a long time .3 days for a 120 gb hard drive (maybe that was my computer!). works quickly on partial drives though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says but not without difficulty!, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Jodi Dougan "Jodi" (Ballygowan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This product does exactly what it says - permanently and irretrievably wipes all data from your laptop or pc!

However that said there are a number of drawbacks to this product.

Firstly, it is a licensed product - something which is not made clear in the listings page or on the back cover of the box. Supposedly the license lasts for one year. However as soon as you load drive scrubber into your pc you will be asked for your credit card information and you are told that you will be billed in three months for the first part of your subscription. I tried entering an incorrect card number and it allowed me to progress through this stage but at a later stage it refused to continue until I had corrected my credit card information.

Secondly this product is very difficult to use. This is no plug and play device! You have to have the technological know how to get into your computer's BIOS and change the boot order so that your CD is the first item to re-boot otherwise the Drive Scrubber simply will not work.

I contacted Drive Scrubbers help desk several times and even resorted to telling them I was reviewing their product and the help I received was inadequate to say the least. Thankfully I know a little about computers and so was able to figure out how to do this myself after much trial and error.

When I actually got the product to work it took over twelve hours to wipe my lap-top and this wasn't even at their maximum number of re-writes - this product is slow and noisy. Now I know you're not going to be sitting watching it work but still make sure that you can close the door of the room that it's in because if you leave it running in the corner of your bedroom you are not going to get any sleep with the strange bleeps and clicking sounds.

All said and done I've given it three stars based only on the fact that it does what it says it will do but if I had to pay my own money for it - I quite simply would be asking for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Year Subscription, 20 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
When I received this software I saw that it is a one year license. This is not clear in the product description. If you clean up an old PC, it may well be over a year before you need to clean another one so I will be returning the product and seeking an alternative without a time limit on useage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive Scrubber, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. S. Gregory "bigsg5" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Excellent piece of software works perfectly fine on Windows 7 also without having to change compatibility settings. Ideal if you want to format any old drives you may have lying around and then can safely dispose of or even sell on. Software itself is only a small install so does not take ages to install or load, pretty user friendly and it would be quite tricky to format the wrong drive by mistake. The software does give you several prompts and advises you exactly when the drive will be formatted, the final screen you have to manually type in the word PROCEED (can be typed in upper or lowercase) before continuing. So there is no chance that you can press a button by mistake. I used this software on a 8GB USB2 drive that I had and using the securest setting it took 1 hour 40 mins to complete. Ensure that if you are running this on a laptop you may need to adjust your power management settings, as if your laptop goes to sleep after a certain amount of time you will need to restart the whole process again.
For desktop users using this software with bigger hard drives, if possible it will save you a lot of time (approx 50%) if you can plug the drives to be scrubbed via a SATA cable directly as opposed to a USB Caddy due to faster transfer rates.
The only downside to this software is that it does expire, not sure if you can renew after the 12 months or just buy the next version. However 5 stars as does exactly what its meant to effectively!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seems to do the trick..., 13 Oct 2009
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This seems to be a good product. As I'm not a military computer or police forensic expert I can't vouch for the fact that your date really will be destroyed but this product seems to be as good as any I've seen. The drive wiping really does take an age but this should be seen as a good thing, it is obviously doing the job right! My one bugbear is the 12 month licence. WHY?? Unless you are a professional (and surely they have better kit) you won't be needing this any more regularly than when you upgrade your pc - possibly once or twice every 5 years. So you would need to buy a new copy of this software every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Safe and Secure Drive Wiper, 31 Aug 2009
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The installation is simple and the interface easy to use. Once you've decided what you want to wipe the software sets to work without the need for you to hover over things, so you can concentrate on other things that are more interesting. The whole process can take a considerable amount of time, but it leaves the drive ready to start afresh and does a very good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works, but the overall impression is mixed, 19 Nov 2009
By 
mr_ska (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of those software items that should be totally straightforward and either good or bad. But this one isn't. It is somewhere in the middle. It comes in a DVD case, and the licence sticker inside has Drive Scrubber 3 DVD along with a couple of lines of codes printed on it. Now that in itself is the first odd thing. I only needed one of the codes to install the software. Then I noticed that the disc itself is a CD and not a DVD. So okay, that alone is not a deal-breaker, but there are several little things like that which make me dubious of the overall quality of the Drive Scrubber package.

I get the impression from the blurb that came with it and from using the CD that the software was really meant to be downloaded from the internet and installed from an executable file rather than distributed on a CD. Which gives a somewhat confused experience when installing and using the program since if you only want to use it to 'scrub' all the data off a complete HDD then you don't actually need to install it within windows at all. But if you want to use it to 'scrub' the empty parts of drives and partitions rather than the whole HDD then you DO have to install it.

When you install it the software bugs you to register with Iolo, but it isn't necessary to do so to use it. You get a one year licence for it which allows you to install it on up to three computers. Which is also somewhat strange as this type of software is not the kind of thing you would expect to pay for more than once. After all, overwriting data lots of times to eliminate any trace of the original data isn't something that is likely to be revolutionised on a yearly basis.

Using it within Windows to clear partitions and overwrite empty space is straightforward enough and it does appear to work as you would expect it to. The more 'secure' you want to be the longer it takes. Which is not unexpected either.

Using the Boot CD to 'scrub' entire HDDs is also straightforward. It boots to its own menu (it runs on some version of DOS) and gives you a range of options for 'scrubbing'. The more secure the results the longer it will take. And boy will it take a long time if you choose the most secure options for something like a 1TB+ drive. Expect it to take about a week or so for that. Yes, it really WILL be that time consuming if you go for maximum security on a very large HDD.

So overall I am left with a mixed impression of this Drive Scrubber software package. The program itself does appear to work as it is intended within Windows and when used as a Boot disc. But the shabby overall presentation of the package and the peculiar one year licence terms are quite off-putting and seriously undermine any impression of 'quality' that I might have developed from using the software. Frankly I would do a bit of shopping around to find a better option for erasing drives securely even though this Iolo software does work as it is meant to. The overall package just doesn't have the right 'feel' of quality and consistency to it. The presentation is amateurish and that takes a lot away from my confidence in this Drive Scrubber software package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scrub it clean to make it vanish!, 23 Sep 2009
By 
PriyaSoum (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I havent yet put the end results to the test properly but I am quite hopeful that initial feedback is enough to justify at least a 3-star rating. DriveScrubber 2008 is an easy to use package and if what you really need to do is to erase old drives then this is the right tool for you. It is super easy to install & use. Thereafter, depending on the size of the drive in question, it will take an hour or two to erase everything in question. You will then be able recycle your PC/drives without worrying about any personal data falling into the wrong hands. The capability to create a boot CD is a definite plus and extends the software's utility to some distance beyond the apparent initial benefits. However, everyone must realise that this software kills the hard drive and it should be used only to wipe off or clean ALL data on the PC you are planning to sell or trash. If anyone wants to resurrect personal data or files, DriveScrubber is the death-knell for such efforts. And yes, no Macs please ... not just yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars works - but only for 1 year, 26 Sep 2009
By 
Don Panik (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Reasonably priced software that installed easily on XP sp3 PC and did a thorough job on both an internal and external drive. My main problem with it is the time taken - it claims to be fast - it certainly is not if you opt for the military strength level of wipe, but you can leave it to get on with it.

Would rate it as better value if it wasn't a one year licence - which I think is hard to justify - most domestic users aren't going to use this package that often, and it's not as though you really need regular updates on the software.

Others have tried some recovery software to test it - I haven't but am prepared to take it on trust that it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's
Drive Scrubber - Up to 3 PC's by iolo Technologies (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews