Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Blu Ray conversion....
This is, of course, a classic film and we all know the quality of casting and the cinematography however, you cant help but wonder how it's going to look when put on to Blu Ray. The good news is, you're not going to be disappointed!

It's been remastered in to full 1080p which brings a great depth of colour and added realism to the film. Like with The Shining,...
Published on 3 Jun. 2008 by A. Flowers

versus
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT VERY HIGH DEFINITION
Although this is a fantastic film, I have to say I was very very disappointed with the 'supposed' Blu-Ray high definition. This film was supposedly remastered in 1080p Blu-Ray in this version of the disc I bought, but i cannot see any signs of the HD effect....did they actually forget to remaster it? It looks no different to my original DVD copy. Playing back through my...
Published on 1 Jan. 2008 by W. G. Weir


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Blu Ray conversion...., 3 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is, of course, a classic film and we all know the quality of casting and the cinematography however, you cant help but wonder how it's going to look when put on to Blu Ray. The good news is, you're not going to be disappointed!

It's been remastered in to full 1080p which brings a great depth of colour and added realism to the film. Like with The Shining, it makes an old film look like a recent production. While you cant always see a difference between DVD & Blu Ray, this is a great film to show you just how much more vibrant it really does look. The improved sound also helps, you can now watch it on any decent surround sound system and not have to keep turning it up or down depending on the scene.

I'd highly recommend this version of the film. If you enjoyed it originally, this will definitely improve your viewing pleasure and it'll be a great addition to your ever growning Blu Ray collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great HD release, 7 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Never mind the other comments, they are for the 2007 Blu-Ray. This 2008 edition has a great 1080p image that feels very natural, with a pleasing amount of grain. It looks very close to how the film looked in theaters.

Unlike the previous edition this one has a couple of interesting extras, above all a very good commentary. Especially Vincent d'Onofrio offers a lot of insight into the making of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well -paced, 19 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Deluxe version Blu-ray review. This film seems to disturb people, partly because it does not take the strongly polarised position that other war films take, and they cannot categorise it. Is it pro-war, or is it anti-war? Its ambiguity lets us make our own minds up, but I don't think that is clear-cut enough for many people, so it disturbs them. The film is essentially split in two; a long look at the nature of Marine training, and the dehumanising nature of preparing people to kill, and then a move to Vietnam to see what happens to some of them next. Interestingly, most of the fighting, which never took over from the characters, took place in cities or towns, rather than in the jungle, which is the norm in Vietnam war films.

I hadn't seen the film for a long-time, the last time being on late night TV, so this was a fresh look. I really liked it, particularly its portrayal of human frailties, without judging them. The best thing for me though was the pace. It maintained a steady almost rhythmical pace, with events often well telegraphed, but it drew me in and kept my attention throughout nonetheless.

Full metal Jacket was a very early Bluray transfer and was widely criticised at the time. Warner Brothers took the criticism on the chin, and they redid the transfer for this deluxe version. It is presented in 1.78:1 format, giving full-screen on a widescreen TV. Detail was good, well focused without being pin-sharp, with good saturated colours, particularly the green of the uniforms. Some of the colours appeared just slightly off to me, which may have been a deliberate effect.

Audio Quality was good, with an uncompressed PCM 5.1 track in English. It wasn't quite as good as the picture, with a lot of the noise from the front, but dialogue was clear and some of the sound effects were very good. The soundtrack was very carefully chosen and seemed a bit incongruous at times:- watch out for Nancy Sinatra singing "These boots are made for walking." I deliberated over the rating for some time. In my view it is very close to five stars, but in the end I went for four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KUBRICK'S ICONIC WAR MOVIE., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Full Metal Jacket (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The perfect gift for all movie buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

If Platoon is the Vietnam story that contemplates the battle of your soul then Full Metal Jacket is the internal battle between rationality and irrationality stuck in a place that seems void of both.

From the humiliating initiation in the first act to the dead end pointlessness of the third act there is a haunting reflection on the frustrating, disconcerting, and incomplete nature of war. While there is a great sense of realism to Kubrick's style there is also an understated dream realm that makes the real seem quite surreal in all of its authenticity. The reason Full Metal Jacket is so difficult to grasp or even experience is because it's an unabashedly horrific examination of how war not only changes our physical selves but also our internal selves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT VERY HIGH DEFINITION, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
W. G. Weir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although this is a fantastic film, I have to say I was very very disappointed with the 'supposed' Blu-Ray high definition. This film was supposedly remastered in 1080p Blu-Ray in this version of the disc I bought, but i cannot see any signs of the HD effect....did they actually forget to remaster it? It looks no different to my original DVD copy. Playing back through my Tosh 37X3030 (which has proven to be a simply stunning Full HD TV on other Blu-Ray titles I bought), there is lots of video noise, there is little evidence of 1080p remastering. If you have watched the Blu-Ray version of, say, Casino Royale, or Planet Earth at 1080p, with its pin-sharp picture and sound, then you will be very disappointed with this version of Full Metal Jacket. I realise its an older film, but it does not even LOOK like HD to my eyes. This means I will probably be avoiding all old 'remastered' films....Not the High Definition treat I was hoping for when I took the HD plunge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic War Movie, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
D. Hackett "cuculan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Full Metal Jacket is certainly a movie to watch. It is really a movie of two parts, the first being the training at the barricks, which is in itself its own movie. The drill instructor is outstanding and surely must rate as one of the best performances by any actor in recent times. Although I have been informed that this drill instructor is in fact a real soldier and not an actor at all (I can't confrm if this is the case though). This makes his performance an even greater triumph. The second part of the movie focuses on the trials of "the joker" and co as they move through the various stages of the conflict, and is also entertaining. Definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IMO: One of the best movies ever created, 24 May 2010
By 
Oliver Hvidt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the kind of movie that you will want to watch over and over again, and every time you do, the genius dialouge and intense action seems to become even better. Unfortunately the movie looses tempo in the middle, but if you watch it all the way trough, you are in for an experience that will stick with you forever (and make you want to watch more of Kubrick's masterpieces, which i can only recommend).

Watching this makes me wonder why some of the elements that works so well in FMJ isn't seen in today's cinema, Stanley Kubrick is surely missed!

Watch it now, then watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Brilliant Vietnam War Movie, 20 July 2010
I must say Full Metal Jacket has to be my all time favourite war movie. This movie is an excellent blend of the horrors of war and the sadistic humour some real life soldiers have in order to endure such a brutal war. Full Metal Jacket has an incredible selection characters, full of charisma and energy, with some scenes that will either disgust you or have you in stitches. I found this movie an amazing experience, not to be taken too seriously as it is just fiction at the end of the day, not a documentary. If you love war movies with a twist then you will love this. A true masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes Sir, Drill Sergeant, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before watching this I’d watched ‘Platoon’ the previous evening, more on that later.
Firstly, I thoroughly enjoyed this film which scored very highly on Rotten Tomatoes and IMDb, though not quite so well on Roger Ebert’s site.
The film won no major awards though it was nominated. The highlight for me (and many others I would guess) was the Marine, drill sergeant, Hartman – played by R L Emery. That was some performance, (it deserved an Oscar IMHO), and no one else in the film gets near to that level, though they all do a first class job.
The role draws an immediate comparison with ‘Emil Foley,’ the drill Sergeant, in ‘An Officer and a Gentleman.’ However, this was five years earlier in 1982, which goes to show that you can reprise a hit role quite quickly, but it has to be very, very, good!
Emery is now 71. He had four children – all very well behaved apparently!
On a more serious note, he was in fact a drill instructor in the Marines and toured Vietnam – no wonder he was so damned good!
The first half of the film is just brilliant, as the young marines are put through their paces by the uncompromising Hartman. There’s a lot of humour in here too. The second half doesn’t quite keep to that high standard but is never less than totally watchable. The fighting is a snippet of the ‘Tet offensive, which was about halfway through the war.
I think I enjoyed ‘Platoon’ a little more. Maybe it was the jungle warfare as opposed to the fighting in the City? Maybe it was because of the ‘seen it all before’ syndrome? Maybe ‘Platoon’ had a wider scope about what happened in Vietnam and therefore covers more of the salient points? In any event, It was Platoon that won the Oscar?
They are both very good films for sure and great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Searingly good cinema!, 29 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Full Metal Jacket was the penultimate film by Stanley Kubrick.

Essentially two Vietnam war films in one, training and then the real thing, we are firstly introduced to a group of young American recruits starting basic training in preparation for duty in Vietnam. The Drill Sergeant, played with fierce authenticity by Lee Ermey, dominates the first "film" with a performance that is still extremely powerful even today over 25 years later. The armies efforts to turn law abiding citizens into trained and effective killers, involves humiliation and dehumanisation. This the drill sergeant excels at.

The second "film" follows some of our recruits in Vietnam.

Joker, the lead, played by Mathew Modine is excellent as the slightly out of place and time recruit who sees the training and the War itself as what it is, futile and as a result treats the whole experience with little respect. When he realises that one of his buddies is struggling and falling behind, he attempts to help, but his efforts are insignificant against an inflexible narrow minded institution that only recognises strength and success and not weakness and failure.

Full Metal Jacket is easily one of the best war films ever made. Peppered with biting humour and foul language it's not only frightening but extremely funny as well. The form of breaking the movie into two halves shows us the effects of institutionalised violence on young minds and then in film 2 the real thing on the battle fields. This "Duality" seems to have been a theme that Kubrick explored in other films.

Opening with a wonderful "haircut montage", that could easily have been used at the start of a comedy, we cut right to the drill sergeant and his pre prepared, foul, and often used introductory speech. Shot with a steady cam, as the sergeant slowly walks round the bland and featureless barracks, this opening 10 minute sequence introduces us to the main characters and is a tour de force for Kubrick and Ermey who between them set the tone for the whole movie. We are effectively told that the Drill Sergeant is "God" for the next 8 weeks and the recruits must treat him as such. He will control their every waking hour with a rod of iron. They are little more than maggots and he thinks them all "equally useless" The chilling effects of this regime and training on one particular recruit is truly terrifying and ultimately deadly.

In film 2 we follow Joker, now a war correspondent writing for Stars and Stripes, as he looks for the war so he can report on it. Politics hampers his ability to tell the truth and his habit of wearing a helmet with "born to kill" along with a "peace badge" betrays his real thoughts on the war. Again the duality of man theme raises its head.

It's hard to believe but this film was shot entirely in the United Kingdom, I understand only few stock footage shots, from a helicopter, may have been used. Other than that the dreary south east had to stand in for sunny and warm Vietnam. Amazingly you really can't tell unless you look at the emaciated looking Palm Trees in some shots. The sequences with the sniper, shot at a disused power station are totally convincing and authentic looking.

With a fantastic 60's soundtrack, memorable performances, and wonderful sets and of course Kubrick's writing and direction you really are watching a quality production from a master filmmaker. Like most of Kubrick's films this will stay with you long after it has finished.

A word of warning, the language in this film is quite course, as you would expect in a film set in an Army barracks. Be warned some may be offended by some of the words and phrases used. The film was not shot in wide screen, and as a result some DVD copies have been formatted to fit a modern TV. If you want to watch it in its original aspect ratio of 4-3 you should check the DVD specifications or if your TV can compensate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Full Metal Jacket (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [2001] [Region Free]
£7.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews