Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.39+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2008
This is a ff game more like a ff game. You should finish the game in 20 hours but if you power levelling and boosting stats, it can take 30 hours (Don't do it. Game becomes ridiculously easy if you do that).

Just for reference. Your stats by the end of the game for the main character should have HP around 2500 and MP 400. I got to 9000 and 800 in the end, final boss was like a joke to me.

There are new dungeons as well and puzzles are not as good as ff1's but it is still not bad. Like later ff games, it does not have much replay value because everything is almost the same but still if you decide to replay, you can try to develop characters into different jobs, just they don't have any titles for them.

You might be able to play single character game and develop a very strong ultima using character in the end of the game.

Anyway, once again old battle controls system and not much replay value, storyline is better than ff1 now. Still four stars.

Recommend to buy because it is cheap.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
Final Fantasy II (PSP) is often looked back on with mixed feelings from fans of the Final Fantasy series. However, if you give it a chance you will find it to be a hidden jem of a game!

Final Fantasy II (PSP) is a remake of the origional that was first released in Japan in 1988 on the NES. It is part of the 20th Anniversary of Final Fantasy which also saw the release of Final Fantasy I (PSP) (Another great game!)

Despite it being over 20yrs old, the game still feels fresh. Square Enix have done a great job of polishing up this little jem for the PSP. The 2D graphics have been redone & look spectacular on the PSP's high-res widescreen. All of the music and SFX have also been remastered, without ruining the classic musical score from the origional and it sounds amazing!

FF2 follows the story of 4 young characters - Firion, Maria, Guy & Leon. Their hometown is destroyed by an evil empire, ruled over by the Emperor. Leon gets seperated from the other characters and you control Firion, Maria & Guy in their quest to find him and restore order to the world.

With any Final Fantasy game, there is a plethora of weapons, equipment, items & magic to choose from and find throughout the game. Unlike other games of the series, your characters don't level up in the traditional sense. Instead, characters grow their stats by the actions they take in battle. For example, the more damage you take in battle, the more your HP grows. The more times you use the 'Fire' spell, the stronger it gets, etc.

Some people don't like this system of character development, as it is very different to the other games in the series. However, this is a very interesting & fun way to develop your characters. You are not limited to individual jobs, any character can be developed in any way you want. This gives the game a lot of replay value.

As well as the main game, the PSP version features additional dungeons, bestiery, art gallery & music player. You certainly get a lot packaged up into this title, which is very good value for money.

Whether you are a fan of the Final Fantasy series, or just fancy a change. Final Fantasy II (PSP) is definately a game that you should play!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
This game has something of a bad reputation amongst fans of the series, owing to historic problems in older versions of the game relating to character stat improvements (primarily). This was my first time playing through the game, and I can honestly say that I felt this game was a step above the original Final Fantasy in almost every way. 

Honestly, I had a blast with this game. My biggest gripe would be the lack of intuity with quests like the Arcane Labyrinth. Compared with the rest of the game and it's linearity, this dungeon threw a spanner in the works by forcing me to research online to save potentially hours of time in working out how it works. Otherwise, I felt that the game play thoroughly complemented the story and I enjoyed both immensely.

Even on completion, the game unlocks a new dungeon which replays the story's final hours from a different perspective. This added an additional five hours of time to my total, making it a 45 hour investment of time to complete the game. As if that wasn't enough, there is also an in-game bestiary for you to complete which was another fun little distraction in its own right.

 I feel that history has been unkind to this game, and that this Anniversary Edition is very much the definitive way to experience Final Fantasy II without the issues and pains from the original version.

It also marks a solid route of innovation and development over the original game. Instead of clinging onto elements that were successful, Squaresoft instead delivered a brand new experience from start to finish, setting a hallmark for what would become a standard of the Final Fantasy series.

Please do check out my full review at http://puremediareviews.blogspot.com :-) all views and comments welcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
The level system in this game is often slated, but I find it to be one of the best aspects of this game. You see the thing is level grinding is obsolete, instead the characters adapt to how you've equipped them and grow in strength in according to that. This is fantastic as it means with each play through you can have a different experience. It also adds an element of challenge to the game as you may not have a balanced team depending on how you played it, or on the opposite hand you could end up with the ultimate team, it is entirely up to you.
The story is quite straightforward and easy to follow, with a lot of exploration in character development that was not available in the previous game. The world is wonderful to explore, it is relatively small in comparison to the worlds in the later additions to the series but it does not really need to be bigger.
It isn't an RPG that you have to spend hours on, instead it is an easy pick up and play game for something to do to fill the time. Very enjoyable and easy going game, which even hardcore gamers like myself can enjoy.
Having played the original version I must admit I prefer this version. The narrative is exactly the same but it looks and feels much more polished and finished.
It is definitely worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
I couldn't find this information anywhere before I went and bought it, so I'm really just writing this to make it known that the UK copies of this game have an option to play the game in Japanese. When you start a new game, you can choose from English, simpler kana-only Japanese, and kanji-and-all full Japanese. Indeed, given that it was in Japanese first, why not include that option in the Western releases too? I salute Square for very admirably doing so.

Aside from that, this instalment always appealed to me as it's the only Famicom-era Final Fantasy that has proper main characters and the unique levelling system also piqued my interest. TOSE have done a marvellous job with porting the game to take advantage of the PSP hardware and it looks and sounds great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
What can one say. It's a portable version of Final Fantasy II. If you're a fan of the Final Fantasy series, get it, if not, don't bother. you'll find the game childish at best. However, this is one of the best RPG ever release for a gaming system, and now we can take it with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2010
this game is great every one who rates this game is just going by the new games if you look at the new games this one is nothing like them so dont compare them this game is great in its own rights if you want an rpg what will offer long drooling night get something like final fantasy 4 to 12 if you want a game what you will spend long hours on leveling up and trying to find your way about get final fantasy 1 to 3 just dont compare them to each other its just stupid and you will get no ware doing it i rate this game a 10 because its fun to play and you wont want to put it down and if it was not for this game final fantasy would not be what it is today so this is a must buy for true ff fans but if ur an ff fan boy what only likes 7 because of cloud look someware else this realy aint for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)