Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bee Movies Great
I purchased the Bee Movie after watching it about 4 times with my grandson in USA, we all loved it, in fact its too good for kids, everytime i see it i see something i missed before, the ideas brill, talking bees,graduating and going to work,one bee decides he doesnt want to be worked to death, never going outside, so he bucks the trend, and then we follow his...
Published on 9 Nov. 2010 by Dodge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 for me; the girls say 4
You would think that a film such as this could only be aimed at children, but I have to say that I considered some elements of the tale, and some of the countless funny lines, seem to be better suited to adults. Seinfeld, never my cup of tea at the best of times, takes the leading role and partly wrote the script too, so to me it seems hardly surprising that it's not as...
Published on 22 Sept. 2008 by O E J


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family film!, 10 May 2008
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Bee Movie at the cinema and really enjoyed it, so had no problems whatsoever watching it again. Not exactly a chore, is it? Anyway, this is another offering from Dreamworks Animation, the same people that created Shrek, and stars Renée Zellweger and Jerry Seinfeld as the voices of two of the major characters.

The story starts in a bee hive. Barry Benson (a bee, voiced by Seinfeld) is getting ready for his graduation ceremony. After three days at infant school, three days at junior school, and three days at high school, Barry is ready to hit the big time and get his first job. When bees choose their job, they have the same one for life. This doesn't seem to bother most bees, but Barry wants more. He's worried about having the same job for his entire life, so he slips out of the queue for jobs and decides to go exploring. He bumps into some pollen jocks who have just returned from collecting nectar and pollinating flowers. He's envious that they get to leave the hive and see the wide world - and he wants to give it a try, particularly when he sees how the female bees react to the pollen jocks.

So Barry goes on a mission with the pollen jocks, despite being told how dangerous it is. But he loves it in the wide world and goes exploring. Soon, though, he gets into trouble when it starts raining (and everyone knows bees can't fly in rain) and crash lands into a window box. Temporarily safe but very confused, he heads into the flat believing that the light hanging from the ceiling is the sun and immediately gets set upon by humans. His life is saved by a kind-hearted young woman called Vanessa (Zellweger). Barry is instantly in love.

From then, Barry thinks to hell with the rule that bees can't talk to humans, and embarks on a friendship with Vanessa. Then one day they're in a shop together and Barry spots the honey that is on sale. Outraged - Barry makes Vanessa realise how hard the bees work to make that honey, only for it to be stolen from them. Turning detective, Barry discovers exactly how it's being made, and with Vanessa's help files a law suit against humans for stealing the honey.

Predictably, all hell breaks loose, and the outcome isn't exactly what Barry expected. But still, all's well that ends well, as the saying goes.

This is a great film. It's one of those films that kids will adore because of the cute characters and the simplicity, but adults will love the 'in-jokes' which the kids wouldn't understand. And it's becoming increasingly the norm that these kinds of films are packed full of adult jokes. I'm not complaining because I thought it was a really funny film and I'd recommend it to anyone with a sense of humour like mine. This is definitely a film that will appeal to a wide variety of people, and it's got a cute moral to the story too - very fairy tale like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars B+ Movie, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
My son is only just at the age now where he can sit down and concentrate for the duration of a whole film, so we seem to be watching a lot of this type of movie.
Even though it's out a few years, we just watched it for the first time two days ago - I have to say, I really enjoyed it.

With voice roles from Jerry Seinfeld, Renee Zellwegger, Matthew Broderick, Kathy Bates, John Goodman, Chris Rock, Ray Liotta, Oprah, Sting and Larry King (among others), the bees really come across as individual little characters with their own ideas, and their own thoughts about what they want to do in life. Jerry Seinfeld voices the main Bee character, Barry, and he wants more from life than just honey-making. He decides to brave the outside world and finds it fascinating, especially when he meets the kind human florist Vanessa (Zellwegger), who saves him from being whacked.

Barry soon finds out that the bees are getting a bit of a raw deal - while they have to survive on two cups of honey a year, the humans are creating "fake" hives and mass-producing honey. Barry, along with Vanessa's help, decides to sue the human race.

I won't spoil the ending for anyone who hasn't seen it, but needless to say, everything is back as it should be by the end of the movie. Watch out for Chris Rock as a "bloodsucking parasite", his character is very funny.
I found Ray Liotta and Sting a bit pointless to be honest, but the movie was still very enjoyable, and at just under an hour and a half, it's easy to sit through. Good for a rainy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good movie, but definitely more suited for adults than for children, 17 Jan. 2008
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie with my 7yo daughter twice, and she liked it - but not even remotely as much as she loved "Ratatouille", "Happy Feet" or "Over the Hedge". Me however, I had a REALLY great time, because most of the jokes are targeting adults, rather than children.

The hero, Barry Bee Benson, is a sceptical bee, reluctant to accept his fate, which is well resumed by this exchange "You want to work us to death?" "Precisely!". So, rather than working all his life in just one place and doing just one job, he will look for at least some adventure... and he will find plenty of it. And he will find love... purely platonic, but intense, with a woman - human woman.

The movie is smart and funny, and although it is not a masterpiece, I five star it without hesitation. There are many reasons for that: the trial "All the Bee's of the world vs. All humankind" is a delight (with Sting and Ray Liotta being called as witnesses...), the scene of morning take off of the pollen gatherers from the hive is a great remake of the similar scene from "Tora, Tora, Tora", and the final race in plane looks almost as funny as the "Airplane!". You will certainly also appreciate all the jokes on bees/other insects tragic love stories...

One advice however - really young children (younger than 6) will probably get a little bored with this movie. Also, some of the jokes were clearly made only for the American public. But considering that there is in average one gag or joke every 30 seconds, you will still get a fair deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU MUST WATCH THIS MOVIE!!!!!, 24 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I Loved, Great Film.
You will learn how IMPORTANT the Bees are in our LIFE.

Watch it, show to your children, grandchildren, nephews, nieces, etc...
You won't regret it. Its Awesome!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kids film., 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
A favourite with my 3 and 5 year olds. Funny, unscary and feel good. A great film when you can't take any more shrek or toy story viewings and need more of the same but different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant family entertainment!, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
We love this movie, its equally great for kids and adults. Its funny, clever and educational. Fast delivery & good price. Very pleased with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most educational kids film and very funny - so much fun!!!, 29 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This film is fun - that is what people want when buying their children movies, obviously - but at the same time it is very educational. I heard once that without bees the world would be without food within 4 months because of the importance of pollenation and although that fact isn't "stated" in the movie, the general message is portrayed in a way that children will understand. Most kids when I was little had a fear of bees because of the stinger and some boys would try and kill them but this made my son love bees - if he sees a bee he gets excited and although I tell him to keep his distance and let the bee "play" on the flower as he's got a job to do, he is very interested in the bee and what it's doing.

For adults this is a funny film too - there are the occasional jokes that only grown-ups will understand and watching the Pollen-Jocks "airforce style" is really funny. All in all, I loved this film and Barry Benson Bee might be my favourite Dreamworks character ever. As a bit of an eco-warrior, this film renewed my love and appreciation for bees and for family movie night, I would highly recommend this one. Love love love love love!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 July 2012
By 
tvoysey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Very good product - not damaged at all, would definitely buy again. reasonable price too. very trustworthy. Its a good film aswell - great for kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son love it, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, fun for all the family. One on my sons favourites list now. Would recommend. Some funny bits for the adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee Movie [DVD] (DVD)
great film for both my children boy age 6 and girl age 3 both enjoyed it and kept them still for a few hours ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bee Movie [DVD]
Bee Movie [DVD] by Simon J. Smith (DVD - 2008)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews