Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars30
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2009
I bought the DVD for Hallam Foe because I wanted to see what Jamie Bell was like as an actor following his memorable performance as Billy Elliot.
I read the novel first so I could see how well the film matched the book. There are a lot of changes to the story in the film compared to the book. Anyone watching the film without having first read the book would probably find it hard to follow the storyline. There are a lot of things to like about the film. I think cast is strong and the acting is very good. The camera work is good. I enjoyed it but my family didn't watch the movie all the way through. It lost their attention quite early on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2009
This is Bell's first leading role since Billy Elliot - and he carries it off in what can only be described as an off-the-wall offering. Bell stars as a boy who comes of age whilst dealing with an 'evil-stepmother', a father who's not aware of him and a dead mother. Throw in homelessness, working in a hotel, finding love and the Edinburgh cityscape and you have the makings of the movie.

Set to a good soundtrack, excellent camera work and some very good acting and it turns out very well.

Bell is convincing in the role and is well-supported by the other cast members. Worth watching, even if it won't figure in any all time top 10.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
The story felt a bit like something by Ian Banks: not just the scottishness, but also the rather ambiguous hero and the set-up of the whole situation. I enjoyed it, but it did seem a bit all over the place, probably because the story had been adapted from a book, and so not all of the events and the back story are there. It has prompted me to get the novel (by Peter Jinks), to see what it is I am missing. It's nice to get away from the Hollywood "formula" now-and-then, and see a story where you're not expected to like (or understand) the main characters.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 27 December 2008
Hallam Foe is a quirky movie exploring the emotional difficulties experienced by a teenage boy after the untimely and suspicious death of his mother. It examines loss and longing, guilt and helplessness, love and obsession. It's the way in which these themes are dealt with that puts the quirk into the movie and the reason why it's only partially successful. It's not always easy to accept the way the characters behave. There is simply too much improbable behaviour, particularly regarding the relationships between the troubled teen and the women he encounters. A little more realism would have added some necessary gravitas to a story that's meant to be weightier than it manages to be.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
Jamie Bell proves he is more than a one hot number in this innovative film exploring some dark issues. An original tale set in Scotland (great accent from Jamie Bell) this gritty, dangerous drama explores the impact of grief and bereavement. I don't think this ran for long in cinema, if at all. It was brought to my attention during the Christmas TV listings. But it is worth a look.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
A bit weird but a very good story line and an amazing cast. Hallam's mother is dead and Hallam is trying to deal with his grief. He runs away from home after his step mother blackmails him and he meets a woman who has a striking resemblance to his mother.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 4 December 2008
... so it can't be bad, and it isn't. In fact, it's quite good.

It's an odd film though. Very well acted and filmed, I watched it a few days ago and have finally realised it's 'flaw'.

It just isn't the sort of film you expect to be set in Scotland. Had this been made in France, I suspect it would become a classic. I have no rational basis for this conclusion other than the fact that I watch a lot of French cinema and both plot and direction felt very 'French' - if I elaborated further, I would give aspects of the story away.

It is worth watching, if only for Jamie Bell's very impressive performance, but it does feel as though it's set in the wrong time (it didn't feel like a 21st century script) or place.

Ultimately though, it is a very brave, thought-provoking and very unusual film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Great natural open scenic camera work good humour around Scotland's work places and social groups.Some nastiness in the charachters emerges, human deviousness and greed surfaces,a satisfactory TV or Art festival effort.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Claire Forlani is lovely to look at. Sophia Myles is also very pretty. But see this for one Jamie Bell who looks gorgeous, clothed AND naked. Oh yeah and there's the c word more than once.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 September 2009
Troubled by his mother's death, Hallam Foe (Bell) runs away to Edinburgh where he finds a woman who looks startling like his mother

The nature of Hallam Foe shows a young lad fighting an onslaught of emotions after the sudden and complicated death of his mother. The suspicious nature of the death plagues Hallam and from the very beginning we have a very real and interesting mystery drama on our hands.

British cinema has reawakened over the past 5 or so years. From the national biased and racist drama This is England to the sexual stereotyping social teens in Kidulthood our countries are not afraid to tackle significant and relative ideologies head on.

Hallam Foe, whilst encoding conceptual meaning of peeping toms, murder and family, doesn't have the scripting to suggest it is a preacher. It feels more established, like a string of events that keeps rolling and rolling until the sharp end is strung. Everything flows very smoothly and the progression of harmless nosey Parker to obsession becomes an infatuation ideology to comprehend.

The reasoning behind Hallam's curiosity is seemingly obvious and then picks up a whole different meaning after a shock night out. This 2007 picture packs a dramatic punch with Hallam's obsessive hobby and whilst the emotional depth may not be as strong as Tom Turgoose's character's bullied political stance, there is no denying the significant relevance of the, what is no now regarded as, perverse nature of the central protagonist.

Jamie Bell delivers a withdrawn stance as Hallam, a clever depiction for a character who wants to conform and say what he feels whilst holding himself in his own regard. The title character is strong to lead, adds the necessary drama whilst never letting up on the controversial stalker ideology whilst never being too in your face to be a preacher.

The scripting never makes you feel like you're being force fed issues and regulations like some British films do, as with East is East for example. Perhaps calling this a romantic love story with drama is too generalized. There is a significant heap of relevance and understanding to digest as Hallam tackles his way through a job with the knowledge of his step mother's nature on his conscious. Mystery, romance and drama are all present in a strongly knit script that packs comedy as well as drama.

As with your typical British film the scene setting and adjustment in context is spot on. The opening scenes of Hallam walking around the country are splendid but the best shot comes when he is climbing the roofs of Edinburgh with his boss.

What I must say is that whilst programmes such as Skins and films such as Brassed off all have relevance to real life is relative, Hallam Foe is perhaps a more established show that does not showcase its issues, and for that reason it is up there with the best British films. Not to mention it has the best soundtrack for any British film.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Undertow [DVD]
Undertow [DVD] by Jamie Bell (DVD - 2006)

Art School Confidential [DVD]
Art School Confidential [DVD] by Max Minghella (DVD - 2007)

The Chumscrubber [DVD]
The Chumscrubber [DVD] by Jamie Bell (DVD - 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.