Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic but Brilliant
There are only so many things that you can do with a teen drama. There is always that element of "seen this theme before" and "how predictable".
What makes this movie different is the deeper level of emotion and sacrifice from all the characters. It is not just about Bad Boy coming good and getting the girl.
My wife couldn't stop “blubbing” and I...
Published on 2 Mar 2003

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, the movie doesn't do the book justice
If I had seen this movie first, I wouldn't have read the book. The book was the most sensitive, touching story I have ever read about youth. Sadly, the film omitted the fact that Jamie had a great love for God and her Bible which was so real in the book. The book was amazing and will remain with me forever. Occasionally the film touched base, but so much of the story's...
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by Mrs. Janet A. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic but Brilliant, 2 Mar 2003
By A Customer
There are only so many things that you can do with a teen drama. There is always that element of "seen this theme before" and "how predictable".
What makes this movie different is the deeper level of emotion and sacrifice from all the characters. It is not just about Bad Boy coming good and getting the girl.
My wife couldn't stop “blubbing” and I have to admit that I had to pretend I had something stuck in my eye a few times.
Mandy Moore and Shane West are totally believable which I think lends a big part in making this movie a success. The other 2 main ingredients are the story, and one of the best movie soundtracks ever.
This movie easily makes it into my top 10. It is just one of those movies that no matter how down you are feeling you will always finish watching it and feel a lot better about the world.
I cannot recommend this movie enough especially if you are a guy trying to impress the ladies with your movie selection prowess.You'll score huge points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Beautiful Films EVER! 5 Stars= NOT ENOUGH, 17 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This is one of my favourite films ever!
I was so moved by this film; it gave you mix of warmth, happiness, romance, sadness, pain, tragedy-all the essential ingredients of a romantic drama.
Without giving too much away, the movie is about the daughter of a vicar/priest, who is a good, church-going girl. Also, in the story is her complete opposite,Landon. He's sexy, rogueish and on the wrong side of the tracks in life. When the two of them are thrown together, you see their relationship grow into one of the most beautiful love stories EVER!
HOWEVER, Jamie (played by Mandy Moore) has a tragic secret that could destroy their love forever.
This movie shows how love can take everything that's thrown at it, as well as showing you how important it is to live life to the fullest. Shane West and Mandy Moore were the perfect couple in this movie.
I have never cried so much in my life. It's truly a movie that EVERYONE should watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful., 5 Jun 2007
This film is probably one of the most romantic I have ever seen. The storyline is sweet if a little cliched but the two leads give such an incredible performance the niche film becomes so much more. The chemistry between Moore and Shane West is absolutely brilliant- Mandy Moore is great as the strong but sensitive Jamie and Shane West is the best male lead I have seen in a film like this. His protryal of falling in love and then going through heartbreak seems amazingly raw and authentic and allows any audience to really connect with his character.

It's a sad film, I certianly cried my eyes out, but the ending dosn't leave you feeling hollow instead it creates an idea of satisfaction despite wanting to scream at the tv for a happier finish.

One I would definitely recommend for anyone who likes a good romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 13 Mar 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was quite suprised when it was actually my boyfriend who selcted this film for us to watch because for me it seemed like a bit of a chick flick from what was written on the cover. However, once I actually started watching I discovered that this wasn't just another tired old story regurgitated again in a new form for the latest generation of teenagers. This was a touching, sensitive story which actually reflected reality unlike so many other teen films. It didn't have the typical makeover scene which caused the popular boy to fall for the nerdy girl, it didn't have the classic bet which the girl eventually finds out about- it was missing all that which I have to say wasn't a bad thing. This was something I found very refreshing.

The story that unfolds is one of real love in real time. There is no slushy scene where they eventually fall in love after half an hour of delibertaing whether they like each other or not. This is realistic and shows that love grows over time and can eventually overcome anything that is put in its way. It has a truly touching message to it and a heart-wrenching twist which keeps you captivated. It has an excellent ending which seems very fitting and leaves you thinking. I would say that this is well worth a watch, even though the script in the end is a little cheesy. Up to that point everything is excellent and if you can forgive a few little cliches that are thrown in then I'm sure you will thoroughly enjoy this like I did. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love is always patient and kind. It is never jealous., 6 April 2006
Mandy Moore in her big screen debut and Shane West (ER, Liberty Heights) star in this romantic teenage tragedy set in small town Beaufort, North Carolina.

When a prank goes wrong bad boy Landon (West) is forced to spend his weekends tutoring and his free time learning the lead in the drama clubs spring play.

Meanwhile, Jamie (Moore) Christian, minister's daughter, all round good girl, owner of exactly one sweater, plays "sultry club singer" in the same play (albeit by choice) and spends her weekends tutoring at the same school as Landon.

Jamie and Landon have been in the same school, taking the same classes, since kindergarten and yet neither seems to know much more about the other than the simple, common assumptions which people believe to be true. Jamie sits at lunch table seven, she likes to look at her feet while she walks, for fun she likes to tutor on weekends, she hangs out with the cool kids from "Stars and Planets". But there is more to Jamie than meets the eye. Shy, unpopular, quiet and innocent, yet Jamie has the kind of beauty only someone who is beautiful inside can possess.

Landon quickly finds himself on rocky ground with the tutoring and the play, so he swallows his pride and asks Jamie for help. She makes him promise one thing, which he thinks will be easy; he mustn't fall in love with her.

The more Landon finds out about Jamie, the more he understands her, inner beauty and outer. He discovers she has a list of things she wants to do, including getting a tattoo, making a medical discovery, witnessing a miracle, being in two places at once, and number one, which she doesn't want to tell Landon, it's far too personal.

It soon becomes apparent that Jamie is just what Landon needed; he begins to get his life on track, defends her when his "friends" tease her and even writes his own list. He even helps Jamie to fulfil some of her list. But is Landon what Jamie needed as well? She seems virtuous and perfect, but she hides a deep secret, one that will affect her and all around her.

"Love is always patient and kind. It is never jealous. Love is never boastful or conceited. It is never rude or selfish. It does not take offence and is not resentful."

This film is full of beautiful lines, deep emotions, hopes, and shattered dreams. A classic chic flick with unusual twists, both original and comforting in its familiar settings. A must see film for any girly sleepover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an awesome film!!, 17 May 2006
By 
AG Wilkinson "the pink panda" (northampton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i watched this film with a friend and honestly thought it was just going to be another chick flick, romantic and a bit funny but i was surprised. i thought my friends were exagerating at how good the film was so wasn't expecting it to live up to expectations imprinted. how wrong i was!! i cant tell you how many emotions i felt during this film, it takes you on a roller coaster ride through rejection, love, happiness, sadness, showing what lengths one will go to to express their tru love!

this film was so awesome, i really does focus on true love, and how important true love is rather than sex and physical reationships which feature so commonly in most films these days! it was truly beautiful to see bad boy, and 'in crowd' guy landon fall for christian jamie. they teach each other a valuble lesson about love which is very memorable and practical to life!

it was great to see the attitude towards a christian change throughout the movie, so often christians are seen in such a negative light, as shown at the start but it is truly moving to see these attitudes change.

this film is so worth watching, dont think about it, just buy it, you wont regret it! its not just for girls but i think guys could really learn something about love here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars people can change, 22 Dec 2003
By A Customer
landon carter is the coolest boy in school and hangs around with the 'in-crowd'. when a prank goes wrong, landon just escapes jail, but his punishment is to be a student tutor and be the star role in the ministers christmas play. landon has never been the goody type to take part in school activities so this comes as a big challenge to him. jamie sullivan is totally the oposite to landon, she studys, gets good grades and lives life to the full. she is always taking part in school activities and helping other people. she is the ministers daughter and is also the other main part in her fathers play. this gradually brings them closer together and jamie starts talking to landon, but he obviously doesn't but neither does jamie care about what people think of her. during the course of the play landon asks jamie to help him with his lines. jamie says 'only if you promise not to fall in love with me'. landon replies laughing 'i'm not sure that'll be hard'. so they have a practice and her father disagrees but jamie tells him that they are only rehearshing. at school jamie asks landon, in front of his gang, if he is still on for tonight. of course landon, not to be embaressed replied 'in your dreams'. so jamie leaves. later that night landon visits jamies house ready to practice and she gueses why he is here but shuts the door on him. so landon practices and practices which takes up all his time. he is starting to realise what is happening, he cannot help it but he is falling in love with jamie. after the show he keeps trying to see her and after a while she gives in, though she says she is not allowed to date. on this note landon asks the permission of the minister to go and have dinner with his daughter. so they have dinner and it progresses from there. this portrays that landon changed from a waster to a conserver. if you do not cry at the end of this movie then you obviously do not understand it. the actors shane west (landon), mandy moore(Jamie) and others were stunning and they were definately picked to suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the romantics!, 20 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This is an amazing film. Popular Landon Carter (Shane West) finds himself falling for the school geek, and ministers' daughter Jamie Sullivan (Mandy Moore). He tries to hide it but can't conceal it for long. Jamie has a list of ambitions, things to do before she dies. Landon, by now totally besotted with Jamie and her will to do what she wanted no matter what anybody else thought, makes those dreams happens, no matter what they are. Then Jamie's secret is revealed and Landon, deeply cut by what is going to happen, persists in making all her ambitions become a reality and makes sure the whole world knows how much they love one another.
A truly tear-jerking tale with amazing actors and a great soundtrack this film can be enjoyed by anyone and will definitely pull your heart-strings, no matter how strong they think they are!!! Brilliant film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is a walk to remember, 21 Feb 2004
This romantic tear-jerker is based around the characters Landon and Jamie two 18 year olds from a small town. Landon is Part of the 'in' crowd at school, popular and good looking, Jamie on the other hand is the quiet daughter of the towns minister. They couldn't be more different from each other. Landon is involved in an incident which leaves another student injured and in hospital, as punishment for his involvment, he is put forward for the school play, in which he ends up with the lead role and also put forward to help tutor kids. Jamie has volunteered to do this in her own time, which of course Landon has trouble understanding.
During the play, Landon kisses Jamie and this is when things start to get interesting, Jamie has already told Landon she will help him on one condition that he promises he will not fall in love with her.
Landon and Jamie start to spend a lot of time together, and they end up falling in love, this is when Jamie lands a secret on him that shes been trying to hide from everyone.
Everyone has to see this film you'll laugh and cry, but you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Movie To Remeber, 19 Oct 2003
Mandy Moore sizzles on screen as Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of a minister in this charming movie about love, hope and tragedy. In her debut role, she oozes talent and appeal as does the rugged and reformed character Landon Carter Rollins, played by the understated Shane West.
The movie ignores the "teen genre" with it's dialogue, wit and storyline - adapted from the novel by Nicolas Sparks, an inspiring writer of love and heartbreak.
The movie see's Landon as an oppressed teen moving in the wrong direction and carving out a career of mayhem until he is forced to look upon his life. Alas he teams up with Jamie in a surprise twist and her simple love for life is almost infectious as he slowly begins to appreciate the little things in life. With each day he finds himself falling in love with the preacher's daughter and so ensues a romance of elevated measures.
It's highly entertaining, romantic, sad, witty - with two amazing performances from it's lead stars. A story of strength and hope - something for all romantics at heart!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Walk To Remember [DVD]
A Walk To Remember [DVD] by Adam Shankman (DVD - 2008)
5.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews