Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars93
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2009
The movie itself is very good, the images are spectacular. I haven't seen the Planet Erarth series so I cannot comment on how many footage is the same. As this movie is also created by BBC you could see it as a short version of the series. The transition to Blu-ray is quite good but on some occasion the darker part of the screen becomes "noisy" e.g. at the Dunes of the Kalahari desert.

The only downside of the disc is that the audio is behind of the picture due to the possible manufacture problem. Normally you wouldn't notice the difference but as another review said the most noticable when the whales are flapping the sea.

My favourite extra content on the disc is the "Making the movie" which is nice and long. Very interesting to see how they get the remarkable images.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
So this is what is like to watch natural history without David Attenburgh doing the commentary and presentation. It is the highlights of the BBC series Planet Earth, so it has the same stunning photography, music, natural world life stories, and biology but without one of the best zoologists narrating. Instead it has Patrick Stewart, who has his qualities but not the same by a long chalk.
Also, the box says parental guidance but I couldn't really see any of the gore, ie lions devouring a carcass, or the sex, i.e. reproduction and birth, but there were some kill shots. To me, this is a shame because the circle of life is what these shows are all about, the beginnings, the learning, the maturing, parenthood and the death. It is nature and it should be shown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
This is absolutely breathtaking!!
My first blu-ray disc and quite stunning in quality and content despite (natural) culling of various species by either natural forces or predators.
Commentary is typical Patrick Stewart perfection, factual and emotional when needed. Camera work is out of this world (no pun inteded) shots from space are truly mind blowing.
Too much to go into in detail and the demise of the male polar bear is a real tear-jerker.
You must buy this, lock the doors draw the blinds turn off your mobile and lose yourself in this glorious spectacle of sumptious entertainment. Worth every penny.
GK
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2009
First of all this is a great film and looks glorious in full HD.

But...there is definitely a problem with the sound sync in -some- of the scenes. A previous review has mentioned the whales at the 01hr17min mark being the most obvious point, and he's right. However, the birds singing and ducks squeaking in the 'Spring' chapter are perfectly in sync. The inconsistancy of it rules out and HDMI issues, so it's definitely something with the disc.

If anyone else has anything further to add please comment.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
Excellent Bluray visual/audio but little more than a cut down version of Planet Earth with narration by Patrick Stewart 'borrowed' from the same series. Worth a watch but don't expect anything new.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This is not a substitute for David Attenborough's excellent series 'Planet Earth' on which it is based but if you haven't got time to watch the full series, or if like me you would like to see a revised version then this is a good alternative. Patrick Stewart does a good job narrating (as he did in the Gorilla series) and there is a 1 hour 'making of' extra, some of which was familiar from the Planet Earth diaries and some of which wasn't. There is also a 1/2 hour extra of interviews (these extras are in SD).

So even if you already have the Planet Earth series this is a worthwhile buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
Great Audio and Image quality, just buy it as showpiece for Blu-ray Hi-def footage,
you will not be disappointed! Shame it didnt last longer could watch this stuff all day!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
If you enjoyed watching documentaries from the BBC's Natural History Unit, then you will indeed love watching the feature length version of Planet Earth "Earth".

I watched it on a big screen with surround sound, and it really makes a difference. This movie is more of a cinematic experience than a plain nature doc. There isn't much of a story to it, but all the scenes piece up together very nicely.

You will most prob recognise quite a few scenes from the original series, but there is additional/extended footage that you would not have seen. Then again, the BBC here have made the effort to only put the cool scenes in and have skipped all the boring bits.

The movie is def worth buying, and for the price you can't complain. Disney will soon be re-releasing Earth, so why not just buy it now on DVD for the same price of a cinema ticket? Patrick Stuart narrates on this version, and does a great job.

Even though I really enjoyed watching this movie, I have given it 4 stars only because I recognised quite a few scenes from the original series. That said, if you show it to your friends who might not be so obsessive, they won't notice anything ;)

Great movie, great scenes, great music, great experience. Displays our Planet in all it's glory and gives you inspiration...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
Well, if you are a camera-person who is interested in wildlife video/photography, then i strongly recommend you to spend an hour and a half observing what they were looking for and how they've done it. Specially, if you are planning to create your own documentary =)

Keep your notepad besides you for I'm sure this feature will foster your thoughts - note them down!

P.S. I love the global warming message sent via the polar bear's ending - very touching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2008
'Amazing' picture quality and dolby sound, played this through my cinema surround sound and HDTV (lights off)and the experience was unbelivable. Will watch this time and time again, and show off the quality to my friends..... worth every penny if you have a big HDTV..... I have a few Blu Ray discs and this is by far the best.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.00
£3.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)