Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I am by no means a Woody Allen film and the first 15 minutes or so of this film were so shaky that I almost switched off, but it turned out to be an unexpected delight.

I'm not a Scarlett Johansson fan either, but I'm starting to change my mind after this very light-hearted but spot-on performance. She and the director made an unorthodox but highly effective...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Tonkfan

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A scoop of awkwardness - an Allen blip
This Woody Allen film is a blip for him, which he later admitted (stating he would not act in his new films). The story is fast paced, hectic, colourful but lacks structure, comedy, fun and sophistication - as expected. Woody Allen's other newer, modern films do deliver, much more than this (i.e You Will Meet a..., Match Point and Vicky, Christina, Barcelona). Allen in...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by T. BROOKES


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 9 Mar 2009
This review is from: Scoop [2006] [Dutch Import] (DVD)
I am by no means a Woody Allen film and the first 15 minutes or so of this film were so shaky that I almost switched off, but it turned out to be an unexpected delight.

I'm not a Scarlett Johansson fan either, but I'm starting to change my mind after this very light-hearted but spot-on performance. She and the director made an unorthodox but highly effective double act, and while that age-old US portrayal of the British as wealthy, castle-dwelling, empty souls usually grates, for the purposes of this film it was perfect.

As good as Manhatten Murder Mystery, the only Woody Allen film I've ever whole-heartedly enjoyed, this film has more humour and a better sense of fun than any comedy I've watched in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A scoop of awkwardness - an Allen blip, 29 Mar 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This Woody Allen film is a blip for him, which he later admitted (stating he would not act in his new films). The story is fast paced, hectic, colourful but lacks structure, comedy, fun and sophistication - as expected. Woody Allen's other newer, modern films do deliver, much more than this (i.e You Will Meet a..., Match Point and Vicky, Christina, Barcelona). Allen in this, provides an expected, but misplaced, nervous awkwardness - and this does not add to the film

The film stars the beautiful Scarlett Johansson as a quirky wannabe reporter. She is volunteered in a magic show, where Allen is the Magician. Whilst in a magic trick box she is visited by a recently deceased news reporter who gives her the 'scoop' on a murderer news story. This suspected murderer is played by Hugh Jackman.

For fans of Allen or the cast only really as the other more recent Allen films are far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
I don't understand how this film isn't bigger in the U.K. because it's fantastic. So funny plus Woody and Johansson work very well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever And Funny., 14 Oct 2008
By 
Scarlet Johnasson and Woody Allen are two people trying to figure out the increasing deaths of young women by the Tarot Card Killer and one dead journalist reckons it's the handsome and very rich Hugh Jackman who may or may not be all his seems. She starts to fall for him while trying her hardest to find anything to link him to the murders and also not to lose her scoop. It's a very funny and clever story, lots of twists and turns. Everyone was very good and played their parts well, I'm glad I have seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely surprise of a film, 20 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit that I had been avoiding this film, owing to some terrible reviews it had received in some of the press. I can't believe I waited so long to see it! I absolutely loved it. A perfect film for a cosy Sunday afternoon. You can't help but get drawn into this enticing little comedy mystery. If you loved (as I did) Manhattan Murder Mystery, then you'll surely adore this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another underrated if imperfect late-career comedy from Allen, 13 Oct 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
Another Allen film that was generally dismissed by critics, but for me was worth seeing. Certainly it’s hard to argue that this is up there with Allen’s best work, but it still has a lot of funny bits, and Allen and Scarlett Johansson have a great on-screen rapport as a young aspiring journalist and a slightly pathetic aging magician who team up to try and solve a murder case.

The two Americans have to fake their way into the upper-class world of London, to chase the young aristocrat who a ghostly Ian McShane (a great reporter who died, but got a tip crossing the river Styx, and came back to tell someone) has informed them committed a series of murders. Allen is very funny in these scenes as he tries to blend in with the lords and ladies, and Hugh Jackman does an excellent job as the suave, likable ‘is he or isn’t he’ object of their investigations, who, naturally Johannson falls for.

There are weaknesses; some logic problems with the mystery, and a pay-off that’s less than one might hope. But this does a nice job of capturing some of the feel of a witty 1930s comedy. While no masterpiece, if almost anyone else had made this film, it might well have gotten praise as an enjoyable, well made romantic comedy thriller. It just doesn’t quite stand up when compared to the heights Allen is capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scoop, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engaging and Hugh Jackman is charming as ever. Funny and entertaining and full of quirkiness that you would expect from Woody Allen. Love Jackman's take on a quintessential English man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen fans should enjoy, 5 Jan 2013
By 
R. Williams (Dorchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
Another Woody Allen film. Here's one that stars him in a supporting role. Here he plays a garrulous, quick witted magician, not disimilar to the role he played in Broadway Danny Rose. The main role is given to Scarlett Johansson, who plays a journalist who comes across information relating to a serial killer known as the 'Tarrott card' killer. She with the magician's help attempts to uncover whether the information is correct and to find out if the 'Tarrot card' killer really is a rich aristocrat played by Hugh Jackman. Much suspense and hilarity follow.

It is a film that does not take itself too seriously. If you're a Woody Allen fan I wouldn't be put off too much by the negative reviews on the site. Okay, it's not up there with Annie Hall or Manhattan, but there's enough here for you to enjoy.

Check out if you like:
Manhattan Murder Mystery,
Matchpoint,
Mighty Aphrodite
Annie Hall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super nice!, 17 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a little about this movie. This is not one of Allen's deepest and most profound movies - on the contrary this is more in the nature of what you would call a charming light-hearted comedy, where we see an aging Woody Allen, playing with tongue-in-cheek and with a healthy amount of self-irony that I find very nice.
This movie is funny, intelligent - as always - and as usual Allen has all the slapstick humour right on the tip of his tongue.

He is playing opposite Scarlett Johansson, who actually is the films main character, and the chemistry between them is great - in what you would call a father/daughter relationship. I don't want to go into details about the plot - many people have already done that with a very fitting description - but just wanted to say, that I agree with the reviewers that praise this movie exactly for what it is - and it is just a very good and funny Woody Allen movie.

If you like Allen, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Woody, 30 Nov 2012
This review is from: Scoop (DVD)
I will admit that I usually avoid any film the name Woody Allen is attached to; he's the kind of performer that you either love or hate, and I happen to be in the latter category. But I gave this film a chance because of the skills of Johansson and Jackman, both charming and excellent at their craft. Having said that, even their performances could not rescue this incredibly embarrassing attempt at entertainment. Woody Allen seemed to be constantly forgetting his lines and ad-libbing, completely inept at it; it would have been bearable if he'd only been in a few scenes, but he's peppered throughout like a drunk chef with a pepper mill. Johansson and Jackman can be seen struggling to keep a stiff upper lip in their scenes with Allen, his lack of timing throwing off their own in the process. If you are a Woody Allen fan, I can recommend this film... and perhaps a good psychologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scoop [2006] [Dutch Import]
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews