Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun hack and slash
Just finished this games yesterday, and I had a lot of fun with it. One of the few games where I wanted to pick it up any free time I had to do the next stage. Good points are good story (with the great BRIAN BLESSED shouting as always!), good graphics, amazing variety of gory kills and some nice cut scenes. However a couple things let it down, the lack of variety and the...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by chuckles

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Viking: Battle for Asgard 2/5
Plot: Although it's an interesting idea I think it lacks any real depth. I feel that you don't really get any passion behind any of the characters.

Graphics: Ok but nothing great. For things such as netting (to climb up things) could have been better as it didn't move with any sort of wind.

Sound: The shouts to you in the main battle helped add to...
Published on 15 Dec 2008 by Borry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC GAME!!!, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. M. Berriman "Big 'Un" (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is beyond epic. I bought this a year or two ago and I'm still going on it. There's little to say without spoiling the unexpected surprises. If you love your hack 'n' slashes, pretend to be the characters as the battle and love armies clashing together in battle then this is surely the game for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Viking Game, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Jamie Collins "J@y" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
I love the Vikings and I really did enjoy this game although its dated a bit now when I say this I mean that your character doesn't speak like today's games but it has fun parts in it e.g. executions and combat is quite fun. it is quite repetitive but overall I would recommend this to any Viking fans.

Story:7/10
Audio:5/10
combat:10/10
fun:8/10

GO PICK UP A COPY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow unexpected and brilliant, 14 May 2009
By 
Mrs. R. L. Agnew "r,l reviewer" (England cambrigeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
a great game with beautiful slow mo killing. is a perfect RPG with plenty to do and would recommend this game to anyone. the story line is great and follows a norse theme. you go through skirmishing small settlements by yourself and rescuing soldiers for huge battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Viking: Battle...to stay interested., 19 April 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
The idea behind Viking is a very good one, a third person view action/ adventure game with missions, RPG elements, the ability to chop your foes into bits with very cool finishing moves and huge battles involving dragons. Sounds great, hence why I bought it. But in reality Viking: Battle for Asgard is a load of Pants with a capital P.
The charactor moves very slowly but this is the least of the problems here. Despite the fact you can upgrade your moves, there is very little advantage given in doing this and when in the midst of a battle you inevitably end up button mashing anyway. There are two reasons for this, firstly the new moves do not give you the ability to take out groups of enemies and secondly theres just so many jolly idiots running about like headless chickens, its literally impossible to keep track of where you are or whose limbs you are lopping. The graphics, compared to Assassins Creed, are PS2 standard. No better than God of War...if only it was GOW I'd be a happy man. Alas...
I am currently playing this on hard and its not particularly difficult at all, in fact I've just won my first battle without the help of my trusty winged friend (the dragon) and I simply took out the shamen's and that was it. End of. The missions are boring, less interesting than those found on Assassins Creed (and that may be saying something) and the moves in general are substandard to the likes of god of war and Prince of Persia, although the same principal is used i.e. hit the button when it appears above the foe your are despatching.
So in summary Viking: Battle of Asgard is a cheap rip off of the games mentioned previously. It fails to keep you interested, I doubt I will finish it, and it should have been a PS2 release. So if you are thinking of buying this, please rent before you part with your hard earned cash. I gave this 2 stars for fun as the limb lopping is the only good thing about it. Aside from that...tumbleweed.
P.S. you may be interested to note that I have the new PS3 sixaxis controller with rumble and this game does not even spur the rumbler into action. Not even the slightest vibration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Brilliant, 4 Jun 2008
By 
F. Murray (Bradford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game after seeing the trailer - I was hoping that at last a good game was available for the PS3 (Most games I have played on the PS3 thus far have not done the platform justice) and I was yet again let down by this game and the PS3. The game constantly crashes just when it looks like its getting interesting. I am at the point of getting rid of the PS3 and buying a 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun! Bad programming., 25 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok, I've got to admit that I quite enjoyed this one. But there are a few issues:

Pros
- The graphics are quite impressive on occasion
- The epic battles a pretty cool
- Gorey (This could be seen as a con too!)
- Easy to pick up and play

Cons
- Crashes. I have finished the game 3 times, but have yet to see the ending sequence because it crashes. Not happy.
- Upgradable armour and weapons. Well you can upgrade your weapon, sort of, but it doesn't really do anything you'd notice. Armour? No.
- Dodgy shadows and lighting
- Sloooow when in a huge battle.
- For a game that is based on massive battles, you do spend a lot of time wandering around on your own.
- No multiplayer, or co-op. Would have been a great addition
- Somewhat repetitive
- Did I say repetitive?

I think its a rental and then decide whether you should buy it or not. I've heard mixed reviews as to whether it crashes or not, so maybe you'll get lucky. There is no announced patch coming out for it, which is a shame, but maybe they will in the future.

Overall good fun with a lot of promise. Sadly the testers seemed to miss some MAJOR bug issues. Oh well. GTA 4 here I come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vikickass, 30 Dec 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is quite literally the "bomb" i had so much fun with it as i am a simple minded fellow who doesn't need a whole lot of variety to keep me interested. however, viking is sure to be a hit with the ladies as skarin's sword is MASSIVE!!! (he also has an axe - smashing!) so for all those who love a cheeky bit of blood, guts and no story i recommend Viking: Battle for Asgard. In short: the best game i've ever played. anyone who does not think likewise and say it is bad with poor graphics do not understand viking like i do and seem to have lost the point somewhat. i hope that one day, they will reconsider their harsh words, and perhaps take up the sword once more to do battle against all those who stand against freedom. FIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTMENT, 21 May 2008
By 
V (Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
Saw the trailers and thought this would be AMAZING!!!

Took it straight back the day after buying it and I enjoy mindless button bashing!!!

Slow, dull and frustrating. Thought it would have all the best bits of God of War, Champions of Norrath and Dynasty Warriors combined.

It doesn't.

It's crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sega's ALIVE?! Sadly... yes., 27 April 2008
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is absolute bilge. There's no getting away from it.

Imagine Fable's gameplay with almost zero polish and a constantly repeating cycle of the same missions over and over(Find dragon amulet, charge it up, find Vikng prisoners, free them, repeat) to a degree that makes Assassin's Creed look like the most varied game ever made and you have an idea of what to expect from Viking: Battle for Asgard. It is insanely repetitive.

Even when you do eventually get to the sparse 'big battle' scenes that punctuate the game, they also require you to do nothing more than 'kill shamans and giants then kill boss' and that's it. That really is all there is to this game.

It wouldn't be so bad if the combat was fun, but it's not. There's no lock on function, the combos are too slow and unresponsive to use, magic attacks feel very ineffective and pointless to use, and the way you build up your character(Buying upgrades with money) is terrible, as money in this game is set, with only a finite amount to find lying around. Having enemies drop money would have made too much sense I guess.

Add to this the constant bugs like persistent crashing and massive slowdown during the big battles and you've got quite a loser in this game. In fact, the one good thing about this game is the fact the narrator is the legendary Brian Blessed, the man is a genius, but not for agreeing to be in this crap of course.

If you really MUST play this game(Why would you want to?) then I'd recommend getting the 360 version, as it suffers a lot less from slowdown during the battles(Once again demonstrating Sega's continued contempt for PS3 owners by putting zero effort in PS3 conversions), but on the whole, I'd strongly suggest you ignore this one and get something better, like Dynasty Warriors 6 or something, as that more or less does the same things, but better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The truth is..., 27 April 2008
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) (Video Game)
I have kept an eye on this game ever since its trailer has been shown. In the trailer it is very slick, brilliant epic/legendary game, graphics are marvelous! ... But that was just the trailer.

It failed to deliver. Or should i say it failed to live up what it promised gamers. It is very disappointing that you see a trailer sooo good yet playing the actual game is sooo boring!

As the other reviews have said: The game is like a top quality PS2 game and should have been released in PS2 (Suggest play or see: Valkyrie - Sylmeria). The storyline could've been sooo brilliant, but the typical hack and slash pattern is very repetitive (Suggest play or see: Ninja Gaiden Sigma).

Overall: I was very disappointed. I would say it is okay, but i expected better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3)
Viking: Battle for Asgard (PS3) by Sega (PlayStation 3)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews