Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars33
3.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2009
a great game with beautiful slow mo killing. is a perfect RPG with plenty to do and would recommend this game to anyone. the story line is great and follows a norse theme. you go through skirmishing small settlements by yourself and rescuing soldiers for huge battles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2008
The idea behind Viking is a very good one, a third person view action/ adventure game with missions, RPG elements, the ability to chop your foes into bits with very cool finishing moves and huge battles involving dragons. Sounds great, hence why I bought it. But in reality Viking: Battle for Asgard is a load of Pants with a capital P.
The charactor moves very slowly but this is the least of the problems here. Despite the fact you can upgrade your moves, there is very little advantage given in doing this and when in the midst of a battle you inevitably end up button mashing anyway. There are two reasons for this, firstly the new moves do not give you the ability to take out groups of enemies and secondly theres just so many jolly idiots running about like headless chickens, its literally impossible to keep track of where you are or whose limbs you are lopping. The graphics, compared to Assassins Creed, are PS2 standard. No better than God of War...if only it was GOW I'd be a happy man. Alas...
I am currently playing this on hard and its not particularly difficult at all, in fact I've just won my first battle without the help of my trusty winged friend (the dragon) and I simply took out the shamen's and that was it. End of. The missions are boring, less interesting than those found on Assassins Creed (and that may be saying something) and the moves in general are substandard to the likes of god of war and Prince of Persia, although the same principal is used i.e. hit the button when it appears above the foe your are despatching.
So in summary Viking: Battle of Asgard is a cheap rip off of the games mentioned previously. It fails to keep you interested, I doubt I will finish it, and it should have been a PS2 release. So if you are thinking of buying this, please rent before you part with your hard earned cash. I gave this 2 stars for fun as the limb lopping is the only good thing about it. Aside from that...tumbleweed.
P.S. you may be interested to note that I have the new PS3 sixaxis controller with rumble and this game does not even spur the rumbler into action. Not even the slightest vibration.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2008
I bought this game after seeing the trailer - I was hoping that at last a good game was available for the PS3 (Most games I have played on the PS3 thus far have not done the platform justice) and I was yet again let down by this game and the PS3. The game constantly crashes just when it looks like its getting interesting. I am at the point of getting rid of the PS3 and buying a 360.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
A very good buy. An excellent product.

An excellent gamel. Do buy it, its worth it... totally loved it

Thanks and regards..............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
Ok, I've got to admit that I quite enjoyed this one. But there are a few issues:

Pros
- The graphics are quite impressive on occasion
- The epic battles a pretty cool
- Gorey (This could be seen as a con too!)
- Easy to pick up and play

Cons
- Crashes. I have finished the game 3 times, but have yet to see the ending sequence because it crashes. Not happy.
- Upgradable armour and weapons. Well you can upgrade your weapon, sort of, but it doesn't really do anything you'd notice. Armour? No.
- Dodgy shadows and lighting
- Sloooow when in a huge battle.
- For a game that is based on massive battles, you do spend a lot of time wandering around on your own.
- No multiplayer, or co-op. Would have been a great addition
- Somewhat repetitive
- Did I say repetitive?

I think its a rental and then decide whether you should buy it or not. I've heard mixed reviews as to whether it crashes or not, so maybe you'll get lucky. There is no announced patch coming out for it, which is a shame, but maybe they will in the future.

Overall good fun with a lot of promise. Sadly the testers seemed to miss some MAJOR bug issues. Oh well. GTA 4 here I come!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
This game is quite literally the "bomb" i had so much fun with it as i am a simple minded fellow who doesn't need a whole lot of variety to keep me interested. however, viking is sure to be a hit with the ladies as skarin's sword is MASSIVE!!! (he also has an axe - smashing!) so for all those who love a cheeky bit of blood, guts and no story i recommend Viking: Battle for Asgard. In short: the best game i've ever played. anyone who does not think likewise and say it is bad with poor graphics do not understand viking like i do and seem to have lost the point somewhat. i hope that one day, they will reconsider their harsh words, and perhaps take up the sword once more to do battle against all those who stand against freedom. FIN.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
Saw the trailers and thought this would be AMAZING!!!

Took it straight back the day after buying it and I enjoy mindless button bashing!!!

Slow, dull and frustrating. Thought it would have all the best bits of God of War, Champions of Norrath and Dynasty Warriors combined.

It doesn't.

It's crap.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 April 2008
This game is absolute bilge. There's no getting away from it.

Imagine Fable's gameplay with almost zero polish and a constantly repeating cycle of the same missions over and over(Find dragon amulet, charge it up, find Vikng prisoners, free them, repeat) to a degree that makes Assassin's Creed look like the most varied game ever made and you have an idea of what to expect from Viking: Battle for Asgard. It is insanely repetitive.

Even when you do eventually get to the sparse 'big battle' scenes that punctuate the game, they also require you to do nothing more than 'kill shamans and giants then kill boss' and that's it. That really is all there is to this game.

It wouldn't be so bad if the combat was fun, but it's not. There's no lock on function, the combos are too slow and unresponsive to use, magic attacks feel very ineffective and pointless to use, and the way you build up your character(Buying upgrades with money) is terrible, as money in this game is set, with only a finite amount to find lying around. Having enemies drop money would have made too much sense I guess.

Add to this the constant bugs like persistent crashing and massive slowdown during the big battles and you've got quite a loser in this game. In fact, the one good thing about this game is the fact the narrator is the legendary Brian Blessed, the man is a genius, but not for agreeing to be in this crap of course.

If you really MUST play this game(Why would you want to?) then I'd recommend getting the 360 version, as it suffers a lot less from slowdown during the battles(Once again demonstrating Sega's continued contempt for PS3 owners by putting zero effort in PS3 conversions), but on the whole, I'd strongly suggest you ignore this one and get something better, like Dynasty Warriors 6 or something, as that more or less does the same things, but better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2008
When buying this game for £25 I thought I had a bargain as it looked and sounded ok. However, I quickly found that this is one of the worst games ever made for a console.

The graphics are terrible for a next gen console and the animation is abysmal. The sound is very standard and I cant even pick anything special or bad about it. The environments look like something from a kids cartoon and the characters all look like dwarves.

The gameplay is weak with combat being the only thing you have to focus on. This would have been ok but the combat is so poor that it is laughable. Seriously, hardly any combos and most of the moves look the same. There are some gory finishing moves but you have hard attack and soft attack and thats about it.

All the missions revolve around finding your men, an object, or killing something. With no variety you will quickly get bored of wandering across another hill to kill some people and then claim the objective to unlock another samey mission.

I had to take this game back as I could not bear to play this trash any longer. So bad it gave me stomach ache.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
thank you-great stuff :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)