Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americans are missing out on the "true" version of Catacombs
I live in the US and I imported this PAL version of Catacombs because it is vastly superior to the "Director's Cut" the US received.

I was first introduced to the movie when I began to take interest in the actress Shannyn Sossamon again after seeing her in the movie One Missed Call. I had downloaded the movie Catacombs to watch not knowing I was viewing a rip...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by David Yates

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running in the dark
With a fairly good set up, an underground rave in the Parisian catacombs, a chance for a recently traumatised sister to join her sibling for some escapist fun.
Except of course it's no fun at all. Not for her, or us! Far too dark, far too much running and snotty sobbing, I couldn't have cared less for any of the characters.
Oh, and if you had paid even the...
Published 3 months ago by R. Jeffries


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running in the dark, 17 Jun 2014
By 
R. Jeffries (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
With a fairly good set up, an underground rave in the Parisian catacombs, a chance for a recently traumatised sister to join her sibling for some escapist fun.
Except of course it's no fun at all. Not for her, or us! Far too dark, far too much running and snotty sobbing, I couldn't have cared less for any of the characters.
Oh, and if you had paid even the slightest bit of attention during the derivative dialogue at the beginning you will see the 'twist' coming a mile away.
Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars long and boring !, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
this is sooo long and boring! its just a girl running around screaming and shouting! then right at end theirs a twist which is sorta good but then it took too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MIddle-of-the-road horror, 10 Sep 2008
By 
J. Ody (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having watched `Five Across The Eyes' recently I was thankful to see that this was much better. Yes, it is clichéd, and although set in France, for the majority of the movie it could've been anywhere underground in America. Pink's character is strangely unsympathetic towards her sisters `issues', and whilst Shannyn Sossamon did an okay role of the lead, she's played better roles.

Unfortunately whilst the story does have an air of originality it's not used to it's full potential and there are too many times when you question the actions of the characters concluding that no one would do that in their position.

I don't agree that it's a terrible film as it is a middle-of-the-road horror, high on being a thriller with jumping parts, more than blood and splatter of normal teen movies of this genre so sits firmly in the middle. Not great but not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lets Run.., 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
That's pretty much what this movie is. Takes a bit too long to get to the point and then its pretty much just running in the tunnels decorated by skulls. Nothing works, there's no tension. Don't waste your money. If you catch it on tv, don't waste your time. Plenty of good horror movies out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americans are missing out on the "true" version of Catacombs, 7 Mar 2009
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I live in the US and I imported this PAL version of Catacombs because it is vastly superior to the "Director's Cut" the US received.

I was first introduced to the movie when I began to take interest in the actress Shannyn Sossamon again after seeing her in the movie One Missed Call. I had downloaded the movie Catacombs to watch not knowing I was viewing a rip of the PAL DVD. So when I finally purchased the Director's Cut when it was released in the US, I was severely disappointed.

The music is heavily downplayed in the US Director's Cut, which to me was primarily the best aspect of this movie. Violet UK and Chris Healings and Mike Truman (Hybrid) do an amazing job on this soundtrack. Right from the beginning of the movie when "Blue Butterfly" opens you know you are in for a wicked ride when you hear the heavy guitar licks followed by a pulse pounding beat which cuts back and forth from a caustic rave to a frantic chase scene. The contrast of the girls cries to the reverbed echoes of the music sends shivers down my spine every time. But like I said, this portion of the film is downplayed in the Director's Cut, as the vibe seems way more like a cheap horror scene with a video camera than the intensely vibrant panic that it really is in this PAL version.

Another portion that was changed in the US Director's Cut was the shopping scene with Victoria and Carolyn riding a motor scooter in Paris. The music in the PAL version made the scene seem like an ecstatic blur in Victoria's mind, but in the Director's Cut it was replaced by the "Love Theme from Paris" piano tune. This was a severe step down in my opinion.

Lastly, and probably the most important reason why the PAL version supersedes the US Director's cut is the fact that the US version features dubbed over voices for Jean-Michelle and others. In the commentary in the Director's Cut the directors explained they did this because people were having trouble understanding him. Not only was he perfectly audible before though, but the voice overs are downright corny and laughable. What a disaster!

On the other hand, there is a lot more footage in the Director's Cut than in the PAL version, but it's detracting more than anything. Scenes seem to go on way too long and the quality of the video seems like it was all shot with a digital camera. This is the only time I've seen there be two drastically different versions of one movie. I'm still baffled at how much better the PAL version really is, both visually and aurally. The only main plus I will say about the Director's Cut is that it features a dream sequence when Victoria falls asleep after meeting Henry that features some particularly fervent imagery.

Judging the second half of the movie on it's own merits regardless of version, it's an incredibly dark, isolated, and claustrophobic experience. I watched this movie for the first time in the dark on a computer after smoking a bit of weed and I was a wreck by the time it ended with it's inevitable twist. Many people are quick to slam this film, saying it's an "hour of screaming and crying" or something to that effect. To them I would say go watch Scream or the Grudge or some "jump scene" movie and leave the intelligent horror to the ones who appreciate it.

Overall, I would recommend this movie mainly to Shannyn Sossamon fans, but also horror fans who want a little something different. Just make sure you watch the PAL version so you get the complete sonic force that the soundtrack provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable if derivative horror, salvaged by a decent twist, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Catacombs started promisingly, with sensible but nervous (and a tad boring) sister Shannyn Sossamon invited by slutty, irresponsible sister Alecia Moore to party in Paris because it would do her good. Once in the famous Parisien Catacombs (a great venue for a horror-fest) however, the film degenerates for much of its length into a virtual clone of Creep. Indeed, many of the shots have been ripped off directly from Christopher Smith's effective 2004 horror, set in the London underground. So there I was, preparing a one (or just maybe 2)-star review for Amazon, when Catacombs pleasantly surprised me by throwing up a very clever twist. Ok so 48 hours after arriving in Paris, everyone Shannyn Sossamon has met is dead, but that doesn't tell you half the story! In fact, I was on the point of rating Catacombs as a 4-star movie, but the ridiculously OTT use of strobe lighting in many scenes made it very uncomfortable viewing for all the wrong reasons, so I reckon 3 stars is just about right. The 5.1 surround sound is very well done and a decent rocking soundtrack adds much to the atmosphere. At this discounted price, Catacombs is worth adding to any horror-buff's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute and utter tosh..., 20 Aug 2008
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is 80 mins of the most drivelling piece of tosh i've EVER wasted my precious time on.I want my money back and my 80 minutes back.
It's about as interesting as watching Jeremy Clarkson read a newspaper and nowhere near as scary..honestly!
Absolute and utter tripe.Don't waste your time or effort....
(And i cant believe i was forced into giving it a star rating of one!!! Minus five wouldn't have come close!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the worst film ever made!, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. Sam Beardsworth "Sam" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Truly awful film that must have been written by a 10-year-old in 20 minutes!

"girl gets lost in catacombs and is chased around in flashing darkness for 80 minutes"

Terrible, truly terrible.

I love horror films but is this an all time low! You'd have more fun looking at a brick wall for 80 minutes. TRUST ME!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is stupid?, 13 April 2008
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What is stupid? Look it up in the dictionary and you will find the definition: The girl in the catacombs.
Gee, what is the formula for a modern horror(I use the term loosely)film?
Hmmm, put troubled girl/boy in dark place, scare her/him, make them run around aimlessly(screaming of course),have them fall about a bit
( probably beacause they are tripping over all the red herrings) have her/him make consistently stupid and pointless decisions that not even
a zombie would make(deep breath here)
then have something really horrible happen so that we think its a shocking "surprise" ending.
WELL SURPRISE! this film sucks! in a big way!
The only comfort I took was hearing other members of the audience cheering for the "monster" in the hope that it would get "Ms. Stupid" so we could all go home with a smile on our faces and the satisfaction of having the real horror(this film) end!
Please someone think of something ORIGINAL!
Pink, this will be the film you hope everyone forgets you were in.(Pink plays Ms.Stupid's sister)
The horror film industry needs a powerful colonic! Watch this for the laugh factor only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not brilliant either, 20 May 2008
By 
Ms. L. C. Cumming (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catacombs [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
i had his bought to me as a avid horror fan and you can tell its made by the saw people by the blood and twists. But i would say this is perfect for the teen audience to be a first horror film. I liked it but found it repitive through the caves but the ending is worth watching and confuing. But its worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catacombs [DVD] [2007]
Catacombs [DVD] [2007] by David Elliot (DVD - 2008)
7.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews