Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
Bought this as a Christmas present for my mum who's in her late 60's and remembers these films from first time round. She absolutely loved it and keeps saying how much she's enjoying them. Great value and definitely one of the best presents I've ever bought her! She has watched them all more then once and will watch again and they are perfect for cheering you up on those...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by jo0803

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gift buy
bought for elderly relative living some distance away and some discs not working - would noy buy again or recommend
Published 6 months ago by Cath Munro


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a Christmas present for my mum who's in her late 60's and remembers these films from first time round. She absolutely loved it and keeps saying how much she's enjoying them. Great value and definitely one of the best presents I've ever bought her! She has watched them all more then once and will watch again and they are perfect for cheering you up on those long miserable winter days. I have since purchased another boxset of musicals for her because these were such a hit and I intend to watch some of them too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The glory of the Musical, 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The magic of the closed curtains, the crescendo, the lights down, the(somewhat) crackly soundtrack (in the early days). These DVD's will bring all the spendour of those days right into your living room without the crackle and in crystal clear sound and picture. Simple stories told enchantingly. Love, hardship, triumph. Sheer escapism. Familiar songs to sing along with, plots that one can understand. A beginning, a middle and end.
Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogers And Hammerstein Collection, 12 Sep 2009
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
6 wonderful films from the masters of on screen entertainment. South PAcific Charting two love stories set in the Pacific Islands in WWII one ill fated and one stormy Brilliant score with classic such as "Some Enchanted Evening". Carosel when can keep a dry eye when Billy Bigalow returns to see his daughter graduate to the strains of "You'll Never Walk Alone" other songs include June is bustin out all over. Oklahoma "where the wind comes burtin down the plane" a marvellous film with award winning score from the Masters. The King and I another clasic not to be missed. State fair possibly the least known and acclaimed in the collection but some classic film songs nevertheless. Who can not know The Sound of Music, Julie Andrews evergreen film set in the mountains aroung Salzburg.
This collection of DVD's is a must for all lovers of the very best musical films of the 20th Century thoughly watchable time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent collection, 8 May 2009
By 
M. Dunning - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this collection as a present for my Mother who is a fan of musicals. She is very impressed with it and has spent many nostalgic hours watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought these as gift for my sister who loves musicals she was thrilled by the quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rodgers & Hammerstein Musicals Collection, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. D. W. Cozens (North Hykehan, Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection represents fantastic value for anyone who enjoys the great musicals. Sound and visual quality are excellent. A great way to spend a Saturday evening at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rodgers & Hammerstein Collection, 3 July 2009
By 
J. Green "namaste" (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Just what I need for a girlie weekend in the Autumn. Lots of laughs, a few tears and plenty of red wine !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a bargin, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have never bought boxed sets before, but this is a real bargin - all the musicals we remember - we wanted to have these musicals to share with our grandchildren - they LOVE them!! Ages from three to ten!! I guess an expert may say that the quality is not excellent but it was FINE for us..... and the kids - what a BARGIN!!I will definately buy another boxed set like this to complete our collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection, 20 April 2009
By 
A thompson (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great collection with on screen words for the whole film or just the songs to sing a long with. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majic Purchase, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Michael J. Helman "Film Fanatic" (Exeter Devon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The purchase of the Rodgers & Hammersteins musicals has made my viewing much more enjoyable, but you have to like musicals, and I do, they certainly beat the rubbish that is on most of the time on the TV. I look forward to purchaseing more interesting films from Amazon in the not to distant future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD]
Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection [DVD] by Robert Wise (DVD - 2008)
8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews